We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend retreat”
Review of Sunlover Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunlover Retreat
Ranked #1 of 8 Tairua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Thanks to Donna, Chris and Jak for a lovely lovely weekend at Sunlover Retreat. We couldn't have been made more welcome or comfortable anywhere! Beautiful house and amazing views of Tairua. Very comfy bed in a lovely room where we could enjoy the view, and lovely ensuite with everything we needed and more. Gorgeous breakfast served to us, looking out at the view. Thoroughly recommend this accommodation to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Sunlover Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

I had the pleasure of Donna and Chris' hospitality for a wonderful 2 days & nights.
What can I say? The views are outstanding and ever changing. Just sitting watching the tide and reading was restful and quiet. Just what this overworked fellow needed. It was hard to leave and I can't wait for my next visit.
Also being interested in their home and it's construction I was unable to fault the design, layout and finish. Excellent.
The facilities and service were outstanding but unobtrusive. I loved the little nicknacks in the bathroom (my own) with a spacious and comfortable king bed, all to myself. Thanks for the wonderful stay.
Gary Stevens

Room Tip: All rooms have panoramic views with external access to the balconies
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryCNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We were travelling as a couple and were initially hesitant about the price. Our fears were allayed when we caught a glimpse of the outstanding view from the beautiful terrace. The room was fantastic and the bathroom very tastefully finished to an excellent standard. Donna and Chris were exemplary hosts, genuinely making us feel as welcome as old family friends, enjoying superb breakfasts with us and furnishing us with tips for a memorable stay in Coramandel; a destination which until we arrived had been a last minute, relatively uninformed option. There are a few nice restaurants in town about a 5 minute walk away, and the beaches to the north are idyllic, especially if you can make an effort to beat the crowds and get there to enjoy the relative isolation.

We stayed only 2 nights, and we'd certainly stay here again if we're fortunate enough to return in the future.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

If you want tranquillity, breath taking views and the best hosts ever. Chris and donna I would like to salute you on your beautiful b/b, this modern contemporary home offers only luxury style and comfort. Our two week stay in paradise was amazing. But the hosts is the very best you can find. thank you for making our holiday unforgettable.

will@peter

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

What an idyllic spot, looking out over the sea views. Spacious and comfortable rooms, with all the amenities you could wish for. Donna is an exceptional host, always ready and willing to cater to your needs. I spent two days for a conference at Sunlover Retreat, and could not fault any part of the experience and would recommend it to anyone and everyone. What a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Wow – what an amazing place – What a view! Great hospitality! – Comfortable bed great ensuite with all the luxuries. Will definitely look at coming back next year for our corporate retreat. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Sunlover Retreat is modern and unique structure with an equally unique atmosphere.
Donna and Chris, owners and hosts, are exceptional hosts and their dog JAK is an integral part of their hosting.
Sunrise viewed from the lounge deck, together with the never to be forgotten breakfasts sets you up for another wonderful day in paradise.
Sunlover Retreat is a wonderful accommodation hub for sightseeing the lower Coromandel Pensula.
Bob and Dorothy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
187 reviews
17.5 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Colleith Lodge
Colleith Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tairua
54 reviews
15.2 mi away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 43 in Whitianga
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Lodge
Harbour View Lodge
#5 of 8 in Tairua
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlover Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlover Retreat

Address: 20 Ridge Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tairua
Price Range: £152 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunlover Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunlover Retreat. A boutique bed & breakfast, nestled on a hill in the seaside town of Tairua, Coromandel NZ. Sunlover Retreat soaks up the sun and views from sunrise to sunset.There are three accommodation rooms, each with its own ensuite. The Estuary Suite has a bath luxuriously placed to look over the bush, Coromandel Ranges and Tairua estuary beyond. Every room has a large private deck and robes are supplied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunlover Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlover Retreat Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing