We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word: exceptional!”
Review of Sunlover Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunlover Retreat
Ranked #1 of 8 Tairua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We booked last minute for a night's stay over the Easter weekend (we were very grateful for a last minute cancellation) and enjoyed a wonderful 24 hours stay in an exceptional location. The house is decorated beautifully, the bedroom/bathroom lavish and comfortable, excellent wifi, delicious breakfast and stunning views. The best thing about the stay however was the incredibly warm and welcoming hospitality from Donna, Chris and Jak unlike anything we have encountered before at a property. Nothing was too much trouble and we will definitely return. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mulac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

Donna and Chris could not be more welcoming hosts. They made the whole stay feel like one was with old friends right from the start. They gave expert and helpful advice as to where to go and what to do in the area. The accommodation is of a very high standard, the views from the balcony are first rate and we have not the slightest hesitation in reccommending the Sunlover Retreat to anyone looking for the perfect place to stay in Tairua

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay because we loved hosting you. I realise that this was the first B&B experience for your partner .. really pleased it was a good one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Such a peaceful, wonderful place! Donna & Chris are welcoming and warm hosts, they really made us feel at home. Loved visiting with Jak their dog who is as friendly as his owners. The house is fantastic and so are the views from the balconies, the room and ensuite were spotless. You would be hard pressed to leave the breakfast table not full for the day ahead with a range of continental choices and also a different cooked inclusion each day. We only wish we could have stayed longer. Amazing!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RnR_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were overjoyed with our modern, clean accommodation and the spectacular views from Donna and Chris,s balcony . The warm hospitality really made our trip.We hated to leave. It is impossible not to relax in this wonderful place. Thank you both...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Thanks to Donna, Chris and Jak for a lovely lovely weekend at Sunlover Retreat. We couldn't have been made more welcome or comfortable anywhere! Beautiful house and amazing views of Tairua. Very comfy bed in a lovely room where we could enjoy the view, and lovely ensuite with everything we needed and more. Gorgeous breakfast served to us, looking out at the view. Thoroughly recommend this accommodation to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I had the pleasure of Donna and Chris' hospitality for a wonderful 2 days & nights.
What can I say? The views are outstanding and ever changing. Just sitting watching the tide and reading was restful and quiet. Just what this overworked fellow needed. It was hard to leave and I can't wait for my next visit.
Also being interested in their home and it's construction I was unable to fault the design, layout and finish. Excellent.
The facilities and service were outstanding but unobtrusive. I loved the little nicknacks in the bathroom (my own) with a spacious and comfortable king bed, all to myself. Thanks for the wonderful stay.
Gary Stevens

Room Tip: All rooms have panoramic views with external access to the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryCNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We were travelling as a couple and were initially hesitant about the price. Our fears were allayed when we caught a glimpse of the outstanding view from the beautiful terrace. The room was fantastic and the bathroom very tastefully finished to an excellent standard. Donna and Chris were exemplary hosts, genuinely making us feel as welcome as old family friends, enjoying superb breakfasts with us and furnishing us with tips for a memorable stay in Coramandel; a destination which until we arrived had been a last minute, relatively uninformed option. There are a few nice restaurants in town about a 5 minute walk away, and the beaches to the north are idyllic, especially if you can make an effort to beat the crowds and get there to enjoy the relative isolation.

We stayed only 2 nights, and we'd certainly stay here again if we're fortunate enough to return in the future.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
14.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
8.1 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
19.3 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlover Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlover Retreat

Address: 20 Ridge Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tairua
Price Range: £162 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunlover Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunlover Retreat. A boutique bed & breakfast, nestled on a hill in the seaside town of Tairua, Coromandel NZ. Sunlover Retreat soaks up the sun and views from sunrise to sunset.There are three accommodation rooms, each with its own ensuite. The Estuary Suite has a bath luxuriously placed to look over the bush, Coromandel Ranges and Tairua estuary beyond. Every room has a large private deck and robes are supplied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunlover Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlover Retreat Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing