We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate accommodation, Great Location, Welcoming Host”
Review of Blue Water Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Water Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Paul is an amazing host, welcoming and advising on anything and everything local, if you want info, and I did. Offering shovels for Hot Water Beach, and free kayaks, I wish I had more planned more time in the Coromandel, (2 nights not enough for me). Free Wifi, much appreciated, plus the use of laundry. Great location to access the local shops, and the walk up Mt Paku (ask about the mount's cat).
The chalet was spotless, immaculate, I'd give it an 11 out of 1-10! (I even asked Paul what cleaning products they used).
I wish I had one more night, as the morning I went to Cathedral Cove, there was NO parking, what do you do? Go earlier? which I would have tried, given another day.
Driving the peninsula is time consuming, (winding/twisting roads around the hills/mountains). So, I enjoy basing in one area, unpacking and venturing out for the day, returning to cook or eat locally. Loved my first trip to the Coromandel and would return there and to Blue Water Motel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DixieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Wow, thank you so much for your review ! In the holiday season the trick is to go to Cathedral Cove early in the morning. That way you can pretty much have the place to yourself and you will be leaving when everyone else is arriving !
Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Tairua.
See you again soon.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Paul was a fantastic host who gave great advice on the area and was always on hand to ensure we had a fantastic stay. He was never without his friendly smile! The motel was very easy to find and located in a convenient location near the shops/cafes/restaurants. They even had free kayaks, fishing equipment and a spa pool that you could use! The free wifi was also very helpful.

Our room at the Blue Water Motel was very clean (the sink was so shiny!), cosy and oh-so-comfortable (checking out is hard when you have a bed like that!). Thank you very much Paul & Natasha for the awesome stay. Totally enjoyed myself and would absolutely recommend the Blue Water Motel to anyone heading up the Tairua way! =)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkitan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Hi Nikki,

Thank you for your kind review - gosh, we are so lucky having such nice folks stay with us. Glad you both enjoyed your 'down time' in Tairua and we would love to see you again soon.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent two nights at the Blue Water Motel -- a charming motel minutes away from shopping, restaurants, and the beach. We received a warm welcome from the owner, Paul, who gave us lots of local advice. The extra small touches, such as spades for Hot Water Beach, beach towels, and kayaks made all the difference for a nice holiday!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lizwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Hi Liz,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

cheers,
Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a well located motel with all the facilities you could possibly require. Paul, the owner was full of helpful local knowledge and offers extra little touches like towels to use on the beach. Great location for the many stunning beaches in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinketgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

cheers,
Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I cannot say enough as to the Professional and friendly welcome extended by Paul. I would recommend Blue Water Motel in a Heartbeat, clean and shiny rooms with a great view and shops and restaurants a 2 minute walk away. I only got home 20 minutes ago and want to go back already! Thanks again for a memorable visit:-)

Room Tip: We slept with our windows open and were next to the road so a little road noise but would have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rustysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hi Rusty,
Awesome work catching your marlin with Epic Adventures !!!!!!!
Thanks for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our second visit to the beautiful Coromandel and the Blue Water Motel. This is a well well managed Motel with a friendly and helpful owner who is happy to answer any questions about the area. The room we stayed in was cosy and comfortable and spotlessly clean. The location is convenient for restaurants and walks to the bay. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyWiseRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hi Rosemary,

Thank you so much for your kind review.
We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Just enjoyed an excellent two night stopover. Very good location. Cabins appointed tastefully & comprehensively. Immaculately clean. Small spa pool.
Friendly & knowledgeable owner who succeeds on all fronts in running a really excellent motel. Highly recommended.
John

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Q2864YDJohn_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hi John,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind comments. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
0.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
155 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
14.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
350 reviews
14.5 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#10 of 18 in Whitianga
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Motel

Address: 213 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range: £71 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water Motel is one of the closest motels to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Clean, comfortable and affordable motel accommodation in the seaside town of Tairua. A perfect base for exploring the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula. We have a range of self contained units, a hot indoor spa pool, free WiFi, BBQ, kayaks and fishing rods. Located opposite harbour beach and a flat 2 minute walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Water Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Motel Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing