We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely start to our Northland Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Warkworth Country Retreat
Ranked #3 of 19 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely start to our Northland Trip”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

A lovely and luxurious stopover for our first night of a 6-night sojourn around the Northland area of New Zealand. We were warmly welcomed by Maria and shown around her beautiful home. Our suite was extremely comfortable and lacked nothing. Dinner was served in the family dining area and we thoroughly enjoyed Maria's company - great conversation, some excellent travel tips and a delicious meal of roast beef.....home grown! We would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paznbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
31
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kelowna
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

If you are looking for a lovely country sojourn this is the place. Lovely helpful hosts, spacious accommodation, great breakfasts, quality TV. WiFi, excellent bed and linens, quiet location but close to Warkworh, the wineries, cafes and art galleries of Matakana and area as well as wonderful beaches. A great place for a break from city life or a stopping place for tourists.

Room Tip: You have a choice of a self contained suite at the rear of the main house or rooms on one wing of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglebudd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were fortunate to find this B&B through a glowing recommendation of one of the volunteers at the Warkworth I-site. We spent one night in the separate "barn" accommodation. It is very private with a living room, highlighted with cheerful red accents, dining table and an almost full sized kitchen. The views are of the countryside or the fountain garden at the main entry to the house. A queen and single bed were up a slightly steep stairway to a loft, while the prettily appointed bathroom was on ground level. This would be ideal for a family. A bountiful breakfast was delivered in the evening so we could enjoy home baked muffins, cereal, yogurt, toast, hot beverages, fresh fruit or a special treat from the seasonal garden (rhubarb-yum!) at our leisure in the morning.

We enjoyed our first night so much that we rearranged our other accommodations so we could spend another night there 2 weeks later. This time we stayed in the guest wing of the beautiful, modern house. It actually contains 2 en suite bedrooms which would be ideal for 2 couples traveling together, however only one of these rooms is ever occupied unless you make a special request. Hence you have exclusive use of a large window-lined lounge with cafe tables inside and out, a kitchenette and a wonderful patio overlooking the owner's garden and acreage...in addition to your elegant bedroom and bathroom. A cooked to order, farm-style, breakfast is included with this room...featuring an assortment of the owner's homemade jams! We were able to enjoy ours outside on the patio.

Maria is the finest B&B hostess I've ever met. Welcoming, generous with her home and knowledge of local attractions, great company AND a fabulous cook! We took advantage of her offer of a home cooked meal (available with advance notice at a modest cost) on both of our stays. We enjoyed delicious dinners, including wine and desserts, served in her delightful dining room. We felt like honored guests as we dined with Maria and Brian. All the facilities feel brand new, luxurious and were sparkling clean with every comfort considered. The actual B&B is even nicer than the pictures we saw online. Wi-fi is strong and unlimited. Fresh garden flowers decorated our rooms. A chocolate sweet awaited us bedside. We stayed at a several B&B/Inns (where we paid much more) that couldn't come close to this quality establishment. But best of all was the warmth Maria extends to her guests...a true embrace of goodness, grace and hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hulalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

"Warkworth Country Retreat is just a few hundred metres from the lovely small town of Warkworth set on a hill in open countryside. It is readily seen from the road just off Highway 1 approached up a long drive. The spacious house is only six years old designed by the present owners and has all up to date conveniences. The owners, Brian & Maria Edwards, are very warm welcoming hosts.

The bedrooms are with ensuite and if needed there is a separate lounge with kitchen area with frig and micro-wave cooker with spacious picture windows looking down across meadows. A large flat TV has Sky including all four sports channels. Wifi is free and unrestricted. The price is very reasonable for accommodation of this stature and a hearty breakfast is included. A splendid dinner with mine hosts is an option with notice given at a most reasonable price".
It is easy access to Matakana, Tawhiranui Regional & Marine Park with its giant sting rays, Goat Island a 30 year old marine park teaming with fish, Sandspit with its ferry to Kawau Island.
It was so good we returned there for our last few days in NZ. We shall return next time.
John & Pauline of Guernsey

Room Tip: An excellent venue after a 24 hour flight just 60Km north of Auckland Airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

It is rare to find accommodation that cannot be faulted in any way at all. It is a wonderful property set in the heart of the countryside about 1km from the charming little town of Warkworth.
Not only do you get superb ensuite accommodation, but also a private lounge well equipped kitchenette, and a private patio area.

The welcome was warm and genuine and the glass of wine and nibbles, and the offer of a dessert were greatly appreciated. The breakfast was excellent.

Actually we did have one complaint and that was that our itinerary only allowed one night in this wonderful place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newforestgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2012

It was a nice stay in Warkworth Country Retreat. The rooms, the hospotality, the welcome, the braekfast, the area, all was great. It is a nice place to discover the aerea.
Ad en Han

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Warkworth Country Retreat is a superb place to stay and Maria and Brian are lovely hosts. I first tried to write this review immediately after our stay, but must have tried to put so much on in terms of enthusing and attaching photos of the property's great beauty that it overloaded the computer and never made it on! Apologies Maria and Brian. Great place, great people.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinFromDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
2.2 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
5.6 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nancy's Garden
Nancy's Garden
#1 of 19 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Annies B and B
Annies B and B
#2 of 19 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
2.0 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.6 mi away
Warkworth Country House
Warkworth Country House
#6 of 19 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warkworth Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth Country Retreat

Property: Warkworth Country Retreat
Address: 433 Woodcocks Road | Warkworth, Warkworth 0981, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to our country Bed and Breakfast Retreat and enjoy stunning rural views and walk in our beautiful landscaped garden. A tree lined driveway leads you to our new, architecturally designed Lodge on our 60 acre farm. Warkworth Country Retreat Bed and Breakfast is only 45 minutes fron Auckland, 5 minutes from picturesque town of Warkworth and 10 minutes from the popular hub Matakana. With beautiful beaches, vineyards, cafe, golfing and fishing only a short drive away this is an ideal location.We offer guests a two bedroom luxury apartment, which has two guest suites both with ensuites, and a private lounge and kitchenette. Both bathrooms have heated towel rails and floors, robes, hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. On sunny mornings you can enjoy a cooked and continental breakfast on the terrace overlooking our farm towards the Dome Mountain range. Snack Meals and Dinner by arrangement.Free wireless internet, Sky digital TV, dvd player. We also offer guests a separate self catering Barn Apartment. This modern private barn conversion can sleep up to 4 people. It features a fully equipped kitchen,lounge, dining, and bathroom,with a spacious mezzanine bedroom. A hair dryer and complimentary toiletries are supplied.Breakfast can be included. Dinner by arrangement.Free wireless internet, Sky digital TV, dvd player. Come and stay with us and enjoy country living, home grown fruit and vegetables, local wines and warm hospitality. Fishing trips and golf by arrangement. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing