We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Water Bliss!”
Review of Blue Water Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Water Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Just enjoyed an excellent two night stopover. Very good location. Cabins appointed tastefully & comprehensively. Immaculately clean. Small spa pool.
Friendly & knowledgeable owner who succeeds on all fronts in running a really excellent motel. Highly recommended.
John

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Q2864YDJohn_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hi John,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind comments. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We received a very friendly and helpful welcome from Paul who let us know all the best things to see and do. He also provided a spade to dig our hole at Hot Water Beach!

Our chalet was lovely - spacious, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Nice hot shower. Plenty of opening windows plus a ceiling fan. Also a proper verandah with a view across to the harbour.

There is a super hot tub for two which you can lock for privacy. Free wifi was great too. The TV was a fairly old model but it worked fine.

It is just a short walk to the local restaurants and shops.

All in all, an excellent place to stay and highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Hi Phil,

Thank you so much for leaving us your review and for your kind comments.
Really pleased that you both enjoyed your couple of days with us on The Coromandel.
Hope the rest of your holiday is also great.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Blue Water is a lovely little place and Paul is the most helpful proprietor possible. Follow his suggestions for treks and visits and you wont go far wrong.Nothing is too much trouble. Everything you need for a great stay in this beautiful area.We thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Korsakoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi Chris,

Many thanks for your kind review. It was super having you both stay with us for 4 days and really pleased that you saw lots of what The Coromandel has to offer.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I stayed two evenings with Paul, and the room was perfect, neat as a pin, and the service impeccable. Paul also did a laundry for us for a nominal fee, a much needed service on a one month driving tour of NZ. Paul also recommended a local restaurant called Shells on the main street in town, and what an outstanding experience that was. We sent a review to the Shells web site. Paul also recommended a divine hiking trail by the ocean in the Coromundel Region. Overall, we highly recommend Blue Water Motel, Tairua, New Zealand, and we thank Paul immensely for being such a gracious and helpful host.
Philippe and Mary Roy,
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lovely sunny exposure so you can have breakfast on the verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilippeRoy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi Philippe and Mary,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us such a kind review.
Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us on The Coromandel and we hope that the rest of your holiday was also great.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I must thank the fishermen for cancelling their booking! We were fortunately at the Blue Water Motel at the right time! We could not have found better accommodation if we had spent time researching. We were made extremely welcome, the unit was spotless in wonderful surroundings. It was great to be able to walk down the road for dinner, enjoy a few wines etc. Everything was at our door step. Great advice about walking up Mount Paku to appreciate the view but you let us down with not having a recommended movie as alternative as the weather turned very misty and humid. We will be back to do the walk.
Regards Helen, daughter and grand daughter
Ps. Most comfortable beds
Ps Did not access pool or Fitness centre

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi Helen,

Wow, thank you so much for your review and we're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would love to see you all again soon.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very good location,with just a short stroll to shops, restaurants etc. We stayed in the 2bed unit which was excellent, the motel had full facilities with helpful and friendly owners. Would stay again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi Colin,

Thank you for your kind review. So pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us on The Coromandel. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Have just stayed here for two nights, with my wife, on our NZ tour. The room was clean and comfortable, although the smallest on the tour so far. Paul was most helpful with lots of information and suggestions of things to do. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveB636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Hi David & Janet,

Wow, thank for your kind and speedy review !
So pleased that you enjoyed your time with us on The Coromandel and hope that the rest of your holiday in NZ is great.
Thank you so much for staying with us.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
149 reviews
14.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
85 reviews
15.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Motel

Address: 213 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range: £61 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water Motel is one of the closest motels to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Clean, comfortable and affordable motel accommodation in the seaside town of Tairua. A perfect base for exploring the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula. We have a range of self contained units, a hot indoor spa pool, free WiFi, BBQ, kayaks and fishing rods. Located opposite harbour beach and a flat 2 minute walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Water Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Motel Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing