We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whangateau Holiday Park
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Warkworth
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Matakana Motel(Matakana)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rosemount Homestead(North Island)
View Hotel
Snells Beach Motel(Snells Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warkworth Lodge(Warkworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tudor Oaks Motel(Mangawhai)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
105
52
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
52
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsholiday parkgreat spotcamp groundexcellent facilitiesgoat islandsaturday morningmatakana marketlow tidewater activitiesdisabled showerunder coverlovely weekendnoise curfewsafe placefamily campgroundbunk bedspaddle boarding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed in the Units for 4 nights. There is so much to do this was not long enough! The facilities were always clean and staff were always helpful. All the beaches are so close and my family had the best time. Definitely going back next year- what a way to spend the summer!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricaEd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

You are kind to take the time to write such a lovely review. Thank you very much. We really look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in our hired campervan in mid November when the site was very empty. Our pitch with lovely views by the waterside was really good and generally there was nothing wrong at all. The site is probably more suitable for families than mature couples (such as us) but lacks a little in character with the area set aside for short term stays having no hedging or similar to divide the pitches. Not that this affected us as one of a maximum 5 pitches being used whilst we were there. Showers and toilets might get a little crowded at busy times although they were permanently very clean during our stay.

Room Tip: Clearly the waterside pitches are the best option also being furthest from the road.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sillyoldduffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Excellent camping grounds and very spacious for setting up a tent or staying in a caravan or campervan. Everyone were so friendly and accommodating. We never heard any noise after 10pm as all the young people kept that in the entertainment room only. So considerate we thought. We also didn't mind listening to others as they chatted the night through, after all it was 2 days after Christmas and everyone's in holiday mode. The beach was so lovely and only steps away to get there. Compliments to the mangement/staff for providing clean and adequate grounds to make our stay so pleasant. Nice also to have power and plenty of clean fresh and hot water to use. Our only floor' was being asked to keep quiet when my husband and I were up bright and early to begin our day and we were asked by our neighbours to keep quiet. We were only talking and philosophising about our holiday while preparing breakfast. Probably won't stay again only for that reason as we are early risers and like to catch the sunset. A bit of a worry if you have young children as they are early risers and how unfair would that be to made to keep quiet. Maybe we were in the wrong site. Don't know.

Room Tip: We did not stay in a room as we had our tent.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShadSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your stay with us was flawed in any way. We are a family park and as such the kids are up early and asleep early. Our policy is for strictly no noise after 11pm but there is no policy against early risers. Possibly your neighbours were not parents with children and we are disappointed that this has put you off from staying with us. If you do decide to come again and see the sunrise - please talk to reception about your needs and see if we can find you a better spot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I decided to give family a taste of what camping life is all about. My husband is a creature of comforts so this was going to be a test for him.
However after arriving at Whangateau and settling into our cabin he was quite astounded by the cleanliness and over-all friendliness of staff and fellow campers!

We thoroughly enjoyed our camping experience and will return in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We are very happy we gave you a good first time in our campground. We hope you come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our initial experience at the park was a little tedious - there were other people set up on the one of our campsites and a campervan parked on the other with the owners no where to be found. After several hours they were moved off so we could then set up.
The facilities were good and park staff very friendly and helpful.
Its a great spot for swimming - when the tide is in.
The camp sites are a decent large size.
We weren't made aware of the cut off time for the showers so missed out on a shower the first night - our fault for not reading the information sheet!
Overall we had a great stay and will definately be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews