We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
116
162
112
57
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
162
112
57
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski hirepacked lunchawesome viewsbunk bedsenjoyed my staytwo nightstongariro national parktaranaki fallsfantastic locationwingsspabackpackerscabinaccommodationhikesnowskiing
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Well appointed Hotel, with easy access to the mountain in the morning. Friendly and helpful staff answered questions that we had about the ski field. Booking the room was easy to do online and the staff were informative on arrival. Booking in to the resturaunt was easy.
We had dinner at the resturaunt and it was fast and delicious with very generous portion sizes.
Would definately dine there again.

Room Tip: The cabins are nice and quiet for families, away from the resturaunt and bar facilities.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just stayed for 6 nights to go skiing at Mt Ruapehu. Had a Bunk room in Backpacker section of Hotel. I was the sole occupant of the room which had 3 bunks + a hand basin. It was clean & tidy with a good standard of bedding & towels. Was nice to find the heater on & the room warm on arrival.
If you want to self-cater, kitchen has adequate facilities (could do with some more mugs) - can be a bit crowded at Breakfast time. There is dining/lounge room nearby. You can of course eat in the Restaurant in the Hotel section. Showers & toilets were adequate & clean.
Normal rate per night of $50 is great value. I got a deal as stayed for 6 days.
Staff all friendly & very helpful. Shuttle which picks you up at the door & takes 10 mins up the Bruce road to Whakapapa Skifield is very convenient & can be booked at reception.

Room Tip: Room 325 was good - is a sufficient distance up the passage from the kitchen.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My partner and I stayed three nights. Rooms were cosy and clean. But loud at night! Restaurant food was top notch. Nice evenings sitting by the fire with a glass of wine after a day snowboarding! Great location for travelling only 10 mins up the mountain. All staff were very helpful and sorted our shuttle easliy for us stress free stay. The only down point for us would have to be the spa, bottom of the spa was filled with grit and small area to try and get changed etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Only stayed for one night due to inclement weather! The receptionist was very friendly and helpful.
Ate in the restaurant that evening and was pleasantly surprised by the really good food!
The room was a decent sized triple with comfy beds and a sink in the room.
There was also a wardrobe which was handy.
I was generally happy enough bar the loud noises and banging going on at night. Definitely stayed in the backpacker part of the hotel. But all in all, a decent hotel for the bargain price!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiaraPennyLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed in a cabin with family.
The kitchen was filthy! I am sorry but if you are going to keep cabins and rent them out, then it is up to you to ensure they are properly cleaned!!!! I suspect cabin renters don't clean all that well but then it's up to you to ensure it is spotless for the next guest! That's what running a hotel is all about! The kitchen was grimy and disgusting and the bathroom smelled pissy!
The main bed was so uncomfortable we took the mattress and put in on the floor!
Spa was in a small concrete room in the basement of the main hotel area as per my son, it looks like a place where people are chained up and bad things happen to them. It just gives you the creeps. We stayed less than a minute and left.
Games room is a joke - one ping pong table and a air hockey game which of course, charges for $2 and if you have normal air hockey skills, you are done in less than two minutes!
Having said that, the location can't be beat if you wish to visit Tongariro... But no, I will not go back.
Ever.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HollowVictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews