We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Christmas in July.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We went to "Chateau Tongariro" for a short break in the beginning of school holiday in early July. We have been wanting to stay in Chateau, since the hotel was named "Grand Chateau" a couple years ago. for some reason we never been able to stay there until now. My teenager kid is enchanted by the hotel's beautiful appearance. It is the first thing that we see when we go up to Whakapapa village. My teenager kid says in the middle of nowhere suddenly appears this beautiful building. The scenery is really enchanting. On the second day we woke up and when we looked out of the window it was white like winter wonderland. For me who grew up in tropical country, this view is magical.
Staying in the hotel is a good experience for us. The lounge is grand with high ceiling and huge glass window with comfortable big sofa where we can sit and look outside to the beautiful view while enjoying a cup of tea. In the evening there is a man playing piano and singing. Very relaxing atmosphere.
The Ruapehu restaurant is at the same floor with the lounge. Dinner has 3 course menu that we can choose. The apricot Melba pudding for my dessert was really yummy. When we were there there was a group of seniors celebrating mid winter Christmas. All wearing Colourful paper crown that you usually found in Christmas crackers, very very festive. Our deal also includes breakfast. It was buffet style with lots of choices including cooked breakfast.
Our room is a standard room and located in the old wing. So the bathroom was a little bit old. However the room was quite warm with old style heater and the bed is comfortable.
In one morning the sky is clear and the ground was covered in snow. Outside children running around, some building snow man with their parents, teenager started snow ball fight. With all the excitement, I feel like Christmas in July.
I recommend this experience for anyone who will visit Mt Ruapehu.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the corner, as you will get more windows and more views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

929 - 935 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

The highlite of a recent trip to New Zealand's North Island was to be a short stay at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel near Mt Ruapehu, to see the snow. The Chateau building is very impressive from the outside but once we entered, the expectations where shattered. The whole place is very tired and needs renovations. They do show a picture in the lobby of proposed room renovations to begin later this year but considering the rates currently changed, we would have expected a lot better. The staff are friendly enough but not enthusiastic, so that doesn't change the experience.

The restaurant and cafe had limited menues and when we tried to eat at the cafe without a reservation, it seemed like we were asking for free meals. The place was almost empty and the receptonist had to ask the chef first?? This was inspite of the fact that we were there at 7 pm, stayed for two hours and during that time the place was about a quarter full at most.

One of the main issues was the lack of guest entertainment for days where the weather keeps you indoors, as we had on one day. There is a large lounge area but no reading material or library for guests. The indoor pool is very small but okay. The Fitness Centre in a misnamed. It only has two simple outdated cardio bikes and a simple rowing machine. The only other entertainment was older movies running during the day, mainly for kids. The TV selection ws terrible.

As seems to be usual in older western hotels, the wifi was not included in the room rate and very difficult to get. You are offered half hour free via a remote service provider and after that its expensive. You have to continually sign on using your very long complicated password. When will hotels realise that wifi in hotel lobbies and guest rooms is now as important,or every more so, in the 21st Century than elephones or TVs. Especially when the weather is bad and the entertainment is limited.

In summary, this hotel is the only large one for kilometres and desperately need competition to force an improvemnt in their attutude and facilities.

Room Tip: Great oif you want a 1920's experience that hasn't changed much, otherwise value for money g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We went to "The Chateau" for our honeymoon two years ago and returned last weekend for our anniversary. Its a well preserved grand old lady hotel of yesteryear and deservedly attracts a wide range of New Zealanders and overseas guests of all ages, including families. The environment is stunning and on a fine day the views from the window and garden of snow capped mountains is breath-taking. The mountain and the chateau are wonderful at any time of the year but late June, early July is my favourite. Whether you ski or not the snow clad slopes are an irresistible attraction and with the right insulation guests can take the ski lifts almost to the summit and experience world class views and first hand contact with such incredible beauty and grandeur. Back to the Chateau - its restored and decorated well, the huge lounge is filled with happy people around an open fire in a warm atmosphere of old world charm. The rooms are large and grand but with modern fittings, wonderfully comfortable beds and modern tiled bathrooms with heated floors - sheer luxury. The breakfast included with our deal was to die for. I cant recommend this experience more and any criticism I make must be considered very light compared with the satisfaction a few nights at the Chateau offer. To be honest though the weak point is probably service. Try as they do ski enthusiasts who have taken on a job that will keep them on the ski field do not necessarily have the training or dedication to match the style of the chateau and occasionally weak service showed in the restaurant and bar. All in all though, its a superb experience and the staff and caring and - well - just fellow kiwis enjoying this amazing high point of New Zealand tourism. We will be back.

Room Tip: A room with a view - Ruapehu or Ngaruhoe two stunning volcanic peaks only a stone throw away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked a kingsize bed but it consisted of two 90cm (35 1/2") single beds, only 180cm wide total. When we asked if they had any wider beds, we were told that we had a "super kingsize" and that nothing wider exists in New Zealand! We ended up separating the two beds and while 90cm was adequate for one of us, the other one of us felt very confined and restricted by the width of the bed, waking up to turn over.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Mt. Ruapehu will provide great views if the weather is clear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel relies on its perfect location and beautiful classic architecture. We stayed in a premium room in the original Ruapehu wing with a lovely view (weather permitting). It was very clean and comfortable with a lovely long bath/shower in the bathroom. However this hotel lets its standard down by the lack of service throughout the hotel. With an establishment of this iconic standing, you would expect services such as attendants to help with your luggage upon arrival, waiter service in the main lounge/bar, ( there is one very small bar at which you have to stand and hope someone turns up to serve you at, as there is no designated person to offer), an explanation as to the history of the building for your interest (there is a book you can by for $20 should you want to know about the place). The Ruapehu restaurant serves a good varied breakfast (but I hated drinking my tea out of a builder's mug). The evening meal has very nice food but has a limited menu, it has a nice wine menu (but we had to ask for it as they didn't offer it). This hotel is very well situated for tourists and skiiers alike. It has a very good sauna and plunge pool to warm you up in in the basement and also a movie theatre. This hotel is a must see for overseas travellers but the experience of their stay could be more enhanced by better management, it has so much more potential that would not cost a thing, more personal service befitting the yesteryear it portrays. ps If you enjoy good entertainment, you couldn't go far wrong listening to the singer before your meal in the lounge bar, best person there!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1811027Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed only one night at the beginning of June and reached the hotel by train from Auckland. The hotel offers complimentary pick-up and drop-off from/to National Park, so the distance from town is not an issue.

The Chateau Tongariro is a beautiful 1920's building which sits at the bottom of Mt Ruapehu. It's a great base to go skiing (July - September only), walking the numerous walks of the Tongariro National Park, or just relax...

Our room was relatively small but warm and comfortable, with the type of the decor you would expect from an old-fashioned hotel such as this one.

We tried to dine at the main restaurant, but it was booked out. We had to wait a while to eat at the Pihanga Cafe as well. I recommend booking, especially if you don't have a car and can't reach National Park easily.

The main lobby is very spacious and can be enjoyed for drinks, high tea and some (quite boring) live music.

From the hotel, we chose to get picked up and do the scenic flight. We also asked Roam to take us up to the mountain to see some snow. The staff at the hotel wasn't particularly knowledgeable about things to do in the area, so I would recommend asking the i-Site for info, instead of them.

All in all, a great place to stay and visit for couples. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acarb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights and the flair at the chateau is just unique. On a cold day we were sitting in the lobby enjoying the fireplace, and the view at the landscape; spoiling ourselves with a hot drink, while we were listening to the piano player.
The dinner (chateaubriand) and wine was excellent.
The rooms were clean and spacious

It was a perfect getaway

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Flex0mat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.2 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
441 reviews
15.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
7.7 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
344 reviews
7.7 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
268 reviews
15.7 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range: £100 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing