We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mount Paku hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Paku

Mount Paku
Book In Advance
More Info
US$216.01*
and up
Cathedral Cove Day Trip from Auckland
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mount Paku hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

At the advise of our hosts Anton & Mary we made a very nice hike up to the top of Mt> Paku. The view is amazing; literally a 360 degree view of the ocean, beaches and inland areas Tairua. The hike is fairly easy and suitable for people of all fitness levels.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank puertopaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    51
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Incredible view - worth the walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We picked a perfect day to climb this peak and it was truly amazing. The track gets steeper the higher up you go and the last bit is almost hands and knees stuff, but wow - the view from the top is simply remarkable.

No safety barriers and plenty of places to fall of if you aren't careful, so watch your step and I'd certainly not even suggest doing this in poor weather conditions or in any sort of darkness.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank David_and_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

To get to the top you have to climb up slopes and numerous steps, it is a very steep climb. That said, it is possible to drive so far up. The views are stunning and well worth the effort. Going back down is much faster!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackieshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
227 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Gorgeous View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We were short of time, so only drove up and went to the first car park area. Very easily accessible and the view was spectacular. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank letsgosydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We visited when high winds had caused the Pacific Ocean to deliver high waves. These were visible on either side of the Mount. Spectacular. Parking is near the top with a clear track up.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank flycgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Paku also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Mount Paku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing