We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good welcome to Tairua”
Review of Harbour View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Tairua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 January 2013

A good "meet and greet" with Eve and a very welcome cup of tea after our fight from Tokyo. Room had all you needed with personal touches but looked out into the garden and not of the harbour. The sitting room with TV, hi-fi etc was home-from-home even down to fighting over the controller. Lots of options with breakfast including great fresh fruit. Eve had lots of local knowledge that helped us plan our only full day in the area. Just a couple of minutes walk from the town centre.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

We should have stayed longer than two nights. Coromandel is a lovely area. It was worth the 2 hour ride to travel on Barry's Driving Creek Railway but there are lovely things to see close by like Hot Water Beach. The two rooms at the front do not really have a view since they are on the ground floor. The lovely views are from the breakfast area on the first floor. You do get some traffic noise (though it does go quieter at night) so I would opt for the room at the back.
The beds are very comfy. Good breakfasts. The fridge in the guest lounge has complimentary drinks (which we didn't realise till we left!). The complimentary laundry facility, including ironing was a bonus.

Room Tip: Choose the one at the back to try to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pernicketyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We only had one night at this lovely B&B but really enjoyed our stay. Eve was very welcoming and the room was great. Breakfast was very good and we got some helpful information regarding our onward journey.

Its a lovely area with lots of things to do so one day is not enough.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJT06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

we had a great time in Tairua and really enjoyed our stay. Eve made us feel really welcome. we only can recommend staying there. The breakfast was great, our room was very comfortable, we had a good time using the kayaks and we laughed a lot with Eve. Thanks again for these great 3 days.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan_972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Our stay was about a week into our holiday and we were amazed when we asked to use the washer and Eve offered to do our wash. Next day it was folded on our bed ready for the next week. What a treat not to spend time doing laundry while on an extended vacation. The breakfast were some of the best of our entire trip.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoodyBIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

The owner, Eve, made us feel so welcome, almost like we were family. It was our first B&B experience and she spoilt us with her cooking talents and her generosity and she gave us very valuable advice for visiting the area. Would love to return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EbirdieZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Harbourview Lodge is a B and B with a very generous menu, both continental and cooked being provided all inclusive. The room we had was well appointed and had a view of the harbour across the main street. There is a small swimming pool but when we stayed the weather was very cold. However the house and room were lovely and warm and cosy and electric blankets were also available on the beds. Finally the pillows were the most comfortable we had been given throughout a very long trip around the southern hemisphere! There was also very good advice on where to go and a spade to borrow for the trip to Hot Water Beach.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Optimist7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
0.1 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Colleith Lodge
Colleith Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tairua
57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Lodge

Address: 179 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tairua
Price Range: £83 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour View Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a purpose built, three-bedroom our star bed & breakfast with tropical garden, swimming pool and parking. The rooms have Queen beds, one can be converted to two twin beds. Each room is comfortably furnished with private bathroom. Our famous breakfasts are taken upstairs in our dining room with fabulous views of Tairua Harbour and will certainly set you up for the day ahead. Hosts Jane and Chris are always on hand to help you plan your Coromandel stay - with nearby 'must sees' like Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Harbour View is a short stroll from the town centre with its restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. The Harbour and Ocean Beaches are close by - and the summit of Mt Paku just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Lodge Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing