We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Water Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Water Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here 2 nights and found it so relaxing. Unit was lovely and clean and in a great location. Added bonus was being able to have our 4 legged friend with us.Paul was a brilliant host gave us plenty of local information and always had a smile. Would highly recommend this delightful place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0602Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Elaine,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you both stay with your little dog. We are always happy to accept pets by prior arrangement and hope to see you again soon.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    36
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
101
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and from the moment we were greeted by name as we walked in the door, we knew we were in a great place! Paul and Natasha were brilliant hosts and had everything we might need. They were informative of the local area and every time you saw them they were happy to help with a smile on their face.

The room was immaculately presented, clean and shiny and well equipped. And they even had board games to keep us occupied on the stormy nights we were there! The spa area was clean and the towels and robes a nice touch.

Located on the Main Road into town, Blue Water was handy to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove.

We would definitely recommend this place to anyone exploring Coromandel and are already planning our next stay... in warmer weather.

Thanks so much Paul and Natasha.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlecalcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Reece & Adrienne,

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay on The Coromandel despite having to put up with the storm we had while you were here ! See you in the summer !

cheers,

Paul & Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my Husband & Son on our family holiday. We were highly impressed with the 2 bedroom unit we were allocated. It was sparkling clean, the beds & pillows were very comfortable and it was very well equipped. The owners made us feel very welcome, they were friendly & helpful. Great value for money & we would highly recommend to others & would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Really pleased you all enjoyed your family holiday in Tairua and we would love to see you again soon.
cheers,
Paul & Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

An excellent motel, very clean and well appointed. A very comfortable room. Good location opposite the beach and easy to find. We felt very welcomed when we arrived. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMNanfGRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thanks for your kind review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope the rest of your holiday in NZ was great and we would love to see you again in the future.

cheers,
Paul & Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

loved the place...it was perfect for our small family of 4. Hospitality is absolutely wonderful! Great hosts who made our stay very comfortable. Thanks Paul ! Nice beach next door, playground ....plenty to do. Highly recommended if you are looking for a relaxed holiday!!
we shall be back ...for sure .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hinina2877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review.
Really pleased you enjoyed your family break with us.
Hope to see you again soon !

cheers,
Paul & Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Hits: good location near the centre of town, the owners are very dedicated to cleanliness and the sevice was excellent. Room service everyday was awesome.
Misses: we had room 1 which is right on main road so extremely noisy. And they might have an ant infestation problem as we left a jar of nutella on the counter overnight and it was full of ants the next day.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hi Elizabeth,

Thank you for leaving us your review and sorry that you were disturbed by the road noise. It is not usually a problem but as you were here in the Easter Holidays the town was quite busy !
As far as the ants go, we do not have an infestation problem as you suggest ! As with most warm coastal resorts, ants are prevalent in the area. Unfortunately, one guaranteed way of attracting them into your room is to leave chocolate spread lying around.
Our housekeeping staff noticed the ants when they serviced your room in the morning so they cleared up the spread and sprayed the ants. While you were out we checked the room several times to make sure that they hadn't reappeared.
Once again, sorry if it spoiled your stay.
cheers,
Paul & Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Paul is an amazing host, welcoming and advising on anything and everything local, if you want info, and I did. Offering shovels for Hot Water Beach, and free kayaks, I wish I had more planned more time in the Coromandel, (2 nights not enough for me). Free Wifi, much appreciated, plus the use of laundry. Great location to access the local shops, and the walk up Mt Paku (ask about the mount's cat).
The chalet was spotless, immaculate, I'd give it an 11 out of 1-10! (I even asked Paul what cleaning products they used).
I wish I had one more night, as the morning I went to Cathedral Cove, there was NO parking, what do you do? Go earlier? which I would have tried, given another day.
Driving the peninsula is time consuming, (winding/twisting roads around the hills/mountains). So, I enjoy basing in one area, unpacking and venturing out for the day, returning to cook or eat locally. Loved my first trip to the Coromandel and would return there and to Blue Water Motel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DixieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Wow, thank you so much for your review ! In the holiday season the trick is to go to Cathedral Cove early in the morning. That way you can pretty much have the place to yourself and you will be leaving when everyone else is arriving !
Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Tairua.
See you again soon.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
0.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
14.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
8.1 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Motel

Property: Blue Water Motel
Address: 213 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water Motel is one of the closest motels to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Clean, comfortable and affordable motel accommodation in the seaside town of Tairua. A perfect base for exploring the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula. We have a range of self contained units, a hot indoor spa pool, free WiFi, BBQ, kayaks and fishing rods. Located opposite harbour beach and a flat 2 minute walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Water Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Motel Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing