We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whangateau Holiday Park
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed on a camping trip here with 2 other families and had a wonderful time. The sites are spacious and ours was waterfront. The amenities are clean although there could be a few more showers as they only minor area for improvement. Wonderful location, close to Pakari Beach & Goat Island and also Matakana for the markets and farm for the children. Would stay again next summer!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Zogglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy we gave you an excellent stay and that you have stated you would stay again with us next summer - we look forward to this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

We dropped in at late notice to the park in February. They were easily able to accomodate us on a beachfront plot as the camp ground was half full.

The camp ground was well organised and laid out compared to others I've visited but it did lack a bit of soul.

We used the campground as a base to go out to Matakana Markets (Saturday).

At high tide the water was nice and we swam right infront of our tent, otherwise it is not a swimming beach, better for kayaking and fishing etc.

Room Tip: Always go beachfront, so worth it for $4 extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback about our park. We are thankful you found us clean and well laid out. As we are on an estuary our water is tidal but we are a family park and this is really good for children as at low tide there is a very safe tidal pool and island for them to explore. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had a great stay in a cabin with a bathroom - very comfortable and clean. Lovely and peaceful and fantastic weather. Lots of local places to eat and we tried them all. Was just over an hour from home in Auckland and we were able to park the boat right outside our cabin. I loved the library and read two of their books while there, and left one of mine to help increase it. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to write your feedback and thank you for adding to our library, we are very pleased you made use of it also. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This site formed part of our huge camping expedition covering most of New Zealand by tent. This is another site we can highly recommend. Excellent facilities which are VERY clean. We were lucky enough to get a pitch right by the sea - Fantastic! Great place to photograph the sunrise! It was so good here that we stayed two extra nights!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stevetkdme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for submitting such nice feedback about our park, and from such intrepid travellers as yourselves too. We are happy you liked us so much you stayed longer and really hope you will be this way again to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were a large group of 25 family and friends who booked ahead of time in Feb. Unfortunately the weather turned bad and it wasn't entirely good camping weather. However, the place was very good albeit extremely hard to get tents up in the very strong wind. The family/games room was well utilised by our kids ranging in age from 3-16 years. We had booked 5 camp sites and 2 caravans initially but due to the weather a couple of people didn't come but had paid. A late invite to 2 friends in my opinion should have been free as 4 people who had paid full price did not end up staying. The other niggle was that the gate card and shower money should be added to the cost of camping/caravaning to avoid any hassles with trying to find 'cash only' for the gate access card $20 and 50 cent coins for the showers - not too many people carry cash these days. Otherwise we made the most of our stay. The kitchen facilities were fantastic with the large covered outside bbq/cooking area which was a good place for a large group to commune. And the Matakana market close by was a treasure chest of goodies, old and new. I would stay again, it was overall a good place. Clean and tidy.

Room Tip: The caravans were spacious and the beds were very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. The cash bond for the gate card and the shower coin money are under review at this stage. The reasons for both are many and varied but we appreciate where you are coming from. We would hope that you will come stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We took advantage of a a few days break in our January calendar, when we could get the family together for weekend getaway. We choose, Whangateau. Holiday Park, as it was a short drive away (from Auckland Northshore), and we had pleasant memories from our previous visit, 3 years prior. The park is very well laid out, with lots of waterfront sites, & great facilities. Again, we had a very enjoyable stay. The only negative comment we made afterwards, was that it was crowded. But then, what can we expect over a post Christmas holiday weekend. The service was great, but we could see, staff were extremely busy.
Would we go there again ?, YES DEFINITELY, but we might avoid those public holiday weekends.
Thanks Whangateau. Holiday Park, for a great weekend.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kiledin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for taking time out and placing your review on our camp ground. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully your next visit is going to be a lot less crowed then you could enjoy the tranquility our park has to offer in the not-so-busy season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The first night we had family along in a couple of cabins and us in our caravan right by the water. Good facilities and very clean and tidy. Staff were helpful and friendly. The 2nd to last night we had another couple of friends join us in a cabin and they were very pleased with their room too. Unfortunately the weather wasn't obliging us with our planned trip to Little Barrier but Tawharanui was an acceptable alternative. We would stay again in preference to the Sandspit Camp though it is more expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillNorthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your nice feedback we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
5.4 mi away
Pakiri Beach Holiday Park
Pakiri Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Wellsford
76 reviews
8.5 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
86 reviews
8.2 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#3 of 20 in Warkworth
60 reviews
8.6 mi away
Annies B and B
Annies B and B
#1 of 20 in Warkworth
39 reviews
8.5 mi away
Warkworth Country House
Warkworth Country House
#4 of 20 in Warkworth
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whangateau Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whangateau Holiday Park

Address: 559 Leigh Road | Whangateau, Warkworth, Auckland 0985, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Warkworth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Warkworth
Price Range: £9 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whangateau Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whangateau Holiday Park has a full range of facilities to make your stay comfortable and convenient. There is lots to do in the area or just relax in the tranquility. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing