We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful waterfront spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whangateau Holiday Park
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Chose this park over others in the area for an overnight tent stay as it was ideally situated and well looked after. Facilities and grounds were clean and well maintained. The park is not expansive so it's relatively quiet and though small, the facilities are good. You will need coins for showers, bbq's & machines, which are available at the office. You can get sites right on the waterfront, however the park is quite open and exposed to south. Great spot for kayaking.
Thoroughly recommended if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-Sitreps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

We really appreciate it when our guests take the time to write their feedback on their stay at our park, thank you. We thank you also for giving such nice feedback, and we agree - great place for Kayaking! Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was our first time staying in a caravan, so we weren't sure what to expect but we were really impressed!

The most impressive thing was how clean the park was - the facilities were always spotless, the showers were great, and there wasn't a cobweb in site.

It was so quiet and peaceful too - we are already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our park. We are very happy we gave you such a great first time experience and hope we can give you many more great times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Only 50mins from home but it feels like hours away.....beautiful surroundings, nature at its best..! ...The sea comes in the kayaks go out, the water goes out the kids hunt for crabs and shells!! So safe in or out and a provider of hours of fun whilst surrounded by natural beauty! Relaxing, friendly and simply the best - being 3 meters away from the water is what makes us return year after year!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank TuckMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We always enjoy it when guests come back time and again and become part of our family. Look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed on a camping trip here with 2 other families and had a wonderful time. The sites are spacious and ours was waterfront. The amenities are clean although there could be a few more showers as they only minor area for improvement. Wonderful location, close to Pakari Beach & Goat Island and also Matakana for the markets and farm for the children. Would stay again next summer!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Zogglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy we gave you an excellent stay and that you have stated you would stay again with us next summer - we look forward to this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We dropped in at late notice to the park in February. They were easily able to accomodate us on a beachfront plot as the camp ground was half full.

The camp ground was well organised and laid out compared to others I've visited but it did lack a bit of soul.

We used the campground as a base to go out to Matakana Markets (Saturday).

At high tide the water was nice and we swam right infront of our tent, otherwise it is not a swimming beach, better for kayaking and fishing etc.

Room Tip: Always go beachfront, so worth it for $4 extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback about our park. We are thankful you found us clean and well laid out. As we are on an estuary our water is tidal but we are a family park and this is really good for children as at low tide there is a very safe tidal pool and island for them to explore. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had a great stay in a cabin with a bathroom - very comfortable and clean. Lovely and peaceful and fantastic weather. Lots of local places to eat and we tried them all. Was just over an hour from home in Auckland and we were able to park the boat right outside our cabin. I loved the library and read two of their books while there, and left one of mine to help increase it. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to write your feedback and thank you for adding to our library, we are very pleased you made use of it also. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This site formed part of our huge camping expedition covering most of New Zealand by tent. This is another site we can highly recommend. Excellent facilities which are VERY clean. We were lucky enough to get a pitch right by the sea - Fantastic! Great place to photograph the sunrise! It was so good here that we stayed two extra nights!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stevetkdme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for submitting such nice feedback about our park, and from such intrepid travellers as yourselves too. We are happy you liked us so much you stayed longer and really hope you will be this way again to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
5.4 mi away
Pakiri Beach Holiday Park
Pakiri Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Wellsford
80 reviews
8.2 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
81 reviews
8.5 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Annies B and B
Annies B and B
#1 of 20 in Warkworth
40 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#4 of 20 in Warkworth
61 reviews
12 mi away
Kourawhero Estate
Kourawhero Estate
#8 of 10 in Warkworth
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whangateau Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whangateau Holiday Park

Address: 559 Leigh Road | Whangateau, Warkworth, Auckland 0985, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Warkworth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Warkworth
Price Range: £9 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whangateau Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whangateau Holiday Park has a full range of facilities to make your stay comfortable and convenient. There is lots to do in the area or just relax in the tranquility. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing