We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked the place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Certificate of Excellence
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I liked the place”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

I cannot understand how so many people object that this is not a five star place. It has no five star prices either-rather three star ....I had a lovely corner room with lots of view in the first floor of the main building. The room was very clean and very comfortable.
Service was very friendly-being a solo traveling female you really appreciate that.
I mainly dined in the café-the food was nice and fresh.
What I really loved was the great lounge -when I came home from my hikes and after having a bath I could spend some time watching the ever changing view of Mt Ngauruhoe while having a drink and reading. Feeling very much beginning of the last century which added to the charm.
You will not find another place from which you can do so much without extra transport. i hope I can come back some time.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Filuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    564
    290
    105
    65
See reviews for
285
945
52
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Great location with magnificent views. A very imposing foyer where one can spend hours admiring the spectacular mountains. The hotel could certainly stand some updating. We had stayed there in March 2009 and nothing has changed except for the passage of time.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BoobieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

For what we paid these were awful! We stayed in these two bedroom family units located behind the main Chateau. Very tired and old in desparate need of updating. Felt grimey and just yeuck! Horrible bed and bedding. Day we arrived after a very long journey we were told there was no room in either of their restaurants and ended up eating pizza in a bar.The second night we booked into the grand dinning room in mainChateau. Service was absolutely diabolical and when we complained nothing was done about it. Food was good. Very pricey and again very 'tired' decor. Wouldn't recommend it purely from the poor service point of view. Spa area a joke. Dark dinghy and weird plunge pool. Highlight was doing the crossing

Room Tip: Maybe in the Chateau?? Not the Fergusson Villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilyLuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just had a fantastic weekend at this iconic hotel. We had stayed at Christmas when the hotel was full and the service suffered a little, however this time everything was perfect. We were greeted at reception by Brian who was professional but also very friendly. The suite was well appointed with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The standard of the high tea and breakfast was excellent and so were the wait staff. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dugyoda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We travelled from Australia with our two young children so that I could run the Tussock Traverse. Very surprised to be upgraded from the motel units to a family room in the Chateau itself. Kids and husband had a few hours to kill whilst I competed in the event and were very entertained in the pool (which is like being in a submarine!) and the cinema. Would recommend if you can afford it. Otherwise stay close by and enjoy the high tea or bar.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Our complete experience in Tongariro national park was out of this world and the Chateau lived up to our expectations - what really set this place aside though for me was 2 things: the location and the staff. It's got an old-world grandeur if you're into that, and was the perfect base for hiking the crossing. We had such a lovely anniversary stay and they even upgraded our room! 10/10

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JKPR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed in the 'historic' wing of the hotel, in a standard room. The place is spectacular, with fantastic views from our room, which was warm and cosy ready for our arrival. Sitting in the lounge is an experience in itself, very authentic feel (and genuinely authentic decor!).

We had dinner at the Ruapehu restaurant, which was a very good dinner. Be sure to book ahead of time for this though, as it can often get booked out. Breakfast the next morning was also fantastic. The cinema and pool are also a unique experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.2 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
435 reviews
15.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
7.7 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
255 reviews
15.7 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
7.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Property: Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing