We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Bethshan is Absolutely Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bethshan Seaside Cottages Motel
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Bethshan is Absolutely Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

If you're looking for a holiday oasis close to Auckland, look no further than Bethshan. We arrived to a lovely little note telling us to get settled in our unit with the key waiting for us. We then headed out onto the bay on kayaks (they have several, plus a couple of sailboats and a dinghy, all free to use) and made our way around the bay, then headed over to the diving platform/trampoline (genius) which was great fun. Headed back to have tea and a little snack on the chairs by the beach. It's very close to Scandrett and Tawharanui regional parks too, for a bit of hiking. A wonderful little place to stay and get away from it all! The units themselves are brilliant too, very cottagey/bachy feeling.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Have now stayed at Bethshan twice, August 2011 (4 nights) and May 2012 (3 nights). What a hidden gem! Love their winter special, where every 3rd night is free, which makes it the best deal in the area! Our teenaged boys spent hours on the trampolines & in the kayaks, while the adults appreciated the proximity to the local wineries & Matakana.

On both stays, our unit was right on the bay, with uninterrupted views. Glorious sunsets! The beds were comfortable, and the electric blankets greatly appreciated. Owners Evan and Shirley Algie are welcoming and friendly hosts.

Would definitely return to Bethshan when next in the area, and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiwi-In-Cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Just stayed one night. Exceptionally clean, spacious, very well equiped unit. Right on the beach. Kayaks, dingys and small sail boats for use free of charge. Helpful and friendly owners. Whether you are looking for a family holiday distination or a romantic get away this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catchafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Only stayed here for 1 night but wished it was longer. The landlord was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The setting is idyllic, right by the waters edge. The accom was chalet style and had 2 spacious bedrooms, kitchen/lounge and bathroom. You get your own terrace and you can sit out by the water if you like. Very clean and modern. Gorgeous views. Very good value indeed. You do need a car to drive to local restaurants, no food on site. So peaceful and calming. A real haven. Highly recommended indeed.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
1.9 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
5.6 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
11.1 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.7 mi away
Nancy's Garden
Nancy's Garden
#1 of 19 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethshan Seaside Cottages Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethshan Seaside Cottages Motel

Property: Bethshan Seaside Cottages Motel
Address: 91 Willjames Avenue | Algies Bay, Warkworth 0920, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Warkworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Warkworth
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing