We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Park Hotel(National Park Village)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Adventure Lodge & Motel(Tongariro National Park)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,797)
Filter reviews
1,797 results
Traveller rating
588
661
339
135
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
588
661
339
135
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teachateau tongariroold world charmruapehu roomnew wingmain restaurantgrand old ladynew zealandpihanga cafenational parkafternoon teasconespiano playerdining roomcelebration packagelounge areaplunge pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,145 - 1,150 of 1,797 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I cannot understand how so many people object that this is not a five star place. It has no five star prices either-rather three star ....I had a lovely corner room with lots of view in the first floor of the main building. The room was very clean and very comfortable.
Service was very friendly-being a solo traveling female you really appreciate that.
I mainly dined in the café-the food was nice and fresh.
What I really loved was the great lounge -when I came home from my hikes and after having a bath I could spend some time watching the ever changing view of Mt Ngauruhoe while having a drink and reading. Feeling very much beginning of the last century which added to the charm.
You will not find another place from which you can do so much without extra transport. i hope I can come back some time.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Filuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great location with magnificent views. A very imposing foyer where one can spend hours admiring the spectacular mountains. The hotel could certainly stand some updating. We had stayed there in March 2009 and nothing has changed except for the passage of time.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank BoobieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

For what we paid these were awful! We stayed in these two bedroom family units located behind the main Chateau. Very tired and old in desparate need of updating. Felt grimey and just yeuck! Horrible bed and bedding. Day we arrived after a very long journey we were told there was no room in either of their restaurants and ended up eating pizza in a bar.The second night we booked into the grand dinning room in mainChateau. Service was absolutely diabolical and when we complained nothing was done about it. Food was good. Very pricey and again very 'tired' decor. Wouldn't recommend it purely from the poor service point of view. Spa area a joke. Dark dinghy and weird plunge pool. Highlight was doing the crossing

Room Tip: Maybe in the Chateau?? Not the Fergusson Villas.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilyLuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just had a fantastic weekend at this iconic hotel. We had stayed at Christmas when the hotel was full and the service suffered a little, however this time everything was perfect. We were greeted at reception by Brian who was professional but also very friendly. The suite was well appointed with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The standard of the high tea and breakfast was excellent and so were the wait staff. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dugyoda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We travelled from Australia with our two young children so that I could run the Tussock Traverse. Very surprised to be upgraded from the motel units to a family room in the Chateau itself. Kids and husband had a few hours to kill whilst I competed in the event and were very entertained in the pool (which is like being in a submarine!) and the cinema. Would recommend if you can afford it. Otherwise stay close by and enjoy the high tea or bar.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Bridget Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews