We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern spacious rooms, good bed, super clean, private use of family room, TV and large balcony with great view.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rewa House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tairua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rewa House B&B
Ranked #2 of 10 Tairua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
2 reviews
“Modern spacious rooms, good bed, super clean, private use of family room, TV and large balcony with great view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

This B&B was just beautiful. Large bedrooms and lounge room with everything and spacious verandah overlooking the bay. Everything super clean and the breakfasts were to die for. Very friendly and helful hosts.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaGa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
96
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

I really do not know where to begin.... let's just start with meeting Jeff and Trish.. really, amazing and wonderful, the best couple you could ever meet! Rewa house B and B, exceeded our expectations and beyond. Jeff and Trish have everything you need, great location, great rooms, and great personalities! We have missed their hospitality and especially breakfast immensely and would fly back from Canada just to sit down and chat the morning away before heading out to some fantastic spot in the Coromandel. Tairua is I think the best spot to stay and venture from, and the beaches are amazing. We just can't say enough, don't waste any time, just go and enjoy! Thanks to Trish and Jeff for everything.... I also have a better understanding of Cricket thanks to Jeff. All the best you two.

Cheers from the West Coast of Canada,

Matt and Colleen

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCdiverdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL/ USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

What more can we say about Trish & Jeff. They are amazing. After reading other reviews on Trip Advisor, we were lucky enough to be able to stay at the Rewa House. We had traveled in New Zealand for almost a month and had stayed at many B&B's. This was our last stop in New Zealand and they were just the best. You feel like you are at home when you are with them. They are so friendly and outgoing.

You could not ask for a better breakfast. Jeff''s omelets were to die for and so were the mushrooms. We cruised on a 5 star ship after leaving Rewa House and Jeff's breakfasts could rival any that we had on the ship. Trish's goodies were great and it was fun to sit down and talk with them over some wine. Trish and Jeff even dropped us off for dinner and then picked us up so that we were able to enjoy our meal without thinking about driving back after having some wine. The room was large, very comfortable, and beautiful. The view from their large deck overlooking the southern sky was wonderful. Jeff and Trish gave us numerous suggestions about what to see and where to go. Jeff even lent us a shovel to go to Hot Water Beach.

We tried to stay there an additional night, but unfortunately we had to turn in our car to the rental company. We feel like we have some new friends and hope to come back sometime soon.

Thank you again Trish and Jeff for a great end to our vacation in New Zealand. You deserve all accolades that you get.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillg350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

Trish and Jeff provide the best value for money of the luxurious B&Bs that we have graced throughout our travels of UK, Europe & New Zealand over the last 5 years. Not only do they provide a choice of two large luxurious rooms with huge ensuite and views over native bush and white sandy beach, and a fabulous cooked breakfast - whatever you want including mushrooms and eggs any which way (jeff's cheese omelette would leave Gordon Ramsay gobstobbed). But more still: they go the extra mile with Trish's yummy home cooked treats to nibble on with tea or coffee - or even better in our case a complementary bottle of chilled bubbly (NZs best) to celebrate our 41st wedding anniversery. As and aside Our big 40th was spent at the grand old Dorchester in London but Rewa House outshone even that experience of pure heaven.
Added to the luxurious large bed with crisp white linen and generous stack of pillows was the view to die for from the large deck. If you have an ounce of romance and want a night under the southern sky you wont get better than Rewa House on a waning moon. The sky is lit up with all our major constellations plus billions of tiny stars along the milky way. Nothing like this available in the Northern Hemisphere - trust us.
Add to the above, is a day out along the Eastern side of Coromandel Peninsula where you can visit the spectacular beaches eg Cathedral Cove (a wee walk of 40 minutes but well worth the effort), Sailor's grave beach, and the very famous 'Hot Water Beach' . Here you must mingle with like tourists and locals in the right spot on the beach and dig a hole in the sand at low tide. Now you can wallow in your self made hot pool - the water is indeed thermal hot, great healing for sore and tired feet and aching hips after a day out walking. But what we loved best (and we loved everything), was being treated before the dig to a surprise visit from a huge pod of dolphins - 20 or more - playing in the bay, darting in and out between us swimmers. Furthermore, this special treat at Hot Water Beach was totally free - even the shovel to dig in the sand was provided by Jeff (cost $5 to hire if you dont bring your own!).
One final tip: if you want to wine and dine in the town of Tairua and not drink and drive, Trish or Jeff will drop you off and pick you up. Its a walkable distance but the drive is easier after a day out walking!
Fantastic spot for a romantic getaway that offers everything for a minimal cost and a hands throw from the very best tourist sites that New Zealand can offer the discerning traveller.
Now, after this review, what we like least is that this little slice of kiwiana heaven will be constantly booked out and we will have to stay in the selfcontained apartment below the stairs - but hey, it still has the views and we can still swim with the dolphins!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waningmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

Rewa House was our first accomodation outside of Auckland and what a bench mark it set. The house is in a wonderful setting, being surrounded by bush with a lovely view onto the bay. The room was spacious and very comfortable and the bathroom equally so. Trish and Jeff were also wonderful hosts, their knowledge of the local area was vast, they recomended places to eat and also activities to do. The reviews about the breakfast are also true, it is very good. Definitely sets you up for the day, i recommend the scrabbled eggs and mushrooms.

Rewa house is excellent value for money, you will be hard pressed to find a better B&B.

P.S. Cathedral Cove is a perfect place to 'Pop the Question' and Jeff and Trish know how to keep a secret :)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AjayVad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

Von Anfang bis zum Ende ein ausgesprochen exquisites Erlebnis. Unser Zimmer war tadellos sauber, elegante und sehr geschmackvolle Einrichtung und vorallem auch hochwertige Bettwaesche und Handtuecher. Das Badezimmer auch tadellos sauber und mit Blick auf den Wald eine super tolle Ueberraschung. Trish und Jeff sind die perfekten Gastgeber. Kleine hausgemachte Pralinen/Trueffel sind im kleinen Kuehlschrank im von Gaesten gemeischaftlich benutzen Wohnzimmer vorhanden. Natuerlich auch eine Auswahl von verschiedenen Tees und Kaffee zur Entspannung. Der Blick von der Terrasse auf den Mount Paku ist wunderschoen, auch am Abend wenn die Lichter der Hauser am Berg es wie ein beleuchteter Weihnachtsbaum ausschauen lassen.
Nach einer ruhigen und erholsamener Nacht wacht man auf zum Gezwitscher vieler Einheimischer Voegel und den Geruch des Neuseelaendischen Waldes.
Von der Auswahl der Speisen uebertrifft das Fruehstuck allen Erwartungen und vorallem Jeff''s Champigonons 'a la Creme' sind ein Gedicht. Das Fruehstueckstisch ist mit weisser Tischdecke und Stoffservietten gedeckt. Es ist alles so schoen harmonisch und stilvoll. Die Beiden 'stopfen einen voll' dann kann man an dem Tag auf das Lunch verzichten. Wir sind vom Rewa House zum Hot Water Beach gefahren und bei der Abreise hat uns Trish noch schnell 4 Muffins eingepackt damit wir am Nachmittag etwas Suesses am Strand knabbern koennen. Wie schon gesagt Gastgeber par exellance!
Die Coromandel Halbinsel ist fuer Gold und Edelsteinen bekannt und fuer uns war das Rewa House das groesste Juwel, das wir je gefunden haben.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank atirb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire,
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

From the moment we pulled into the drive at Rewa house it felt like a home from home. We received a very warm welcome from Trish and Jeff which was extended throughout our three day stay with them. Our room was beautifully presented with a lovely view. The free standing bath allowed for a relaxing end to the day, and the breakfasts, an amazing start to the day - Delicious! The house is perfectly positioned to be able to tour the Coromandel Peninsula and visiting Cathedral Cove is a must.

We can't speak highly enough of Trish and Jeff, they are an amazing couple and have a beautiful home. Your stay with them will be one to remember.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALWWestYorkshire_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
0.5 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 10 in Tairua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
17.7 mi away
Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rewa House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rewa House B&B

Property: Rewa House B&B
Address: 50 Rewa Rewa Valley, Tairua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tairua
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you in our quiet and peaceful setting here at Rewa House. Our charming boutique style B&B is nestled in 2¼ acres of native bush at the top of Rewa Valley in Tairua, on the Coromandel Peninsula, NZ.We are approximately 5 minute drive to Tairua Village, where there are great restaurants. We are very happy to do a drop off and pick up service as required.We offer 2 luxury guest rooms,each with their own ensuite in a private, secluded and tranquil setting. We offer a high standard of service to ensure our guests will enjoy their stay with us . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rewa House B&B Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing