We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 8 Tairua B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

What a great place to stay! My husband and I went for a couple of days and had a wonderful stay with Anton & Mary. The room was lovely & clean with wonderful views. The breakfast was delicious & made extra special by getting to sit out on the deck looking out over the stunning view. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ntabrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amroe, Owner at Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our B & B. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
30
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Had a great night's stay with Anton and Mary. The rooms are downstairs and very quiet with a great view from Paku Hill. Couldn't of asked for more in terms of amenities. Breakfast was excellent and had stunning views. The weather was great despite it being winter and would recommend staying with Anton and Mary in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewcopley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amroe, Owner at Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our Bed and Breakfast. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Mary greeted us on arrival and showed us our room, we had chosen a light and airy room with patio doors so we could come and go without disturbing anyone. The bathroom was separate, but for our sole use.

The breakfast was served upstairs so there were super views from here out over the sea and surrounding area. The location was handy for touring the Coromandel, although Tairua itself has little in the way of decent restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaybly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amroe, Owner at Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you taking time to your review our Bed & Breakfast. We appreciate your feedback. Regarding the lack of decent restaurants at the time you stayed in Tairua-unfortunately two of the main restaurants in town which were operated by the same owner had both closed unexpectedly the week before leaving the town with only two to choose from during February which is very unusual during the summer season.. These both re-opened with new owners within a couple of weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2013

A lovely place to stay, the hosts are very friendly and the location is superb - an amazing view over Pauanui, the Tairua river and the ocean. The room was lovely, as was the bathroom, and both felt a bit luxurious without a hefty price tag. There were extra towels and toiletries in the bathroom and makeup remover wipes too - very handy. It was all spotlessly clean. Would definitely reccommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amroe, Owner at Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our Bed and Breakfast. Thank you for your feedback,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We were made very welcome by Anton and Mary at this our first accommodation on arrival in New Zealand. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean and the views from the house are spectacular. Mary served up a wonderful breakfast and our hosts were very helpful with tips on where to visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Really enjoyed our 3 night stay at the end of our short tour of NZ with Anton & Mary, who are warm and friendly hosts and their lovely home was a great base for exploring the surrounding area of the Coromandel (Whangamata, Sailors Grave, Hahei and Hotwater beaches all superb). Situated on Paku Hill there are spectacular views from the upstairs lounge area and balcony and breakfast there in the morning was a delight. Also handily located beside the walking track to the top of Paku Hill which is a must for the fantastic views of this wonderful part of the Coromandel. Breakfasts were great, continental and cooked options aplenty and Mary’s pancakes were excellent. Superb B&B and great value for money, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMACHOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siegburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The house of Mary and Anton was so nice, our room has a beautiful view out of the window and the bathroom was fantastic. We had a very good breakfast. Mary and Anton are great hosts, and we can recommend this BandB very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kafu1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
1.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.1 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coastal Heights Apartment
0.3 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 198 Paku Drive | Paku Hill, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anton & Mary's is a friendly boutique bed & breakfast situated high on Paku Hill, Tairua with 180 degree views of the Pacific Ocean, Pauanui Beach and the Tairua Harbour. We offer our guests a peaceful and quiet stay in beautiful surroundings where they can listen to the sound of the native Tui birds and the waves. Tairua is also a great base for exploring the Coromandel with its many beautiful attractions. You'll feel at home as soom as you arrive at Anton & Mary's in Tairua New Zealand. We have two rooms available each has a queen bed and a single bed. The bathroom is shared. Children and babies welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing