We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Personal Attention”
Review of Sheepworld

Sheepworld
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Warkworth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sheepworld is New Zealand’s Sheep and Wool Centre. In twice-daily live demonstrations the dogs round up and bring in the sheep, which are then sorted and shorn. Our Wonderful Wool multimedia exhibition then explains how the fleece is turned into an amazing variety of products, many of which are on sale in our store. There’s also an eco-discovery stroll through native bush, a natural adventure playground, a farmyard full of animals and an on-site cafe. Suitable for all ages.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Personal Attention”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We headed up to Sheepworld from Auckland to experience Sheep Shearing and to see how they dogs worked the sheep for their handlers. During the three hours we were there (Feb 12, 2014) we saw only 4 other visitors. They have a nice little "petting zoo" and the gift shop was kind of unique with lots of wool products. But the show is what we came for. We were surprised at showtime, that the two of us were the entire audience. But as such, we had a personal show that lasted over an hour and a half and was everything promised. We went outside as the dogs brought the sheep in and brought them to their handler. We experienced the sorting and shearing processes, and fed some of the lambs. The presenter was excellent and personable, and really made the trip worthwhile. Absolutely worth the price of admission to the show. Would not have driven up, if there was not a show.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AandDfromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    43
    16
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fascinated with the Pink Sheep!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We enjoyed our short stop at Sheep World. We did not experience sheep shearing which I was interested in experiencing, but were attracted to the property by their dyed pink sheep in the pasture alongside State Highway One. They do have a very interesting shop on the property where you can buy locally made natural products made of wool and also Manuka honey products.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank zebra949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheepworld, Manager at Sheepworld, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
So glad to hear you enjoyed your brief stop at Sheepworld. It's a shame you did not manage to catch the sheep shearing, which is part of our daily demonstration show at 11am and 2pm daily.

The dyeing our sheep pink (using harmless food dye) began a few years ago as a way of showing our support during Breast Cancer Awareness Week. The pink sheep were so popular we have kept a few pink ones in our flock ever since!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schalkwijk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sheep, dogs and many more!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 10h30, in time for the 11 o'clock dog and sheep show you do not want to miss. This show was the best. You get a very nice herding demonstration with two different dogs. They explain everything very well and all questions were answered by the professional staff.

After that we got a hands on shearing demonstration and we got to bottle feed some lambs.

They have lots of animals and there are lots of signs with information.

Worth every dollar but only if you see the show. Be sure not to miss it. They do 2 shows a day. Show lasted for nearly two hours. Total visit: 3.5 hours. Not a single minute was boring.

Helpful?
Thank Freddie_Leeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hohenhameln, Deutschland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Very interesting show. Loved the dogs getting the sheep in, loved the shearing show. The kids enjoyed feeding the lambs and we learned quite a bit about sheep farming.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank antares59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Family Outing”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We recently took the daughter-in-law and two grandchildren to Sheepworld and we all had a great day out feeding and learning about all kinds of animals. I think the highlight was the Sheep Shearing Show and feeding the lambs for the kids and they loved feeding the eels as well. The staff were all lovely and informitave, the cafe served nice food at reasonable prices, and a lovely gift shop for all things made of wool! A definite place to visit for tourists and New Zealanders alike.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrswilderness2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheepworld also viewed

Warkworth, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 
Warkworth, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Sheepworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing