We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Annies B and B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Annies B and B
Ranked #2 of 20 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This Cottage just an hour north of Auckland was the perfect place for a night away. Peter is a great host, the cottage is gorgeous and has everything you need and lovely and warm. Bed linen is amazing and the bed and pillows were all super comfy! Great TV set up too with sky going through to the bedroom for late night/early morning viewing. The cooked breakfast was fantastic and exceeded our expectations. I would highly recommend this place to anyone and hope to be back ourselves one day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandNess79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

Annie’s B&B provided a stop over from us as we traveled from the Bay of Islands down to Coromandel as part of our honeymoon trip in January. It was really a little treasure of a place that we are so glad we stumbled upon and really wish we could have stayed longer.

We arrived around dinner time after a day traveling, Peter got us settled into our beautiful room, a real home from home. Lovely bedroom with a huge comfortable bed and mountains of pillows. Kitchen / dining area with everything you would need, include juice and biscuits waiting in the fridge, Beautiful large bathroom, fluffy robes and very pretty surroundings. As it was fairly late Peter offered to cook us some dinner - anything we wanted really so we opted for steak! It was beautiful and delivered to us around an hour later, home cooked gorgeous food as good if not nicer than restaurant standard.

Unfortunately we had to leave the next morning but not till we’d had a large full cooked breakfast, again brought to our door and home cooked and a lovely hot warm shower.

Annie’s is really a lovely place, lovely accommodation, great hosts, couldn’t recommend it more.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielT114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Chosen because we wanted somewhere close to Auckland to get away for the weekend, Annie's more than met our expectations. Peter is a great host, and the cottage was perfect - it has EVERYTHING! I would recommend this place to anyone - it is seriously good, the breakfasts are lovely and the bed was something else - I haven't slept so well in ages. Thanks Peter and Annie - great place - I am sure you will see us back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worleybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Annies is less than an hour from Auckland and situated close to Warkworth so it was a great place to stay for a getaway weekend to the Matakana region. We were greeted by the delightful and energetic Annie who immediately made us feel at home.

The cottage is very cosy, private and comfortable with a luxurious bedroom and bathroom attached to a small lounge which leads out onto a back deck. Outside on the deck is a table and comfortable seating, perfect for having breakfast on a sunny morning and listening to the cows graze next door :) the garden is beautiful and highlights Annies love of antiques and collectibles.

The hosts were kind, helpful and unobtrusive. Peter cooked a marvelous breakfast of scrambled eggs, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, hashbrowns and toast plus marmelade and butter - YUM!

All in all a great experience and will definitely go again!

Room Tip: Go for the cottage, you wont regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

A much needed romantic getaway for a couple who's life is crazy busy, 4kids, full time jobs and never enough romance or time!This B and B was only one hour north of Auckland and a fantastic tonic!
Peter was delightful and a great breakfast chef.
everything was fantastic and the retreat perfect.
thank you Peter, We have rediscovered our romance in our busy lives!

Room Tip: Only one hour from Auckland, romance on the door step
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This exquisite B and B has taken my breath away, lovely owners, great food and my oh my... the bed! I don't think I have ever slept as well as I did that night since I was in nappies.
Annie's B and B is a short distance from Warkworth and is close to shops and restaurants.
In the morning breakfast was brought to us with a smile and to my satisfaction it tasted like restaurant food "thanks Peter" all n all I have not one bad thing to say about our stay...it even had SKY TV :)

Room Tip: try and book the Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Both feeling work weary we were hoping for a restful weekend getaway and chose Annies based on other reviews on this site. We were not disappointed, especially when given an unexpected upgrade to the Cottage. Very comfortable, interesting, and private. Our hosts cooked great breakfasts and showed just the right amount of attention without intruding. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwidavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
1.8 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
79 reviews
5.6 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
147 reviews
2.0 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Warkworth Country House
Warkworth Country House
#3 of 20 in Warkworth
22 reviews
4.9 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
133 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#5 of 20 in Warkworth
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annies B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annies B and B

Address: 181 State Highway 1 | Rd1, Warkworth, Auckland 0981, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range: £72 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annies Bed and Breakfast offers elegantly appointed accommodation with your choice of either a self-contained suite or self-contained one bedroom cottage set on over two acres of Park like grounds complete with Antique and Curio shop. Both Cottage and Suite offer luxurious king size beds with the best quality linen, duvets and bedding. They are truly self contained each with there own Entrance and decks so our guests have complete independence. Annies Cottage is available for long weekends, Holidays and short Term (up to three months) accommodation.‘Annies’ provides a cooked breakfast of your choice served to your room with your choice of tea, coffee, or espresso. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Annies B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing