We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique NZ Hotel with timeless elegance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique NZ Hotel with timeless elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

I have to confess I've always had a soft spot for "The Chateau" and took the opportunity of a trip back to NZ to introduce my Australian husband and a couple of friends to this unique place. Just a one night stopover but we had a very pleasant stay.

We were upgraded to a room in the new wing, a pity in some ways as I always enjoyed the quirky rooms in the original building, but our room was spacious and comfortable. The decor was a little on the sombre side with dark timber furniture but the bathroom was excellent. Separate shower, a small but very deep bath (great for soaking in after a two-hour walk) and a decent-sized vanity. Unfortunately we were low down in the wing and on the mountain side so only had a view of bush and lawn, complete with rabbits.

But it's the public rooms that really make this place special. Glorious views, especially of Ngauruhoe, comfortable chairs and sofas, magnificent chandeliers, a pianist in the evening, and good bar service. We dined in the main restaurant and had an excellent meal with very good wines to match.

Only complaints - some parts of the public rooms looked as if they needed a bit of freshening up and those wonderful chandeliers needed a good clean - they were very dull instead of bright and sparkling.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    521
    276
    97
    57
See reviews for
262
891
47
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

This hotel holds much promise but sadly does not deliver in some key areas.

The location and the the common areas of this hotel are fantastic. However the rooms ( in our case a Premium room in the new wing) are very small for the price. However the bathroom had both a bath and shower.

The rooms have no airconditioning but do have heaters. Ours was so noisy we had to turn it off and with minimum bed clothing supplied we froze!

Breakfast was adequate at best.

There is no doubt you pay for the location with this hotel!

Unless you are staying for a reasonable period, stay in Taupo and do day trips!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

The weather was awful, cold and wet. Fortunately the Chateau was warm and had drying & laundry rooms. I can see why this hotel is perfect for the Winter Ski season, but not much else to do in the Summer. All that said, it was the best Hotel we stayed at in the North Island, the scenery to it and around it is good, but certainly not worth any hype. All staff were pleasant and friendly except for one barman/waiter who was unnecessarily abrupt. Rooms were comfortable, food was good but expensive, also with an excellent wine sellection. Very large place so easy to get lost, lots of floors and stairs and doors to rooms such as cinema & tiny gym. Only stayed one night, would have cost a fortune to stay a week. All in all, didn't bowl me over, but felt comfortable and rested.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Noels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

Let's face it - if you are going to stay in Tongariro National Park this has to be it. It dominates the landscape and has the most amazing 360 degree views of the national park. We stayed here for 2 nights and of course the location is perfect and stunning. You can stroll around the hotel in the evening and get amazing views of the volcanoes and a real sense of tranquillity. Inside its oh so over the top, old fashioned and charming and I loved it for its grandeur, its slight creepiness and for being completely different to any other hotel we stayed in. You can sit in the lounge area in a big old fashined chair with a glass of wine and look out the enormous picture windows to watch an amazing sunset over Ngauruhoe. The staff on reception were very helpful and arranged for the bus to take us to the Tongariro Crossing the next day, so it all went perfectly. The rooms are nothing special in themselves and like the rest of the hotel are old fashioned, but we were given one with a lovely outlook towards Ruapehu which was a pleasant surprise! For meals there are two restaurants - an expensive a la carte and a more reasonably priced cafe. I am sure this hotel wouldn't suit everyone, but for us it was the perfect base for doing the Tongariro Crossing.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soosiesoosoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

This hotel is all about location. We arrived on a beautiful sunny day and were able to appreciate the breathtaking views. The day we left was foggy and raining and if you were unlucky enough to have only bad weather, you would wonder what all the fuss was about. The hotel decore is a bit tired and the rooms in the new extension are quite depressing being painted in beige with funereal dark brown furniture. Staff are obliging and the manageress of the bistro in the basement of the hotel was very helpful and great fun. We had one evening meal and one breakfast in the main hotel restaurant. Dinner was excellent but breakfast was unexceptional and overpriced. We opted for the cafe across the road for breakfasts and the bistro for subsequent evening meals. The plunge pool in the hotel cellar is an experience not to be missed
Well worth a visit, but pray for good weather.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobgGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

It may be a bit anodine, the service may not be personal compared to some of the great B&B's we've stayed in, but sit in the lounge and look out the window - that is what you are staying in the Chateau for. Put Noel Coward on the piano, rack up the balls on the snooker table, order yourself a G&T and sit back and enjoy the location. Perfectly placed for the Tongariro Crossing, and close to many of the other day walks and visitor centre, splurge some cash on a superior room for a touch of luxury. Eat out at Tussocks for the biggest plates of food this side of Land of the Giants!

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SuttonHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

The chateau is stunning from a distance, no doubt about it, but I second the reviews which have noted the tired appearance of the indoor decor. We felt at first that we were entering a stately home and felt quite humbled. After a look around and the lukewarm service offered us when we asked for coffee, we were glad that we had researched the place and booked into the Fergusson Villas just behind the chateau. They are small and simple, but very clean with everything you need and at a fraction of the price. The little cafe on the side of the chateau is worth eating at, but the best option by far in our opinion is to eat in the restaurant at the Skotel up the road. It is also owned by the chateau but is much nicer and friendlier to be in and eat in. Also better value for money. All said and done, Tongariro is a must on the itinerary. A fabulous place.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisonwalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
15.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
0.1 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
7.8 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Crossing Backpackers
The Crossing Backpackers
#1 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tongariro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tongariro Hotel

Property: Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Address: State Highway 48, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Chateau Tongariro)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Tongariro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything we do at the Chateau Tongariro Hotel we believe in providing you with a timeless elegance. We believe that preserving tradition and history is most important and as the hotel is located within a dual World Heritage National Park, conservation and culture are also at the forefront of your experience. Tongariro National Park provides a stunning natural playground bursting with diverse landscapes for visitors to the Chateau Tongariro to discover. Chateau Tongariro provides accommodation, restaurants, bars and conference facilities and is an all-seasons, utterly timeless experience not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Chateau Tongariro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Chateau Tongariro Hotel Tongariro National Park
Bayview Chateau Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing