We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable and friendly”
Review of Warkworth Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Warkworth Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a lovley overnight stay here with free WiFi and a kitchen in our studio with good tea/coffee making facilities superb if you are staying longer than we were. The owners were kind enough to give us recommendations of where to go etc, as we did not know the area at all.
Overall a very good nights stay

Room Tip: chose a studio room if a kitchen is going to be useful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Plumly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWTours, Owner at Warkworth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi ! Thank you for your review we truly appreciate you taking the time to place this. We are also very happy you had a good time and I hope you enjoyed the places & activities we recommended. We love to introduce our guest to the huge number of attractions and activities you can enjoy in the Matakana Coast Wine Country region and often find they like to stay longer to enjoy them. I hope you have received our return guest offer by email & we will see you again. All the best wishes from the team at wwlodge. Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were passing through Warkworth on a stop over on route to the Bay of Islands and stayed overnight at the Warkworth Lodge. We felt very welcome by the owners who also provided us with lots of tips about best places for dinner/ breakfast and places of interest in the area. We choose the studio room which was well equipped, clean and comfortable with settee/ casual seating, a good table to put the laptop/iPad, good coffee/ tea making and of course freeWIFI which we love ( we would never stay anywhere that charges for internet WIFI in this day and age) .Overall a good for friendliness, cleanliness, comfort and a good location for the Main Street restaurants, cafés and shops.

Room Tip: If you need a kitchen, fridge and kettle take the studio rooms.The main house rooms are also comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great idea and great building but definitely not the luxury accommodation it is billed as. Room okay and balcony outside was good as was pool and spa pool. However, can't seem to decide if they are backpackers or luxury accommodation. Carpet in room and throughout corridor looked really dirty and was very worn. Get rid of the backpacker rooms and do some work on it and I think you'd be on to a winner

Room Tip: Go for the gold room or blue room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Disappointing.
We stayed in the gold standard double room which is located on the ground floor in the main house. The room had a large en-suite bathroom but no cooking facilities or a fridge as these were located in a communal kitchen. The room was advertised as having a balcony which consisted of a table and couple of chairs located on what turned out to be a walkway from the car park to other rooms and the pool area. The spring loaded stopper in the bathroom sink didn't work so it was not possible to retain water in the sink to wash, when this was mentioned to the owner she replied that another guest had mentioned it - but they had done nothing to repair or replace it. The room itself was clean and comfortable but the kitchen drawers needed lining paper. The property has the advantage of being located close to the town centre however the disadvantage was that loud music was played until 12.30 on the Saturday night we stayed and this was followed by raucous banter for some time after that. My overall impression was disappointing and I would recommend the self contained studio apartments across the courtyard and I would suggest finding alternative accommodation if staying at a weekend.

Ate at the Bridgehouse restaurant.
Next Tairua

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Room ok, got us out if jam when everything was booked out. Didn't really enjoy shared facilities and noise from road meant window had to be closed, leaving room a bit stuffy. Otherwise room clean, and hosts very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Disappointing. Room ok, towels need replacing as frayed edges, our room near swimmingpool and so noisy, only 2 tv channels, no one reception until after 8.30, shared kitchen , just not the best experience ever.

Room Tip: Personally wouldn't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dilg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My young daughter and I stayed in the Blue Room for one night's mini break from Auckland. I was pleasantly surprised. The room with clean modern ensuite was perfect for us. French doors opened out to a path leading to the pool area, where we enjoyed the spa after a 2 hour horse trek nearby. While we didn't utilise the communal kitchen it was large and very clean. The staff were all friendly. The only downside was the tv in our room only had 2 working channels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wwlodge, Owner at Warkworth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. You'll be pleased to know we are currently wiring in the new digital TV system and will have 7 channels. Hopefully it will be ready to go on Monday :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
3.8 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
147 reviews
12.7 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#5 of 20 in Warkworth
57 reviews
4.4 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
133 reviews
1.8 mi away
Annies B and B
Annies B and B
#2 of 20 in Warkworth
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warkworth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth Lodge

Address: 8 Falls Street, Warkworth, Auckland 0910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range: £48 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warkworth Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Motel in the Heart of the Village. Warkworth Lodge opened in 2007 and is one of the top motels located in the centre of Warkworth. Our suites vary from modern self-contained motel units to character villa rooms. Our sunny and spacious environment has a fantastic pool and barbecue area to sit and relax. Enjoy a weekend away or a relaxing holiday by the pool. Located on the doorstep of our many beautiful beaches, a great selection of vineyards, cafés and restaurants. You will enjoy the comfort of the luxury lodge, with the convenience of being in the centre of Warkworth’s beautiful village. Enjoy the spacious Villa Lounge that over looks the pool & relax by the fire in the winter, and free wi-fi. Celebrations are welcome: Weddings, Birthdays, Family gatherings & Conferences. Matakana Village is 5 minutes drive away. Daily Wine Tours leave at 12 o clock to explore the many Matakana vineyards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warkworth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing