We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whangateau campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whangateau Holiday Park
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked a caravan for one night off-season (just) in early April so we could go to a gig at the Leigh Sawmill. The caravan was great - clean and very well looked after, pristine. The price was good for what we got and with a toaster, fridge and awning with chairs and table we had a really nice stay. The caravans are also waterfront so 10/10 for position and the facilities are good.
I would recommend staying here, especially when it's not high season if you want a quiet lovely trip (imagine its very popular in summer as its in such a GREAT location with such lovely views.

We don't have kids and this is a great place for them so if children running round and having a great (and exuberant) time is not your thing - noise, early starts etc you might want to re-think where your trip - or simply take earplugs :).

We will definately come again and bring a kayak.

Room Tip: Everything we saw was great and its almost all waterfront with the cabins being a little further bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hrs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for submitting your lovely review about our park. We really look forward to seeing you again - and please note we do hire kayaks out also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had one night at Whangateau in April.
The location by the water is spectacular
It's a clean, well run operation. Very efficient.
We had a powered site by the water. Well recommended.
Lots of facilities for kids - games room etc.
Good location close to Wakatana and the Saturday farmers markets are a must.
Also great pubs and restaurants nearby if you don't fancy cooking.
We only stayed one night as part of a round NZ trip (from Australia) and would definitely go back.
Would be a great weekend location for Aucklanders!

Room Tip: book the powered sites furthest away from the camp HQ for privacy or closer if you need the amenitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank been_there_all_red_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to write your feedback about your stay at our park. We really appreciate your comments and agree - a great weekend getaway for Aucklanders and definitely an excellent spot for families.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Excellent facilities at very reasonable prices, and in a wonderful location. We had dinner on the waterfront directly in front of our tents and after seeing an abundance of sea life during dinner we threw some lines in the water and caught fish without having to move. We only had an overnight stay but wanted to stay longer. Definitely going to stay here again

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for submitting your feedback. Sounds like you had a lovely time at our park! - This makes us very happy and we will look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Spent the first two nights of our hol here - lovely relaxing start to the trip. Owners super helpful. Struggled to find centre of Leigh by the Sea (signposting to harbour needs to be more visible!) but great restaurants at Matakana. Loved Goat Island Marine reserve.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hispanofile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you very much for writing your review on your stay with us. We like the title "Lovely Whangateau" - we really hope you are this way and are able to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Chose this park over others in the area for an overnight tent stay as it was ideally situated and well looked after. Facilities and grounds were clean and well maintained. The park is not expansive so it's relatively quiet and though small, the facilities are good. You will need coins for showers, bbq's & machines, which are available at the office. You can get sites right on the waterfront, however the park is quite open and exposed to south. Great spot for kayaking.
Thoroughly recommended if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-Sitreps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

We really appreciate it when our guests take the time to write their feedback on their stay at our park, thank you. We thank you also for giving such nice feedback, and we agree - great place for Kayaking! Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was our first time staying in a caravan, so we weren't sure what to expect but we were really impressed!

The most impressive thing was how clean the park was - the facilities were always spotless, the showers were great, and there wasn't a cobweb in site.

It was so quiet and peaceful too - we are already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our park. We are very happy we gave you such a great first time experience and hope we can give you many more great times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Only 50mins from home but it feels like hours away.....beautiful surroundings, nature at its best..! ...The sea comes in the kayaks go out, the water goes out the kids hunt for crabs and shells!! So safe in or out and a provider of hours of fun whilst surrounded by natural beauty! Relaxing, friendly and simply the best - being 3 meters away from the water is what makes us return year after year!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank TuckMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whpark, Front Office Manager at Whangateau Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We always enjoy it when guests come back time and again and become part of our family. Look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
5.4 mi away
Pakiri Beach Holiday Park
Pakiri Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Wellsford
74 reviews
3.8 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
133 reviews
8.5 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
73 reviews
2.8 mi away
Leigh Central Coastels
22.3 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whangateau Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whangateau Holiday Park

Address: 559 Leigh Road | Whangateau, Warkworth, Auckland 0985, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Warkworth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Warkworth
Price Range: £10 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whangateau Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whangateau Holiday Park has a full range of facilities to make your stay comfortable and convenient. There is lots to do in the area or just relax in the tranquility. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing