We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandpiper Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandpiper Lodge
Ranked #17 of 21 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We recently stayed here for two nights, on arrival we were upgraded to a Chalet (thank god because the other rooms are way below average). The Chalet was nice and spacious and comfortable. Only one channel was working on the television and you can see that the upkeep of the Lodge is starting to slip. The hosts advised that the owners lived offshore and that it is on the market. The hosts (well actually only the wife) because her husband just grumbled a few words at as seemed nice but not over enthusiastic about being there. The main lodge inside is in need of redecorating and very very average. On a positive note the dinner was beautiful and so was breakfast but as for ambience all the guests seemed pretty miserable and felt a little ripped off. What every you do do not pay full price to stay here, I believe there are specials on Grab One but would not recommend staying in a room in the main lodge which are tiny, no TV, no fridge, no coffee or tea. The setting is beautiful and would highly recommend a walk along the marine reserve at Anchor Bay but perhaps look around for another B & B.

Room Tip: Ensure you get one of the two Chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKLDMUMTO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Like many others we went on a 50% off deal. Even at the discounted price it was not value for money. Very low spec rooms. Basic, no frills, cramped. Cobwebs all over the room and bathroom. Nice people running the place but a luxury lodge -no way. Go for the solitude but expect basic. You could get much better for the same $ even after the half price deal.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nostrebor_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Warkworth hotels

Kawau Island
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

After reading the reviews for Sandspiper Lodge I was a bit worried but it was all for nothing. We own a b&b ourselves and this was my birthday treat just for one night. The lodge is set is lovely surroundings and close to Tawharanui Open Sanctuary where there are wonderful walks and great swimming. On arrival we were upgraded to a chalet. The room was large and very well presented, huge bathroom and nice deck over looking the lagoon. The hosts were very attentative, dinner was enjoyable, and breakfast was delicious. They mentioned that they mainly get only one night stays but I reckon two nights would be the way to go so that you get to enjoy the surrounding area. The lodge is set up for conferences and I would imagine if you were there when there are lots of people around it would be a totally different experience but on the night we stayed there was only one other couple staying.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet room, lovely and quiet and overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

The Sandpiper Lodge is in a beautiful location ,the grounds are picturesque and the host and hostess are lovely people but the rates are totally unrealistic.We purchased our night on a 50% deal and were given a room with just the bare necessities,no coffee making facilities,no TV,no fridge ,things you would expect from even the poorest of accommodations.To expect people to pay around $400 a night is madness.We would never return .

Room Tip: Better value elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We were supposed to stay two nights on a special 50% deal. Even considering the special deal, this lodge is not worth the cost. We found the room very small, no TV, no fridge. The ensuite was small and had not been cleaned properly. The sheets were marked. our sleep was disturbed by the snooring and movement in the room above. We tried to negotiate a better room for our second night but were told "you've got the room at a special rate, what do you expect." The Lodge is in a beautiful setting but is poorly managed. We would not recommend you stay at the current rate.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank johnandkathyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

My wife and I spent three nights in one of the chalets which was lovely. Very peaceful and relaxing with a lovely outlook over a stream. Bruce (the owner) was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaydoinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
2.9 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 10 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tawharanui Lodge
Tawharanui Lodge
#5 of 21 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#8 of 21 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 8 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
7.6 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
7.7 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Lodge

Property: Sandpiper Lodge
Address: 841 Takatu Road | RD6, Warkworth 0986, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Warkworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing