We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, great last stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Tairua B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, great last stay”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Really enjoyed our 3 night stay at the end of our short tour of NZ with Anton & Mary, who are warm and friendly hosts and their lovely home was a great base for exploring the surrounding area of the Coromandel (Whangamata, Sailors Grave, Hahei and Hotwater beaches all superb). Situated on Paku Hill there are spectacular views from the upstairs lounge area and balcony and breakfast there in the morning was a delight. Also handily located beside the walking track to the top of Paku Hill which is a must for the fantastic views of this wonderful part of the Coromandel. Breakfasts were great, continental and cooked options aplenty and Mary’s pancakes were excellent. Superb B&B and great value for money, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMACHOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siegburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The house of Mary and Anton was so nice, our room has a beautiful view out of the window and the bathroom was fantastic. We had a very good breakfast. Mary and Anton are great hosts, and we can recommend this BandB very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kafu1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osnabruck, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Anton & Mary offer a wonderful Bed & Breakfast. We - my wife, my daughter and me - stayed three nights.
A stunning view combined with a perfect cooked breakfast and a lovely warm atmosphere makes the start of a day to a great event after having a wonderful night in the fully and lovely equipped rooms. We are looking forward for our next stay. Thank you very much, Mary and Anton!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amroe, Owner at Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your great review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in beautiful Tairua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed at Anton and Mary's in March during a tour of the North Island. Unfortunately we had only booked two nights, and I personally think 4 or 5 nights would be better to see the whole area. Lots to see and do on the Coromandel peninisula, and the location of Anton and Marys is perfect. Anyway, the views from their home are stunning, the house is perched up on a hill (although only minutes from the beach) with views of surrounding hills and the sea.
The room we stayed in was perfect. Everything you could possibly need was in the room.
The adjoining bathroom was also of the highest quality. Both Anton and Mary are excellent hosts, and very welcoming. We found their advice and reccommendations of where to visit etc, very helpful.
Breakfast in the morning was also excellent.
They both clearly care about their business and in my opinion, having stayed in many hotels and b&bs, have got it just right, impossible to fault a thing!
Fantastic place to stay, you will not be dissappointed, unless like us you dont book to stay long enough!
Would definitely recommend, and would love to go again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amroe, Owner at Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you so much for your very positve review of our B&B. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We have been there with our 3 kids. The hospitality of Anton and Mary was fantastic. The location is good, however, one of the rooms haven’t got any view from its windows. The bathroom was huge and very well- equipped. The breakfast on the balcony with the harbour view was one of our best memories from our trip to Cormandel. A television in the room would be helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amroe, Owner at Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our business. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed here one night and appreciated the bright room, the firm comfortable bed with immaculate bedding, the spacious bathroom and the kind hospitality of Anton and Mary. When Anton couldn't get through on the phone to the restaurant we wanted to eat at, he actually went out to book it!

This is a bed and breakfast in the classic mode, but none the worse for that. It is very good value and we recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amroe, Owner at Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Bed & Breafast. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2012

A great nights bed and breakfast. We had both rooms. Very comfortable. Breakfast was great. It would have been better with a small TV in the room.

Room Tip: A nice quiet place away from town with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorry050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
1.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.1 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
149 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
273 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 198 Paku Drive | Paku Hill, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anton & Mary's is a friendly boutique bed & breakfast situated high on Paku Hill, Tairua with 180 degree views of the Pacific Ocean, Pauanui Beach and the Tairua Harbour. We offer our guests a peaceful and quiet stay in beautiful surroundings where they can listen to the sound of the native Tui birds and the waves. Tairua is also a great base for exploring the Coromandel with its many beautiful attractions. You'll feel at home as soom as you arrive at Anton & Mary's in Tairua New Zealand. We have two rooms available each has a queen bed and a single bed. The bathroom is shared. Children and babies welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing