We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Regular spot it's so good”
Review of Red Rice Restraunt - CLOSED

Red Rice Restraunt
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Regular spot it's so good”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

A great wee spot to take the wife &/kids. Awesome atmosphere. Def recommend esp the duck. In the middle of town beside the river. Very relaxing

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AKiwiFarmstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“relaxing ambience”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

indonesian-owned, which has added indonesian and malay items to existing thai menu under previous owners. rattan and wicker furnishings, upstairs corner site, overlooking lush greenery, frolicking fowl, and open windows overlooking the river all contribute to the ambience.

a varied menu-something for everyone-rounds out the relaxing experience. a good choice for a romantic date, a quiet night out, or a family get-together. portions are generous and tasty. i was visiting warkworth for a few days, and returned to Red Rice a second time. each dish i tried was excellent-malay chicken curry, chicken larb, vegetarian spring rolls, chicken puffs.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely flavours”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Really liked the Beef Rendang, however was surprised that neither of the curries we ordered had no vegetables in as we out at Thai restaurants a lot.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely southeast asian dining experience”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We really enjoyed our dinner at this 'Thai plus more' restaurant. We have dined here quite a few times over the last 5 years as a couple, family and most recently with a senior family member. The new colour scheme and chairs have improved the ambience and this is enhanced by the view over the grassy reserve and river. Beautiful on a warm summer's evening. The menu contains many thai dishes but is enhanced by the addition of malaysian and indonesian dishes. Try the Rendang curry - it's very tasty! Our young waiter was very attentive and friendly. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AHKAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Lovely Thai food and very friendly staff! My husband really enjoyed it and so did the kids. Lovely peaceful setting by the river. we would definitely go back and recommend this place to people.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GML15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Rice Restraunt also viewed

Warkworth, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 
Matakana, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 
Warkworth, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing