We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms, amazing food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Skotel Alpine Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average rooms, amazing food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in one of the queen ensuite rooms. The rooms themselves were nothing flash, although they did have a nice porch and a beautiful view of the park. All in all though, we got a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed, in a warm room without hearing everything the neighboring guests were talking about.

The restaurant however, served the most amazing food. I guess it is possible that we were somewhat biased, as we had just done the round-the-mountain walk, and so hadn't eaten a full meal for 5 days, but I swear it was easily comparable to the Chateau's meals, at half the price!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    147
    98
    52
    42
See reviews for
131
162
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our stay at Skotel over Easter 2014 was a great experience. Friendly staff, cozy environment , and accommodations add to the total experience which makes our stay quite remarkable.
I left my coat behind and after a phone call, the staff managed to send it by courier in no time at all.
We will be back later this year during the winter season.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brookes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our extended family had arranged a weekend at the Skotel for us all. I had low expectations about staying at the Skotel thinking that it was directly behind (blocked by) the Chateau and it would would be budget and worn out compared to the Chateau. We ended up having a fantastic weekend there - the Skotel was located out to the side of the Chateau amongst the tussock with fantastic, uninterrupted views. Decore was warm (like a giant lockwood) and had that Powderkeg feel. Service was outstanding. The restaurant was great family value and the kids had a ball. It felt like a well run ship. Cabins were more worn out than the motel rooms (which I will go for next time).

Room Tip: Go for the rooms in the block, not the cabins....especially in winter, cabins could be very cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Absolutely disgusting room with foul smells and stained carpet. Bedspread had God knows what bodily stains on it. Manager moved us to another room which helped a bit. Don't know what the white dust-like film is on the walls - insulation blowing from between cracks of cedar? No hot water for shower in the morning; shower head broken and repeatedly fell from it's handle. Over-worked or over-whelmed dining staff female had a mini temper tantrum when my husband requested sugar at breakfast. Really, really horrible experience considering that it took us 7 hours to drive here from Auckland due to Cyclone Ita. Really pathetic that Skotel would not grant our request for a cancellation when we pleaded with them from Auckland about our concerns of driving through Cyclone conditions given we are travellers from a foreign country. Really, really
terrible experience which unfortunately tarnished an otherwise outstanding vacation to New Zealand.

Room Tip: Avoid this accomodation altogether; based on our experience of other accomodations, your money is be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helendunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whakapapa hotels

auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Really friendly staff who happily went to great lengths to find a nokia charger for my mate who left his at the last place. Fantastic too being right in the middle of the national Park. we stayed in the 'backpacker'rooms which are definitely nicer than most backpacker rooms. We were really happy. Bar has some good kiwi beer on tap and views of an active volcano, what else could a man want in a bar? was a bit hard to leave....

Room Tip: you can drive around the back to unload + park if you have tons of gear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was a wonderful spot to just step outside and hit the trails adjacent to the hotel. The people in our group ranged from trail runners to happy hikers, everyone found a trail that engaged both a great natural environment and a good workout. The hotel is well located to the Tongirio trail head and a great hot spring for post trekking aching muscles.

My room was comfortable and had a deck with a great view. The staff were really good: friendly, helpful, and patient.

We did not stay long enough to use the swimming pool or spa. Our itinerary was already full with activities, after all we came to experience the great trails not the great indoors.

Thanks for a wonderful stay

Anne Miller

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The package is really worth the price, not to mention the panoramic view, friendly staffs and good quality restaurant.The spa and sauna is good too. Room is clean and close to reception and restaurant. Location easy to find and is 30 mins away from start of the trek and a bit further from the destination carpark. Would be better if free WIFI is offered :) Wouldn't mind a massage after the hike too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kietsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,586 reviews
15.6 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
8.0 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
261 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
7.9 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skotel Alpine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skotel Alpine Resort

Property: Skotel Alpine Resort
Address: Tongariro National Park, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Skotel Alpine Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skotel was established in the early 60s by a group of keen skiers who wanted the convenience of accommodation close to the ski-fields but more comfort than the ski lodges of that time. In 1986 it underwent a major expansion with the addition of restaurant, bar and other facilities. The old part of the building became the backpacker’s wing. Skotel has maintained its friendly informal atmosphere but now provides Qualmark three star accommodation and the exciting cuisine experiences of our new dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Skotel Alpine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skotel Alpine Hotel Whakapapa Village
Holiday Inn Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing