We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tairua Shores Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tairua Shores Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tairua Shores Motel”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Loved our stay at this motel. Our room had a private courtyard. The owner was very informative and the housekeeper was helpful and polite. It is a short walk to the wharf and about 7 minutes walk into town. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: The garden chalet has a lovely private courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    34
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
87
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This was a really nice, quiet motel, about a 5 minute walk from the restaurants and supermarkets, and only 200 metres from the foot ferry to Pauanui. We stayed in a one bedroom chalet with an extra large double bed. The chalet had clearly been recently refurbished to a high standard, and had a small kitchenette with microwave and a separate bathroom and shower. A nice feature was the small enclosed patio area, accessible by a sliding glass door from the bedroom. This comprised an area of decking, a table with chairs and umbrella, and a sun lounger and was screened by cleverly planted shrubs and trees and fencing providing effective privacy from neighbouring chalets. Laundry facilities were provided for guests, use of the washing machine was free and the drier cost $4.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AandAKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathmore, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We drove in late in the afternoon and wanted a place to stay that had views. We drove a hard bargain on the only room left, the most expensive room as it has water views. We we're not disappointed, the outdoor deck had lovely views over the water - shame we didn't get there earlier to enjoy more of them. The room was well appointed, lounge area to sit in, kitchenette and a large comfortable bed. Town was walking distance away, a great spot to spend a night!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillreading08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Doesn't look like much when you first arrive, but we received a warm welcome We had one of the Garden rooms which was quite large and had a lovely private external deck.

The motel is very clean and well presented. Really nice bed and linen. Nice furniture. Very cosy and with kitchenette. As others have said, despite being on a main road we heard basically no noise. Walking distance to restaurants. Great location on the inlet in what is a beautiful seaside town. No phone in the room but free wireless which worked well.

The only thing that would improve this motel is reverse cycle aircon which would then avoid having to leave windows open at night (there are no flyscreens).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_and_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi David & Rose

Thank you for your review and we were pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Glenn & Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamilnadu, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

After a hectic drive in pouring rain through the Coromandel Penunsula we were disappointed as we missed visiting Cathedral Cove. However our overnight stay at Tairua Shores was excellent. Very friendly folks and a comfy room helped us rest and replan and make up for the ground we had lost.
The room was very clean and the bed was nice. Amazingly there was plunger coffee supplied and this was way better than the usual satchets you get. And they supplied 300ml real milk - not just those tiny milk serves. Even gave an extra carton when I requested.
The room had a refrigerator, microwave, kettle etc.
The best part of the room was the sit out which was set in a small garden. Unfortunately the rain prevented us from using it.
Parking is right in front if the room.
Even though it was drizzling, the owner encouraged us to go to HotWater Beach and gave us a shovel. Turned out to be an awesome evening!
Con's:
Getting the hot water in the shower to the right temp was a bit fiddly - but the pressure was great.
Overall, one of the nicest motels we have ever stayed in. I loved the way the rooms and garden were set up. Easy trip to Hahei Beach, Hot Water Beach, Cathedral Cove, etc.
If only they could control the weather ......!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bjross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi

Thank you for a great review, yes it would be great if we could control the weather but maybe one day you will be able to return to Tairua and we can try our best to turn on the sunshine.

We wish you all the best
Glenn & Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

one night stay. Great design, with a private deck out the ranch slider. parking right outside the door. Decor..perfect. comfortable bed, didnt use the free internet that was offered. quiet rooms cant hear noise from neighbors. yet is located on the main road. Well organised. Greg the manager was considerate and well natured and has good local knowledge.

Room Tip: I believe there are two types. with the larger apartment types at the end. i wouldnt think there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TairuaShores, Owner at Tairua Shores Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Greetings

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Glenn & Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We spent 2 nights here & really enjoyed. As in other reviews the owner was so helpful giving us planning tips, gear to take with us( like the shovels for the hot beach). We had been on the road so was appreciative of the free washer, lines for drying clothes. Unit was well equipped . We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
0.3 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
14.7 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Pacific Harbour Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tairua Shores Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tairua Shores Motel

Property: Tairua Shores Motel
Address: 156 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tairua Shores Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tairua Shores Motel has all been fully refurbished and consists of 4 family units, each unit has a separate bedroom with king size bed, separate full kitchen,separate bathroom, lounge and own deck with bbq. Two units have views over looking the harbour. 3 spacious garden chalets plus 2 superior garden chalets. All chalets have a king size bed, separate bathroom, kitchen and own private very sunny garden deck. Cooked and continental breakfast delivered to your unit on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Tairua Shores Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tairua Shores Motel New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing