We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrendous experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrendous experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

It was going to be our first time staying here. I made a reservation at the end of January for a Studio room for us to stay in last Saturday. When we arrived to check-in, Dave gave us paperwork to complete. We finished filling in the papers when Carol walked in. I was about to pay for the room and advised both of them that I had my 7 year old son with us and I was more than happy to pay for him as an 'extra' person if he is sleeping in the same bed with us. Carol then rudely snapped at me in a derogatory and mocking tone and said ""NO because the room is only insured for 2 persons and said "he's not even a baby, he is 7years old and you should have been truthful about this when you booked and now we have to cancel your booking!!"". I was completely shocked by her comments, her manner, rudeness and tone in the way she spoke to me. I said to her that I have stayed many other hotels and normally if a child is sleeping with the parents in the same bed, either you pay for the extra person or they are free as a child. I was being completely honest with them and they should have given me the benefit of the doubt, as it also doesn't state anywhere in their website about children being extra. How she treated me as a ' potential guest' was completely un-necessary and un-professional and uncalled for. I asked her if she could upgrade us to another room and she said "no we are full and you will not find any other motels in the area as they will be full too". After their reaction and behaviour, we had no choice but to leave. We left with a heavy heart and an extremely disappointed son.

For a business that is in the hospitality industry, Carol and Dave were NOT hospitable AT ALL and we will NEVER EVER choose to stay here or ever recommend them to anyone else.

What was meant to be a nice stress free weekend away turned into a stressful and horrendous experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi, when booking your reservation on line it clearly states that this unit is a max of 2 people. You also put on the form 2 people. The unit is only set up for 2 people with a queen bed. We would have offered you an upgrade for an extra price, but as you said we were full. We suggest in future to ring before you leave so that you know that there will be room for an extra person. This also creates stress for us as we go out of our way to help guests.
We are not sure why you originally booked and your credit card was invalid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    20
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
26
32
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We travelled here from Australia for a friends wedding. Great location... Walking distance to shops and local pubs. The owners couldn't do enough for you. Helping us with local attractions, places to eat and things to do. Thanks for your hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nic0len0ble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi, thank you for your review, glad we could be of help so that you could enjoy your stay and the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I had originally intended to stay at the Walton Park Motor Lodge for one night only, but due to the tail end of a cyclone, I stayed for longer than planned. The hosts, Carol and Dave, made me feel very welcome and were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are equipped with everything that you need for a stay and I found the room and the bed comfortable and I slept well every night. It's a short walk into the small town of Warkworth, where you'll find cafes and shops and a beautiful river walk. If you need a place around Warkworth, then the Walton Park Motor Lodge is a great place to stay with great hosts. Thank you Carol and Dave!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BombursTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi, it was nice having you stay a bit longer than planned, but a shame that it held up your cycling plans. Hope you managed to complete your tour. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Our long term stay at the Walton Park Lodge has been a very pleasant one. We found the hosts to be hard working, friendly and helpful; if there was anything that they could help with, they were quick to respond and happy to accommodate our needs. The rooms are always kept tidy and clean and contain everything we need and more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi Amanda, was nice having you guys staying for the long period. It was a pleasure to have you. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Very pleasant motel where we have just spent two nights. Friendly and helpful management. We arrived around 12.30pm and too early too normally check in and we were very pleased with being able to check into our room despite being early. We walked into Warkworth itself which would take about 10 mins right down to the riverside shops etc. For those self catering you walk right past a good sized Countdown store and there is a New World further in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi, glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed the area. Thank you for your review and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our second stay at Walton Park. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Unit was clean and well equipped for the 4 nights we stayed. The pool was very inviting on hot days, lovely clean water.
Great situation close to town centre, takeaways and supermarket. Use of wifi was helpful.

Room Tip: We were in a back room which was quiet with parking right outside. We could easily walk to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Char2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi, thank you for your review, glad you got to enjoy our pool, great for cooling down on those hot days. Always plenty to see and do in the area. People are surprised what is on offer in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We chose this motel (the only one in Warkworth) as we needed to stay with recently bereaved friends who were unable to accommodate us. Called to say we would only get to our room later in the evening due to being with said friends and so our unit was left unlocked for us.

On arrival we were surprised to see that internet acccess was not free and also disappointed to see a live cockroach on our bedside table. All too late to deal with so we made sure to mention both at check out time - owner seemed non-plussed about cockroach "they come in from outside" was the response. Internet access was apparently free with the correct code (not pointed out to us as we arrived late and no coupon with code left in our room). We were offered the option of using internet access prior to leaving, which we took - thank you.

All round, we found the room and facilities very basic for what we paid ($120) - it doesn't cost much to leave more than one tissue in the box, supply a closed half litre carton of milk and a couple of quality coffee sachets. The atitude of the owner could use some improvement ... maybe time to sell up and move on?

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank barro h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david i, Owner at Walton Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Sorry we did not give into your veiled threats regarding Trip Advisor. Your bereaved friends was also our motel mentor, as we told you when you asked. We take offence to your last statement as we feel this is a personal attack on us, as we are surprised Trip Advisor allowed this to be published, as it breaks their guidelines.
Firstly we do not know where you saw that there was a charge for internet, as we provide this free. With regards to cockroach, we explained that we spray to prevent them from coming into the units, but occasionally they do come in as we have palm trees and gardens outside the units. We do not count the tissues in the box. The carton of milk is the standard 300ml which is standard for motels and min 8 tea and 8 coffee sachets, plus sugar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Warkworth hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.3 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.8 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
12.4 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Castle Court Motel
Castle Court Motel
#1 of 1 in Wellsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nancy's Garden
Nancy's Garden
#1 of 19 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
4.7 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walton Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton Park Motor Lodge

Property: Walton Park Motor Lodge
Address: 2 Walton Avenue, Warkworth 0910, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Walton Park Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Walton Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing