We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warkworth”
Review of Warkworth Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Warkworth Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Disappointing. Room ok, towels need replacing as frayed edges, our room near swimmingpool and so noisy, only 2 tv channels, no one reception until after 8.30, shared kitchen , just not the best experience ever.

Room Tip: Personally wouldn't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dilg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

My young daughter and I stayed in the Blue Room for one night's mini break from Auckland. I was pleasantly surprised. The room with clean modern ensuite was perfect for us. French doors opened out to a path leading to the pool area, where we enjoyed the spa after a 2 hour horse trek nearby. While we didn't utilise the communal kitchen it was large and very clean. The staff were all friendly. The only downside was the tv in our room only had 2 working channels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wwlodge, Owner at Warkworth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. You'll be pleased to know we are currently wiring in the new digital TV system and will have 7 channels. Hopefully it will be ready to go on Monday :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were in a small room upstairs in the main house. The room had two small single beds, my legs were hanging off the end and I'm 5'5" and the bed was far too squishy. Also there were no bedside lamps which was a pain. The baseboards needs to be touched up and new wallpaper done too. The door at the top of the stairs needs a new coat of paint. The upstairs bathroom was well appointed, but an extractor fan would've been good esp. with 6 people using the bathroom. I thought $50 a night was a bit steep with having to share facilities.

Got to see the outside studios though and the rose and gold room downstairs, they were both much nicer and I'd recommend those if you are planning a stay here.

Didn't get to use the pool or spa but would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silversparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Had a nice time at this lodge this weekend. Very tidy, modern unit with full kitchenette and facilities. Comfy couch, queen sized bed, and bathroom. Lodge also had communal kitchen and lounge which had sky and a fireplace so that was nice. Big pool and spa (didn't have time to try the spa) Only downside was the small brick of a TV and the remotes not working so having to manually change channels etc on the set

Room Tip: The units are very modern and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWTours, Owner at Warkworth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

HI, thank you for your helpful review. We are pleased to say we have updated the channel system, which had died down to just 2 channels, from the original 4, for a two week period while we upgraded it. Since then we are successfully running 9 channels. We just have 2 TVs to update to a flat screen, just waiting on stock. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in the studio unit and look forward to seeing you again one day soon. Liz & Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Our booked B & B had to cancel our booking due to bereavement in the family.So had to book here during my travels. What a lovely surprise when we arrived and saw our studio. This was very nice with small kitchen,table chairs for eating. Chairs for relaxing,good shower and most importantly good bed.We were the inside end unit of Studios ( see Photo ) Even had chairs outside to have a glass of wine in the evening. So I was surprised to read other reviews.Re noise etc. ( we are not use to noise at home ) so quite sensitive to it.No problems at all. We were amazed how nice inside the main house was. Quite upmarket the lounge area.( free Internet PC.) Nice big kitchen with all equipment / utensils to cook plus plenty of crockery and glasses. I thought the next building down towards the road is a Police station. ( me thinking good for security ) Another reviewer said rooms for the lodge ?
Warkworth is a good place to see all the surrounding area. Some fabulous spots to visit, our favourite was Tawharanui Regional Park. Anchor Bay is great.( see review ) Warkworth has all the main shopping you require including 2 of the Big supermarkets. Good cafes for coffee,we liked ''Gingers'' Would recommend Warkworth lodge to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed here on my own for a couple of nights, whilst at a local conference. It's a big old house, with creaky floor boards and high ceilings. It feels more like a home that a hotel, with a very large living room, where you can laze around on the big sofas or pop outside to the swimming pool area (more a pop in pool than length bashing). There is a big kitchen, so you can cook your own food if that grabs you or make yourself a cup of tea. It's homely in nature and has the air of a faded beauty.

The room was petite but big enough for a bed and couple of armchairs. I was in the Blue room, which was on the highway side..can be a bit of a hum from the relentless traffic scooting up SH1 but is quiet at night. The bed was comfortable but nothing too exciting. The bathroom was small but adequate, with plenty of towels and a decent shower.

There are a few cafes close by (Chocolate Brown is worth a detour) but otherwise all the action is at the beaches.

I'd rate this a 3.5 star but happy to give it the 4, as the welcome was so warm. Lots of information was provided on things to do and how to make it happen. It's a good spot to stay if you are exploring the area but, for me, not really a destination in itself.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raf1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We have just stayed for three nights in a studio unit. It had a small table with two chairs, a settee and an armchair, it was a nice change from places that expect you to sit on the bed (where I always fall asleep!) We found the bed incredibly comfortable, and slept very well. The kitchen was well equipped for basic cooking needs. The bathroom was well designed and the shower was excellent. Thank you Warkworth Lodge.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sfh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
3.8 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
86 reviews
9.8 mi away
Castle Court Motel
Castle Court Motel
#1 of 1 in Wellsford
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#4 of 20 in Warkworth
59 reviews
4.4 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
141 reviews
1.8 mi away
Annies B and B
Annies B and B
#1 of 20 in Warkworth
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warkworth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth Lodge

Address: 8 Falls Street, Warkworth, Auckland 0910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range: £46 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warkworth Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Motel in the Heart of the Village. Warkworth Lodge opened in 2007 and is one of the top motels located in the centre of Warkworth. Our suites vary from modern self-contained motel units to character villa rooms. Our sunny and spacious environment has a fantastic pool and barbecue area to sit and relax. Enjoy a weekend away or a relaxing holiday by the pool. Located on the doorstep of our many beautiful beaches, a great selection of vineyards, cafés and restaurants. You will enjoy the comfort of the luxury lodge, with the convenience of being in the centre of Warkworth’s beautiful village. Enjoy the spacious Villa Lounge that over looks the pool & relax by the fire in the winter, and free wi-fi. Celebrations are welcome: Weddings, Birthdays, Family gatherings & Conferences. Matakana Village is 5 minutes drive away. Daily Wine Tours leave at 12 o clock to explore the many Matakana vineyards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warkworth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing