We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Warkworth Country Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Warkworth Lodge(Warkworth)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snells Beach Motel(Snells Beach)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waves Motel(Orewa)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Matakana Motel(Matakana)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
45
4
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
4
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was largethe kitchenon arrivalbrianapartmenthousecomforthosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2012

A lovely and luxurious stopover for our first night of a 6-night sojourn around the Northland area of New Zealand. We were warmly welcomed by Maria and shown around her beautiful home. Our suite was extremely comfortable and lacked nothing. Dinner was served in the family dining area and we thoroughly enjoyed Maria's company - great conversation, some excellent travel tips and a delicious meal of roast beef.....home grown! We would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paznbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

If you are looking for a lovely country sojourn this is the place. Lovely helpful hosts, spacious accommodation, great breakfasts, quality TV. WiFi, excellent bed and linens, quiet location but close to Warkworh, the wineries, cafes and art galleries of Matakana and area as well as wonderful beaches. A great place for a break from city life or a stopping place for tourists.

Room Tip: You have a choice of a self contained suite at the rear of the main house or rooms on one wing of the main house - the latter probably has a little better views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaglebudd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were fortunate to find this B&B through a glowing recommendation of one of the volunteers at the Warkworth I-site. We spent one night in the separate "barn" accommodation. It is very private with a living room, highlighted with cheerful red accents, dining table and an almost full sized kitchen. The views are of the countryside or the fountain garden at the main entry to the house. A queen and single bed were up a slightly steep stairway to a loft, while the prettily appointed bathroom was on ground level. This would be ideal for a family. A bountiful breakfast was delivered in the evening so we could enjoy home baked muffins, cereal, yogurt, toast, hot beverages, fresh fruit or a special treat from the seasonal garden (rhubarb-yum!) at our leisure in the morning.

We enjoyed our first night so much that we rearranged our other accommodations so we could spend another night there 2 weeks later. This time we stayed in the guest wing of the beautiful, modern house. It actually contains 2 en suite bedrooms which would be ideal for 2 couples traveling together, however only one of these rooms is ever occupied unless you make a special request. Hence you have exclusive use of a large window-lined lounge with cafe tables inside and out, a kitchenette and a wonderful patio overlooking the owner's garden and acreage...in addition to your elegant bedroom and bathroom. A cooked to order, farm-style, breakfast is included with this room...featuring an assortment of the owner's homemade jams! We were able to enjoy ours outside on the patio.

Maria is the finest B&B hostess I've ever met. Welcoming, generous with her home and knowledge of local attractions, great company AND a fabulous cook! We took advantage of her offer of a home cooked meal (available with advance notice at a modest cost) on both of our stays. We enjoyed delicious dinners, including wine and desserts, served in her delightful dining room. We felt like honored guests as we dined with Maria and Brian. All the facilities feel brand new, luxurious and were sparkling clean with every comfort considered. The actual B&B is even nicer than the pictures we saw online. Wi-fi is strong and unlimited. Fresh garden flowers decorated our rooms. A chocolate sweet awaited us bedside. We stayed at a several B&B/Inns (where we paid much more) that couldn't come close to this quality establishment. But best of all was the warmth Maria extends to her guests...a true embrace of goodness, grace and hospitality!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hulalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

"Warkworth Country Retreat is just a few hundred metres from the lovely small town of Warkworth set on a hill in open countryside. It is readily seen from the road just off Highway 1 approached up a long drive. The spacious house is only six years old designed by the present owners and has all up to date conveniences. The owners, Brian & Maria Edwards, are very warm welcoming hosts.

The bedrooms are with ensuite and if needed there is a separate lounge with kitchen area with frig and micro-wave cooker with spacious picture windows looking down across meadows. A large flat TV has Sky including all four sports channels. Wifi is free and unrestricted. The price is very reasonable for accommodation of this stature and a hearty breakfast is included. A splendid dinner with mine hosts is an option with notice given at a most reasonable price".
It is easy access to Matakana, Tawhiranui Regional & Marine Park with its giant sting rays, Goat Island a 30 year old marine park teaming with fish, Sandspit with its ferry to Kawau Island.
It was so good we returned there for our last few days in NZ. We shall return next time.
John & Pauline of Guernsey

Room Tip: An excellent venue after a 24 hour flight just 60Km north of Auckland Airport.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

It is rare to find accommodation that cannot be faulted in any way at all. It is a wonderful property set in the heart of the countryside about 1km from the charming little town of Warkworth.
Not only do you get superb ensuite accommodation, but also a private lounge well equipped kitchenette, and a private patio area.

The welcome was warm and genuine and the glass of wine and nibbles, and the offer of a dessert were greatly appreciated. The breakfast was excellent.

Actually we did have one complaint and that was that our itinerary only allowed one night in this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newforestgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews