We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old charming place but run down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

• Great location within the Tongariro National Park, with great views of the park. From the hotel you can do several walking tours with great views of the area.
• The hotel is an old castle hotel with a certain charming feeling. Unfortunately it is a bit run down and the lobby, the corridors and rooms need an update – you could really make so much out of this place!
• The service does not meet my expectations, yes the staff is friendly but lack some attention to details
• The main restaurant in the hotel is good with good meat quality (excellent beef), but not very creative
• The coffee shop is OK, but not very good (neither the food nor the atmosphere)
• Conclusion: best choice in the National Park, a pity they do not make more out of it because it would have the potential for a special place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandTSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spent one night at the Chateau which was organised by our friends. They booked the Celebration package which included a 3 course dinner and full breakfast. Our rooms were superb and ours had views of a snow capped mountain. We had a spa in our room which was in the new wing. The lounge overlooked 2 other snow capped mountains and the room was classic and very classy. They had a pianist playing while we sipped our champagne (also provided in the package) as we looked out at the mountains. Our dinner was the finest and the service exceptionally good. Breakfast was equally good and we left feeling utterly pampered and spoilt!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing and one which looks out at the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freda17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Careful what you book. If it says in the fine prints that you will stay at the Fergusson motel, you'll stay behind Chateau Tongariro in a small group of motel suites. As the fine prints in your confirmation e-mail say: this is NOT the standard of the Chateau main building and you are staying in a 2 star motel. Hence the price you paid. You are however allowed to visit the main hotel (lobby, dining etc.).

On the Plus side: very spacious suite. Has a washer and dryer + kitchenette. Very warm and strong shower.

On the Minus side: no light outside, so make sure you arrive before sunset. And parking at the back is tight if there is more than one car. Quite a few bugs in the apartment. No wifi whatsoever. Maid did change half of the towels, but ran away with the other half and the soap while leaving in place the bugs we smashed. One lamp in the bedroom was not working. No actual dresser for clothes. Lots of condensation in bathroom after a shower. Overall, the whole motel looks old and poor quality. Really needs freshening up.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed for two nights at the Chateau either side of a spell of long distance walking.

Service varied from average to excellent. The two gentlemen who met me at reception on both occasions were excellent.

This is a big hotel and rooms undoubtedly will vary. I had a double bed room on each occasion, once on the 1st Floor and once on the 3rd. While the view from the piano bar, and undoubtedly some rooms, out to Mount Ngauruhoe is nice the views from my rooms were totally unremarkable.

The inside of the hotel is labyrinthine and you travel in a small dark lift then wander along gloomy corridors. The rooms were lighter but relatively small and unprepossessing. The bathroom had been modernised in one but not the other.

The lounge area, while it has the aspect out to the mountains is also dark and drear. Its mood is lifted a little when the piano is being played.

I didn't use the big formal dining area at any time and so cannot comment. I did use the Pihanga and T-Bar Café on the side of the hotel twice for dinner and while the prices were standard and the service of a good standard I found the space ordinary in terms of its décor and on both cases the meal was of distinctly average quality.

For breakfasts I used Fergusson's Café across the road. This is a more airy and approachable space with good and friendly service. It appeared to me that food for this café is also provided by the Chateau kitchens but here the light food options available were more appealing (and the coffee good).

It's not a hotel I could recommend. As long as you have a car and are easily mobile I would suggest, visit the mountains but stay elsewhere.

I paid $180 per night. In my view, this is high for what you get.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Wonderful 2 day stay. Staff bent backwards to help make our stay as comfortable as possible. Showed us a number of other rooms when the room they have us was unsuitable. A wonderful experience all round.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VRC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

On approach, the hotel looks like something transported from Banff, Canada. Recently refurbished, it's a joy to behold. The room and all the fittings were luxurious, and the bathroom looked like something straight off the pages of a top-shelf Luxury Bathrooms magazine.
It's not cheap, but it was worth it for the views. This was the only time I've stayed at a hotel with a view of a volcano out the window. And not just any volcano: this was the volcano Peter Jackson modelled Mount Doom on for his Lord of the Rings films.
My recommendation? Find a comfy chair in the spacious and opulent downstairs lounge about sunset, order yourself a drink and sit back and enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Try the upstairs, north-east corner for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent one night at the Chateau and really enjoyed it. It is a little jaded, but still feels true to its era. Our room was a good size for the 3 of us, clean and comfortable. We went on the pre-pay Dinner & Breakfast deal which I would recommend as the food, especially the dinner, was excellent.

The backdrop of the mountain against the hotel is stunning. The one issue I had was when we pre-booked dinner at the time of hotel reservation, we asked for a particular time for our meal. We were them moved back half an hour as they had a coach party coming in. No apologies, just moved.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.2 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
441 reviews
15.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
7.7 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
344 reviews
7.7 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
268 reviews
15.7 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range: £100 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing