We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, nice room, what a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Tairua B&B and Inns
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay, nice room, what a view!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at Anton and Mary's in early February. The room (and the remainder of the house) was spotless clean, very comfortable and the hosts were very welcoming. The breakfast was supurpe, cooked to order and perfection and served on the lovely terrace with a breathtaking view. The bathroom was spacious and very private although not literally en-suite it could just as well have been en-suite. We were the only guests at the time of our visit and had a good chance to talk with our hosts. We felt very welcome. Probably the best place we stayed at during our tour of New Zealand. I'd recommend Anton & Mary's to any and all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puertopaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amroe, Owner at Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your very positive review and recommendation of our Bed & Breakfast. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Tairua..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very friendly hosts, who made sure to give us a warm welcome. They were very helpful with giving information about the area. The room was perfectly equipped and super clean and tidy. The breakfast was freshly made to order and consists of a beautiful selection of cereal, muesli, yoghurt, fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, hash browns, baked beans, toast, condiments, and my personal highlight: filter coffee :-)
We had nice company and a good talk for breakfast. i would recommend this B&B to anyone! I loved it!
Thank you very much!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nina159753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amroe, Owner at Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our B & B. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had not ment to stay in that area but by circumstances we did. And what a delight awaited us.
A great clean tidy and clean b&b with wonderful views.
Add to that a great room,spacious and a wonderful out side space.
Anton and Mary can not do enough for you even creating you on arrival with drinks and cake.
The breakfast well what can you say about having it alfresco with lovely views and a feast of a breakfast with all you could wish for.
I never recommend hotels for people but on this occasion I feel that I could not rate it highly enough. A perfect little gem.
Arthur and Barbara . England

Room Tip: Only two rooms so perfect service and good free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthurf1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amroe, Owner at Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation of our Bed & Breakfast. Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay in beautiful Tairua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Warm welcome from hosts. Room in pristine condition. Breakfast, served on deck, was scrumptious.
Shared toilet easily managed but nowadays ensuite facilities are expected. Not a criticism.....just saying :-)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auldlachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amroe, Owner at Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Bed and Breakfast. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast on the Deck. It's been a good summer for eating outside. We appreciate your comment about a private ensuite being preferable to shared bathroom facilities and would like to say that we would like to put an ensuite in the second bedroom at some stage but are unsure when that will be at present.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

You will not be dissappointed when you book to stay with Anton and Mary as they were such a lovely warm couple, with an accommodation that was a real delight and well appointed. Our rooms were spacious, well decorated and comfortable. The shower room and both our bedrooms were on the lower floor, with private access from the drive. Breakfast was scrummy and we had it out on the terrace looking out at the stunning views. Also had some great fish and chips at Aaron's Kitchen, which I would recommend you try and also the chinese meals the owner had looked good. Happy holidays

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amroe, Owner at Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your very positive review of our Bed & Breakfast. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in beautiful Tairua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Both Mary and Anton were extremely friendly and welcoming. Our room was spacious and clean - although the bathroom was not en-suite - it was right next door, for our use only and beautifully equipped. The lounge and dining area was upstairs and had the most stunning views. After struggling to find anything to eat in the town - it was Sunday evening - and I am vegetarian! Anton and Mary offered to make me something -very kind. We just had a cup of tea and chatted with them in their lounge. Very nice.

Room Tip: We had the seaview room which had it's own patio door entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amroe, Owner at Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our B & B. We sympathise with you about the difficulty finding suitable vegetarian alternatives at the local restaurants and will pass your comment on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

On our third visit to New Zealand but first visit to the Coromandel Peninsula, we spent three happy days at Anton & Mary's spacious, beautifully furnished and very clean accommodation. We had a bedroom, living room with TV and dining area, bathroom, kitchen, plus a deck with picnic table for outdoor breakfasts when the weather is good. The view across the bay is gorgeous, even when we could hardly see it during a storm. Anton and Mary have a beautiful garden in their rather steep hillside property, but there are handrails in appropriate places to help get up or down the steps. We'd recommend this place to anyone who wants a few days in very comfortable surroundings with great views.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynyfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amroe, Owner at Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you, we appreciate you taking the time to review our accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
1.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
149 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
80 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
Harbour View Lodge
Harbour View Lodge
#5 of 8 in Tairua
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 198 Paku Drive | Paku Hill, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anton & Mary's is a friendly boutique bed & breakfast situated high on Paku Hill, Tairua with 180 degree views of the Pacific Ocean, Pauanui Beach and the Tairua Harbour. We offer our guests a peaceful and quiet stay in beautiful surroundings where they can listen to the sound of the native Tui birds and the waves. Tairua is also a great base for exploring the Coromandel with its many beautiful attractions. You'll feel at home as soom as you arrive at Anton & Mary's in Tairua New Zealand. We have two rooms available each has a queen bed and a single bed. The bathroom is shared. Children and babies welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anton & Mary's Bed & Breakfast Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing