We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night escape”
Review of Sunlover Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunlover Retreat
Ranked #1 of 8 Tairua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had a lovely evening with Donna, Chris and Jack - thanks for the wonderful hospitality and opening your home to us! Super comfy bed, spectacular views, great breakfast - we'll be back no doubt! Jack was lovely company too :) Only a short 1.5hour from Auckland the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilna72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you Wilna for the lovely review. We look forward to spoiling you again when you are ready for another breakaway from the big smoke!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I had our very first experience in a B & B and we could not have asked for a better introduction into this type of break. The house was nothing short of spectacular with breathe taking panoramic views and the dinner and breakfasts we had were mouth-watering and could have passed at any top 5 star restaurant in NZ. The facilities were excellent and the bath robes were the softest I’ve ever experienced. These wonderful people really have gone out of their way to offer a fabulous taste of NZ with all the little things that make a difference. If you think what could top that then there was one more aspect to this great break and that was the hospitality that we got from Donna, Chris and their 4 legged family member Jak (sometimes goes by the name of Charlie). We feel we have met some friends for life from this wonderful experience and I would strongly recommend their B & B offer to anyone, you won’t regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danbreanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

It was a real pleasure. I love the saying "there are no strangers, only friends we haven't met". This certainly applies to you two! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. See you soon we hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Perfect escape from the big city smoke. Such a lovely, relaxing location, the house was amazing. Donna, Chris and Jack made us feel truly welcome. The rooms are amazing, massive glass window walls looking out to nature, felt completely open but private at the same time. it was also such a treat waking up to cafe standard cooked breakfast at any time that suited us in the morning.

Definitely worth a stay if you are looking to escape to the sun.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Wendy X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you Wendy for the lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your escape from the 'big smoke'. Hopefully we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Not experienced a B&B before in NZ. Highly recommend Sunlover Retreat. Accomodation was fantastic and Donna, Chris & Jak (the dog) made us feel at home, as if staying with friends. Be sure to request the "signature" breakfast and the story of how it came about! Overall a wonderfull place to stay and plenty to see and do in Tairua, or just as a base for the whole locality. Will be back. Thanks.....

Lisa & Neil

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaandNeil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you guys for the wonderful review! We loved having you to stay and hope you can come back again one day. Love the 'signature dish' idea. As suggested I will put it on my website. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent two nights with Donna and Chris in their impressively constructed and beautifully designed home. Donna made us feel so comfortable, welcome and at home - we could just lay back and do our own thing. Our room was so comfortable with a huge bed, opening out to the expansive deck and its amazing view over Tairua town and harbour. Having the company of the lovely Jak (labradoodle) was an added attraction. Donna provided a beautiful breakfast each morning - continental followed by wicked cooked with endless coffee, all beautifully presented. We're now on a crash diet to recover.
Tairua is a lovely corner of New Zealand, and Sunlover's Retreat is an ideal place to explore its attractions. We can't recommend this venue enough

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for the absolutely fabulous review Mike. I hope to see you and Karen back one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Donna and Chris made us feel so welcome. Very friendly and are easy going and accommodating to our needs. As I told Donna in my email to her, it was all that we expected and so much more. The "so much more bit" was their amazing hospitality.
Awesome breakfasts, outstanding views, very comfy bed, and great company.
Thanks for helping make our weekend a special retreat.
I'll definitely be recommending this to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you Barry. I look forward to spoiling your friends just as much! I'm glad you had such a relaxing break from Auckland ... even if you managed to fit so much in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My partner Kris and I had an absolutely amazing time in Tairua. We were greatful to be staying at this place as it was highly morethan what we had thought of. the view was exceptionally beautiful. though the weather was not as good, we still had plenty to do. there wad not a single time we got bored. Donna your service is awsome. The fact that you go out of your way to meet and greet all your guests is amazing. we would deffinitly love to stay here again. highly recomend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanShivanjali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thanks Suzan for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I hope to see you and Kris again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
14.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
152 reviews
17.5 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
15.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlover Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlover Retreat

Address: 20 Ridge Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tairua
Price Range: £162 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunlover Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunlover Retreat. A boutique bed & breakfast, nestled on a hill in the seaside town of Tairua, Coromandel NZ. Sunlover Retreat soaks up the sun and views from sunrise to sunset.There are three accommodation rooms, each with its own ensuite. The Estuary Suite has a bath luxuriously placed to look over the bush, Coromandel Ranges and Tairua estuary beyond. Every room has a large private deck and robes are supplied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunlover Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlover Retreat Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing