We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stopped in for a pinot noir on the way home from the mountain. As usual the fire was burning and the ambiance superb. The kids played snooker and we chatted and watched the fog come in over the mountain. Very welcoming and delightful venue....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 1,701 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

The missus and i spent one night on Eeaster holiday and we were so satisfied! Facilities are well equiped, there is even a drying room for dry out your clothing and shoes. Gorgeous view through out the windows. The only downside is booking is not available for dining

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cyruslol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

From the moment you enter the main doors this hotel has something special about it. Whilst not in the same ball park as a French Chateau or the like, there is something unique about the hotel that makes it a pleasure to stay in.
The service was excellent, from the front desk, to the bar and restaurants. We ordered mulled wine and a late afternoon high tea, which was lovely. The mini Brulee pots were divine!
Our room was spacious and faced the golf course, the double glazing on the windows was great at stopping the chill factor. The hotel has large fires on the main floor with a large number of well spaced out couches and leather arm chairs, which were wonderful to relax in after dinner.
During our stay when we wanted to escape outside being able to wrap up in jackets and wander outside and along some of the local trails was great. This is a great hotel to stay in the winter especially if you want to fit in some skiing or tramp the local tracks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original part of the hotel, they have more of a sense of history about them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetubmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gysers, Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay despite the weather. We hope when you next return, the refurbished orginal wing rooms will have even more of a sense of history to them with the decor befitting the era .
Summer is also a great time to visit - hopefully you can experience the wonder of the Tongariro National Park in warmer weather.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kathy Guy
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

As a group of young female professionals, we decided to travel to the Chateau for High Tea. When we arrived we were turned away from the hotel restaurant / cafe. This was based on there “not being enough tables” even though there were plenty of empty tables in sight. Five minutes later when we called the Hotel to make a reservation for 10 for High Tea the same person who turned us away answered and informed us that it would be no problem and that he looked forward to seeing us in 10 minutes.

This customer profiling is completely disgraceful, rude, disrespectful and unacceptable. As a result we will not be recommending this place to any tourists as this is an appalling representation of New Zealand.

We highly recommend the Chateau puts their staff through customer service training.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EvBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gysers, Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

I appreciate your review after your recent experience at the Chateau Tongariro. I have spoken to the Resident Manager this morning who has in turn been briefed by the young gentleman you encountered. I am sorry that you felt the staff were less than accommodating when you
arrived expecting High Tea for 10 people. As you can appreciate our houseguests and those that had prebooked were our priority during what was a closed day on the Mountain and a very busy time within the Chateau Lounge. It would appear that we did have a large family group of 25 houseguests being seated the same time you arrived and that coupled with the already busy lounge, Management had made the call to turn away all non houseguests until the Kitchen and the lounge staff were able to catch up on the orders already in the system. The Chateau does pride itself on its customer service and I am dissapointed that you felt this was not evident in your dealings with the staff member you encountered. At no point was there ever the intention to turn away non house guests for no other reason than we were extremely busy. We apologise if you were offended and trust that should you wish to experience high tea in the future then a reservation will ensure you a table.
Kathy Guy
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Amazing, great, courteous service! A+++. This place looks like something out of Europe, a grand old hotel with an amazing vista. Room was very clean and when the hairdryer didn't work one was rushed to us as a replacement with an apology on the spot. Food was good as were the cocktails, which unfortunately we consumed a few too many and paid for that the next morning. What a great place to stay, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailingawaynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gysers, Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Chateau Tongariro. We strive hard to provide a great experience through the Building and the beautiful environment which we are fortunate to be able to operate in. Im delighted that you will be back and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kathy Guy
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Have stayed at the Chateau many times over the years, both on work and for holidays, and have always found visits to be thoroughly enjoyable. Courteous, professional and friendly hotel staff can be taken for granted in New Zealand if you arrive with the right attitude and this property is no exception. The location is truly privileged and most rooms have views. Have never experienced a substandard bed and the rooms have always been immaculately presented. The lounges on the ground floor are legendary for their picture windows and the cuisine has always been outstanding. The hotel represents excellent value for the quality of experience, especially if visiting on an off peak promotional deal such as those often available from GrabOne. World class hiking (including easy walks) right outside the front door, skiing only a short drive away in winter, great mountain-biking nearby, cheaper food options across the street. Go there once and you'll go there twice!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NZFrontiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gysers, Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to review the Chateau Tongariro after your recent stay. I appreciate your positive comments and have shared these with the staff who strive hard to provide the customer service expected of such a Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future for another taste of Timeless Elegance!.
Thank you
Kathy Guy
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the concierge and our luggage promptly put on the trolley and taken to our room. We were not disappointed by the interior of the hotel - it looked lovely and we could pretend we had stepped back in time. We booked a family room (two adults and two kids - 13 and 8), and were given two interconnecting rooms which was great and suited us much better. The rooms seemed to be two of the newly refurbished ones - everything looked nicely decorated and clean and the beds were very comfortable. Room was warm upon arrival (although we did need to turn heating down quite a bit), bathrooms were nice with nice deep baths. You get a certain amount of WIFI (about 1/2 hour) for free per guest and then you need to pay after that. Hotel staff were courteous and helpful. The first night, we ate in the Pihanga Cafe. The location did feel a little strange as you seem to go right into the bowels of the hotel to get there. Although the meals were nice and reasonably priced, once you walk into the Pihanga you don't feel like you are in 'The Chateau' anymore as the decor, lighting and furnishings are very dull which gives it zero atmosphere. The Pihanga is definitely suited to families with kids (which we were, but still...) and although I realise that it is not a fine dining establishment, it would still be nice to have some of the same atmosphere and ambiance as the main upstairs area - it could really do with an upgrade and style change befitting the rest of the hotel.The service in the Pihanga was pretty average too; after being shown to our table, we had to wait longer than expected for anyone to come back to us and we didn't find the staff overly friendly. The second night, we missed out on a table in the 'Ruapehu Room', so we ate at the 'Tussock'. This isn't actually in the hotel itself, it is about 100m down the road. I would describe the Tussock as a family friendly pub. It was warm, comfortable and relaxing and we enjoyed our time there. The menu mainly consists of pizzas and burgers with other things like nachos and steak, eggs and chips.We sat and ate on comfortable couches with a coffee table in the middle which suited us. Back to the hotel itself - on one of the afternoons after returning from the ski fields, we spent some time in the main lounge area by the fire enjoying a nice mulled wine. This whole area is very inviting, comfortable and cozy and the view of the mountains out the large windows completes it. After I had gone back to the room, my Mum must have spent at least another hour down there just reading her book and chatting to another guest - she loved it. We returned to the lounge after dinner that night for drinks and really enjoyed how the piano player added to the atmosphere. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and agreed that we could have easily stayed longer - I plan to return!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lisaloo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.2 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
459 reviews
15.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
7.7 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
359 reviews
7.7 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
284 reviews
20.5 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range: £88 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing