We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular”
Review of Mount Paku

Mount Paku
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Drove up, then a short steep walk to the top. Wow! It was a beautiful day and the views were absolutely stunning - real picture postcard stuff. Certainly not to be missed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    51
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not miss this view if you're in Tairua.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Drive to the carpark and then a short sharp walk to the summit! It only takes 10-15 mins! Absolutely worth it for the spectacular views along the coast and inland to the Coromandel ranges.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyShirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
175 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A fairly rugged walk from the marina side to the top, not always well-marked, so we were glad of a little leaflet map from the Info station. The views on a clear, blue-skied day are spectacular! Definitely worth taking a 360 degree photo at the top. The view is better of Pauanui and the harbour than Tairua itself. Using our little map again, we worked out how to get down to the ocean beach- lovely views there too. Wear stout shoes. Take your own drinks or snacks if you want to enjoy food at the top. Definitely worth the climb. We did see a young family with a buggy, but that would be a challenge.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MRS565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“beautiful view”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

we went up there mostly driving and a short walk, it was easy and so well worth it ! the view is beautiful, 360°.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank QueshuaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Must do in Tairua”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were not aware of Mount Paku until the owner of the hotel where were staying at mentioned it to us and we are glad he did. The views from the top are amazing. Its about a 15 minute walk from the end of Paku Drive where you can park your car. Only the very last part of the climb is a bit steep over rocks. There are guard rails and my 7 year old managed without too much issue so should be fine.

Must do. We then had a picnic lunch at the base of the hill. Its a good stop over either to or from Auckland on the way to the rest of the Coromandel Peninsula

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Warren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Paku also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Mount Paku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing