We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Blue Water Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Water Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Host was very welcoming and helpful with local attractions. He was also helped with equipment such a shovels etc for the kids. Close to town, walking distance. Great spot, very clean. Home away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familytrips1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review.
Really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us on The Coromandel and we would love to see you again soon.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

My hubby and I desperately needed a weekend away after the chaos of Christmas. Blue Water Motel never dissapoints. We had Chalet number 1 again and it was great.
The motel is so close to the main town areas, a very easy stroll to the beach, shops and cafes.
The kitchen facilities are enough for us to make our own meals and it is lovely to sit out on the balcony and see the water.
While close the road, there was no traffic noise in the evenings so we both had a great nights sleep.
The owners are super friendly, always helpful and readily available to provide advice when needed.
The chalet was spotless as usual, we can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Chalet 1 and 2 are great and are dog friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natsnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Hi Nathalie,

Great to see you again and thanks for the lovely comments !
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I wanted to end our three week New Zealand trip in a beach town for three days in Coromandel. I had not prebooked accomodations and over the christmas holiday I was was able to pick up a cancellation for this motel. When we arrived, tired from our long drive, we were so happy to find our lucky booking. We had a little porch with a view, super nice room with frig and microwave, a short walk to town, and a host with accurate information regarding hikes, sights, restaurants and shops. Paul was also helpful with allowing us use of garage and spa room after checkout time as our flight to the states was at night. This little town is not crawling with tour buses and we picked up a lot of local flavor including a craft sale at the town center right across the road from Blue Water. Definitely recommend this accomodation.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mcclenct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Hi Carol,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us on The Coromandel. It was great that you got out an experienced some of our walking tracks as well as the beaches.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My partner and I used a Grabone voucher and stayed in a chalet here last September and loved it! We met Paul the owner who was a great guy - very helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious and clean and had everything we needed. It's just a short walk into the town and the walk up Paku Hill is worth the awesome 360degree views at the top - thanks for the recommendation Paul!

We would definitely go back to Blue Water Motel - next time we'll make the most of the freebie kayaks and spades for hot water beach! It'll be nice to see the area in peak season too :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate2959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hi Kate,

Thank you so much for leaving us your review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The owners of this property were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms was clean and quite reasonable. Only gave it a "3" because the bed was not very comfortable. It is within easy walking distance of some restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you your review and your kind comments. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us on the sunny Coromandel. Sorry about the bed - it has now been replaced !

cheers,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in December. The owner in very helpful and knowledgeable about what to do / where to go.

The room was clean, had a kitchen and a small deck. There is an opportunity to do laundry at a cost of $4 for the washing machine (with free powder and fabric softener) and then you can then either hang them up on the washing line to dry for free or use the dryer for $5.

There is a free-to-use hot tub and free- to-use kayaks available plus spades to use at Hot Water beach, again, no charge.

There is no Sky TV, only Freeview but the free WiFi is very fast and there is no data limit.

Overall, a very good place to stay - I would definitely go back if in the area again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowspritgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments and really pleased that you and your Mum enjoyed your stay in Tairua. Enjoy the rest of your travels and say hello to Yorkshire for me when you eventually get home !!!

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed two nights in November at the Blue Water Motel. We found our room very clean and comfortable with a lovely view overlooking Tairua harbour. It is located close to the small town and has plenty of choices of restaurants / bars. Paul the owner made us very welcome and is very knowledgeable about the area, and advised us on places to visit (the Hot Water Beach is a must). For a place to stay on the Coromandel Peninsula I would recommend the Blue Water Motel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hi John,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your time on The Coromandel. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
0.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
152 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
14.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
88 reviews
15.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Motel

Address: 213 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range: £61 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water Motel is one of the closest motels to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Clean, comfortable and affordable motel accommodation in the seaside town of Tairua. A perfect base for exploring the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula. We have a range of self contained units, a hot indoor spa pool, free WiFi, BBQ, kayaks and fishing rods. Located opposite harbour beach and a flat 2 minute walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Water Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Motel Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing