We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Two nights of luxury”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went up to this beautiful Hotel for my birthday and certainly weren't disappointed. Warm (everywhere was heated), elegant, wonderful food, full attention from staff, game of golf and a wonderful way to spend my special day. We too had a Grab One voucher, but this made no difference to service or attitude from staff. We were impressed all the way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    571
    294
    107
    66
See reviews for
289
955
53
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

After a bit of a hickup right at the start (they hadn't reserved a dinner table for us in the Ruapehu Lounge despite dinner there being part of the package we booked weeks in advance but instead gave these to Grab One customers who had paid less and weren't supposed to be there on the weekends - according to the booking conditions) we had an awesome stay in the Chateau Tongariro. Beautiful hotel, nice rooms (in the newer part of the hotel) and very friendly staff (they were extremly busy on that weekend). Great walks (long and short) start in walking distance from the hotel. We will go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

they seem to be chronically understaffed. the person on the drinks bar didn't know how to work the till and forgot to bring us our drink. a massive queue formed at the bar. they need to have a bigger bar to cope with the number of guests they can accommodate. they said that they didn't have enough tables for the breakfast diners but there were loads of spare tables not being used (this happened both mornings). the food was below average. looks like they use frozen chips. Lone Star chain restaurant is miles better. the rooms were nice and the front of house were good. just the bar and restaurant were like a pantomime. one of the waitresses in the pihanga cafe was openly rude to a table of customers several times.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Three of us girls just loved the old time grace and style of this lovely old place. Our family room was more than adequate and was very warm and comfortable. Staff were very obliging on more than one occasion. Buffet breakfast was scummy and plenty of selection.
I should imagine the pianist will be missed as he was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julz505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taumarunui, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked the dinner bed and breakfast option because the other options were fully booked. $365 gone. So expecting a wow factor. Hotel was great, comfortable bed etc. Our room was full on boiling hot. We arrived at 4pm, turned the heater off and threw the windows open and still struggled. Staff didn't know where the heat was coming from. Hotels often get hot but this was full on ridiculous.
As we arrived we were asked if we had booked for dinner. Bit of confusion, as we had booked and paid for dinner, but it appears we were also supposed to have rung the restaurant separately and booked. They couldn't fit us in until 9.30pm. (this despite there being so many tables not occupied all evening). They could offer us the same menu if we sat down in the café which was an average café which is not the experience we were after frankly. So it wasn't kitchen time that was limited ... but we couldn't sit in the lounge area right next to the restaurant ... or at one of the empty tables .... Then we had 4 course meal delivered within 50 minutes. Guess they were in a hurry to finish. So underwhelmed by deliver and the meal. The meal was ok. I expected better then ok. wait staff removing plates when one of was still eating. Heck I even had to snatch my breakfast plate back as I had half my pastry still on my plate. Seems I should have kept it in my had to indicate I was still eating??
Series of comedies that had my husband as where Basil and Manuel were ... because it became a fit faulty towers.

Room Tip: Tongariro wing was nice but it was very very hot. Windows open with a frost just to try and survive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamBick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I went to stay at the Chateau on a Thurs and Friday . The weather was perfect and so was the weekend . The Chateau is a lovely hotel which is well maintained. We stayed in the Tongariro wing which was very quiet and comfortable . We had dinner in the main restaurant the first night and found the meal and service excellent . It was quiet and elegant and i enjoyed the back ground music . It was a pity that the singer didnt have much of an audience being a quiet night as he was very good .. The breakfasts were very good with a great choice of dishes and a choice of being able to make your own squeezed juices. The information centre next to the Chateau was very helpful and gave us alot of information on walks in the area .We had dinner in the other restaurant down stairs and again a lovely meal cheaper and more casual but food was still good especially the ribs ! The staff throughout the hotel were very efficient always greeted you with a smile .. we visited the bar down the road down the road for a drink but found it dirty and the food didnt look very nice either . It would be perfect for backpackers in the ski season

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had a fantastic stay, had the High Afternoon Tea, Lazed in the lounge with fantastic views.Stayed there 50 odd years ago, still has that old world charm, time goes slowly, no screaming pop music, subdued but effective service, a bit slower than you would expect, but in that setting, it didn't seem out of place.
If your wanting a quiet, leisurely stay or a weekend, go for it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Athol-S-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.2 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
437 reviews
15.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
7.7 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
260 reviews
15.7 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
7.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Property: Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing