We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
116
162
112
57
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
162
112
57
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski hirepacked lunchawesome viewsbunk bedsenjoyed my staytwo nightstongariro national parktaranaki fallsfantastic locationwingsspabackpackerscabinaccommodationhikesnowskiing
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The package is really worth the price, not to mention the panoramic view, friendly staffs and good quality restaurant.The spa and sauna is good too. Room is clean and close to reception and restaurant. Location easy to find and is 30 mins away from start of the trek and a bit further from the destination carpark. Would be better if free WIFI is offered :) Wouldn't mind a massage after the hike too!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kietsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Myself, my wife, and my 2 adult kids stayed in the cabins for 2 nights in Mar. 2014. The cabin was sort of neat but a little old and rustic looking. The double bed was ok but the mattresses were only foam in the bunk beds. Probably ok for little kids but not older ones. The cabin did have a kitchen but we did not use it. They did have 100mb of free internet but it didn't last long. I can't remember the manager's name at the front desk but she was very friendly and helpful. The dining room was sort of expensive but the food was excellent and you can't beat the views of Mt. Doom from the bar.There are not a lot of other places to eat or to buy groceries in the village as this is basically a skiing village. There is a great 2 hour walking trail right next to the lodge while we also climbed the mountain at the top of the ski lift. The main lodge looks like it needs some repairs but I definitely would stay in the cabin again because it is different and you can't beat the views of the volcanoes during the day and the stars at night.

Room Tip: stay In the cabins for something different
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phoenix1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights - with the principal objective of completing the Tongariro Alpine crossing on one of the days, then relaxing. We booked a superior room at the "i" site in Taupo, including a deal which allowed us to use the hotel's spa, with packed lunches for our day's walking. When we arrived, we were disappointed with the room; it was rather dowdy and old-fashioned - and in our view not at all "superior". Wi-Fi was available but rather than being free, it was charged at a prohibitive rate.

So then we tried out the "spa", which turned out to be only as large as my jaccuzi at home (just big enough for two people) and bookable by the half-hour. It was also dark and dingy so we retreated again to our room, determined to find out if we'd been given a standard room by mistake - there was no mistake!

Now for the positives: The staff were, without exception, welcoming and attentive; the breakfast was perfectly adequate and the dinners were excellent (we dined in the restaurant two nights out of the three). And the views from out patio were quite spectacular.
As for the hotel itself, after a couple of days we realised that the mistake we made was to have unrealistic expectations about the level of luxury and the physical nature of the building. Once we had read the brief history of the place that is described in the restaurant menus, we warmed towards the hotel and began to appreciate its unique charm.

All in all? Pretty good really................

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seenoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

4 of us stayed at the Skotel last week before and after our 4 day tramp of the Northern Circuit. We were a little bit dubious given some of the recent reviews but I have to say we enjoyed our stay. The room that was booked before the tramp was clean and very comfortable. The cabin we stayed in after the tramp was clean, tidy and very cosy (walking into a lovely warm room after arriving back on a wet and miserable day was very welcome) and the location is excellent for this tramp. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful at Reception and the restaurant / bar. The food was much better than expected. Apart from a seafood chowder that didn't have half the ingredients the menu says it has and being far too thin in consistency for a chowder, the rest of the food was well above average. My pasta was the best fettucini I've had in a while and the side salad was nice and fresh. Desserts were also good but the menu is misleading because the sauces / custards listed on the menu are just a tiny drizzle and more of a decoration rather than an accompaniment.
The one thing manaement REALLY needs to take care of is the matresses in the cabins (on the bunk beds). They were so useless all you could feel was the planks of wood underneath. We had just spent 3 nights sleeping on matresses in DOC huts which were far superior.
Overall we would definitely stay again but a few minor things could do with being tidied up.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 879DebbieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed two nights before and after the Tongariro Alpine Crossing,with two of our adult children and partners, in a chalet/cabin which accomodated 6 people comfortably.
Good features: friendly and helpful reception staff; wonderful setting with amazing views to Ngaurahoe; large fridge,excellent heating; fairly comfortable beds.Easy booking of transport to start the crossing
Areas for improvement: the website describes 'a full kitchen' but the absence of an oven made it very difficult to reheat a large premade lasagne we had brought down for dinner.The small microwave could only heat it plate by plate.Suggest they change the website wording.The shower room floor was needing some maintenance and the toilet had no working light.We were also bemused by the presence of a window in the toilet door and absence of a lock.Keeps you alert I guess.Would also like to have had a recycle bin for our bottles and cans.As others have noted, the hot tub is due a makeover.
Overall, we were very happy with our choice of accomodation,would stay there again and recommend you do too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabbit001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews