We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunlover Retreat Stay Jan 2014”
Review of Sunlover Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunlover Retreat
Ranked #1 of 8 Tairua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our stay with Donna and Chris was wonderful. The Sunlover Retreat is wonderful and the friendliness and hospitably shared was world class in an idyllic location. The stay from the initial welcome, the relaxation, the company, the views, the room, were all superb.
Would we return? - absolutely - Yes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJAYokohama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We'd love to see you back here at some stage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Me and my wife stayed for two nights at the amazing Sunlover's retreat. When I stepped through the beautiful door and got onto the balcony for the first time, I was left speechless. The view onto Tairua is breathtaking. I could spend hours sitting up there and looking at all the things that happen around Tairua as well as watching the tide come and go from above. I also very much enjoyed the beautifully chosen interior design of the house. The furniture as well as the decoration makes the place very special. The experience becomes truly unique though thanks to the kindness, humor and hospitality provided by Donna. She is very funny, has great recommendations and leaves no wish open. Her breakfast was the best I had in New Zealand. Instead of the regular english breakfast you get at all the hotels, Donna prepares an individual and delicious meal every morning. A great part of the experience is her dog Jak. He is very friendly and entertaining. There is no downside to this place. If I was forced to name one, it is that the beauty of the place makes it hard to leave it behind for the touristic places. As an example, when you stand between hundreds of other tourists at the crowded Hot Water Beach, you think of the gorgeous and exclusive place you left behind just to sit in sandy hot water. But is that really a downside?

I will always remember my stay at the Sunlover's retreat. It was without any doubt one of the highlights of our trip through New Zealand. Due to the twenty hours flight it seems unlikely for us to return in the near future, but if I get another chance to stay there again, I will not think twice about doing so.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Wow ... I'm truly humbled by your wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write. And to anyone reading this review ... I didn't pay Daniel to write this! Thanks again Daniel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

I had the opportunity to stay at Sunlover Retreat for a couple of nights with a friend. Wow!! And wow again!! A beautifully designed house with beautiful views, beautiful beds, beautiful breakfast and most importantly a beautiful host!! Donna, you're great, you made us feel welcome the moment we stepped foot into your b&b accommodation. You have certainly gone the extra mile to make your guests feel special! I must say again that your breakfasts are amazing especially starting with homemade bread baked on the day! Thanks for sharing the recipe and thanks for sharing your house. Highly recommend to anyone!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank RD2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Always happy to share both bread recipe and home Rose. It was so much fun having you and Lisa come to stay. Thanks for including me in your 'girls' trip to the Lost Spring. Thanks also, for taking the time to write the review. See you again some time. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Sunlover Retreat must surely must be one of the most beautiful places to stay on the planet. Waking up to a panoramic view made it awesome, but it was the warmth and hospitality of our host Donna, which has made our stay unforgettable. Jay and I had a great driving holiday around the North Island and Tairua was our last stop before heading home to Sydney. We certainly feel like we left the best until last! We felt looked after from the moment of arrival, until our (reluctant) departure, Donna even packing us some lunch for the trip back after a delicious home cooked breakfast!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil19542014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thanks Phil for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We and our other guests thoroughly enjoyed your and Jay's company and certainly enjoyed swapping breakfast recipes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

What a great weekend! Donna and Chris are such a genuinely lovely and accommodating couple that we felt right at home. The house is amazing and the home made breakfast kept us going until dinner. Thank you so much, we couldn't have asked for more:)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for the beautiful review Wanda. We're thrilled you enjoyed your 'escape' to our little piece of paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Fabulous location, spectacular views, luxury accomodation with a super comfy bed, topped off by a magnificient cordon bleu breakfast to greet the new day. The weather was perfect, hosts Chris and Donna were warm and generous and Jak their pet dog was extra special . A very welcoming, comfortable and homely atmosphere which made for a wonderfully relaxing weekend - just what we needed!
Thankyou Chris and Donna.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you Ian for such a wonderful review. Too kind! It was an absolute pleasure to host you and Jan . Hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My friend and I had a wonderful weekend away,the hospitality of Donna and Chris is amazing.
The view from ones bedroom spectacular. The breakfast was better than any hotel,with a beautiful panoramic view. What more could one wish for. The bedrooms are open to the view and very comfortable.
Hope to see you soon again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Sunlover Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you Suzanne. I'm glad you 'girls' enjoyed your road trip and stay at Sunlover Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
14.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
8.1 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
19.3 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlover Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlover Retreat

Address: 20 Ridge Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tairua
Price Range: £162 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunlover Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunlover Retreat. A boutique bed & breakfast, nestled on a hill in the seaside town of Tairua, Coromandel NZ. Sunlover Retreat soaks up the sun and views from sunrise to sunset.There are three accommodation rooms, each with its own ensuite. The Estuary Suite has a bath luxuriously placed to look over the bush, Coromandel Ranges and Tairua estuary beyond. Every room has a large private deck and robes are supplied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunlover Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlover Retreat Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing