We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must go here - a unique experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“You must go here - a unique experience!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Elegant and sophisticated - the Chateau is a gracious lady reminiscent of times gone by. We stayed for 2 nights on a Celebration Package so were able to relax and enjoy the hotel lounge and the lovely restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Our room was in the original section and the bathroom was not exactly modern - but was spotlessly clean and had the most wonderful bath! The view though from that wing was so well worth it - we had a view of Mt Ngarauhoe right from our room and despite it not being the best weather the clouds cleared and the sun shone just for long enough to see the mountain from our room (and the wonderful window in the lounge). Light flurries of snow falling past the window were also so scenic (especially for me as it was my first ever trip to the snow). Thank you to everyone at the Chateau for making our stay so wonderful. We loved the restaurant, the dinner menu for our package was so lovely and I particularly want to mention our lovely waitress Tharia. Our after dinner cup of tea served out in the lounge near the fire on gorgeous china was a bonus while listening to the piano. Highly recommend a visit here, stay if you can - and eat here if you can too!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jozcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    561
    284
    103
    64
See reviews for
275
941
52
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The Chateau is one of New Zealand's classic hotels. It also boasts the worst bar and restaurant service I've experienced in a very long time...including parts of Africa.

It's been a long time since a waiter rolled their eyes at me when requested for cutlery and condiments...and even longer since they failed to appear at all.

Our room had a helpful sign above the bath, but sadly my Mandarin wasn't up to the task of translating it. Hopefully it didn't warn of anything dangerous.

Get a grip, Bayview - this place could be pulling guests worldwide, but it's on a slippery slope to Fawlty Towers right now.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveCochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gysers, Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at the Chateau Tongariro. I am dissapointed that the staff member you encountered did not display the level of customer service the Chateau is renowned for. We spend a great deal of time on training and resources to ensure that Customer Service is paramount and I am extremely dissapointed that one staff member should erode that. You can be asssured that Management will follow up on this. You were obviously in the original wing of the Hotel which you may have seen from photos in our lobby, is currently under refurbishment. The Mandarin sign you refer to is actually in Japanese and explains to Japanese guests that they cannot overrun their baths as they would do in Japan. The Hotel has had a number of floods down through the floors into the main lounge due to this occurance hence the easiest way to communicate to these guests is to put a sign up in their own language. I do trust that should you return to the Chateau Tongariro in the near future, your stay will be memorable for all the right reasons.
Kathy Guy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stopped by the Chateau for a light meal with friends, to be delighted by freshly falling snow AND a truly delicious High Tea in the Lounge Bar. Nothing beats being warm and cosy, looking out picture windows as fresh snow swirls gently down, and enjoying good fresh food, well prepared and artfully served.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I decided to take a coffee/mulled wine break after a fantastic day skiing on Whakapapa. Sitting in the lounge at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel, watching the sun set on Tongariro and Ngaruhoe was magical. The service and drinks were excellent, the setting luxurious and the experience topped off an already wonderful day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gysers, General Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to post your comments. Im pleased that you found your Apre' Ski experience to your liking. The Chateau Tongariro encourages people to experience the social ambience of the lounge - that is exactly what is was designed for IN 1929. We hope this will be one of many visits.

Kathy Guy
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked here for our 20th wedding anniversary on the hotels "Celebration Package" and we were not disappointed. With it being -3 degrees outside our room on the 3rd floor Tongariro wing overlooking the snow capped Mt Ruapehu was warm and cosy. We had a nice bottle of bubbly and chocs waiting for us in our room with a welcoming card from the management on our arrival. The décor in the main hotel lounge is dated but this adds to the charm of the place and it is totally unpretentious. The dinner was divine as was the mulled wine we had after sitting by the log fire listening to the truly gifted piano player. Service was impeccable from the very friendly staff. Minor criticisms (and these are minor ones) are the dining room was a little on the chilly side and could have been warmer and also at breakfast it would have been nice to have a tablecloth on our table as other tables seem to have had. Also the coffee wasn't very good tasting like instant. Having said that we will be back. Highly recommended quirky hotel in a stunning setting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floors with mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royandangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gysers, Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review we do appreciate you taking time to make comment about your recent stay at the Cahteau Tongariro. Congratulations on your 20th anniversary. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the Chateau Tongariro provided a great backdrop for your celebration. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kathy Guy
GENERAL MANAGER.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had just celebrated our 25th anniversary and had booked the Chateau for two nights (Fri & Sat). We didn't care that the weather was rubbish, because from the moment we arrived, we were in heaven! The fire was roaring, the leather chairs in the main lounge soft and comfortable, the champagne delicious and the staff were incredible! We decided to have the 'high tea' the next day.... YOU MUST DO THIS! Exquisite. Unfortunately my wife was still suffering from a virus, which necessitated her leaving our 'special' dinner just before we were about to order, but the staff (thank you Sally) were attentive and caring. And to top it off, the Food & Beverage Manager (Ricky) rang me in our room to check on Sue, and then sent up a plate of meats (I hadn't eaten) which they didn't charge us on check out the next morning. What wonderful service and staff! Thank you so much Chateau!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SC22363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gysers, Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Congratulations on your 25th Anniversary. We are delighted that the Chateau Tongariro played such a special part in creating a memory. I shall pass on your comments to the staff and in particular Sally. I trust your wife has recovered from her virus. We look forward to welcoming you both back again in the very near future.
Kathy Guy
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I was given a very special treat from my husband. A mystery two days away from our business. When we arrived at the Chateau I couldn't believe my lucky stars. Marty proposed to me 25 years ago at the top of Ruapehu and we were always going to stay at the Chateau one day. And Chateau did not disappoint. The staff were gorgeous from the moment we stepped through the doors to when bid goodbye. Coincidently when we walked into the beautiful lounge the piano player happened to be playing The Rose which was our wedding song. The food and wine was divine. Relaxing in front of fires listening to the wonderful piano player was soooo relaxing. The walls had stories to tell. It was magical. I hope they never change the Chateau to loose it's stories and essence. Thank you.....

Room Tip: They are all wonderfully warm and well presented. There are different levels of updated rooms if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gysers, Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
When reading your review I coudnt help but be transported 25 years ago to the proposal. How romantic and then to have "The Rose" playing as you arrived, making it more special. The Chateau Tongariro is a magical hotel and I am delighted that your expereince reinforces this. You have our assurance that the Hotel will always be as it is, a place of timeless elegance.

Kathy Guy
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.2 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
428 reviews
15.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
7.7 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
252 reviews
15.7 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
16.2 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Property: Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing