We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B would recommend to anyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Clyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful B&B would recommend to anyone”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Hartley Homestead in early November. The accomodation, breakfast and hospitality were second to none.
We were warmly greeted by the owners, their son, and Milly the dog. We were immediately offered tea and coffee which was welcomed after a long drive. The hosts also gave us a map for a historical walking tour of Clyde, which we used when we walked to the main street of Clyde for dinner.
Our room was luxurious and included wifi, a private bathroom, robes, and the softest bed I've slept on in years. The grounds were well kept and include a private vineyard.
In the morning we were greated with an amazing breakfast which included a generous selection of locally made fresh breads, cereals, juices and jams. Compared to most B&Bs that offer a limited selection of supermarket bought goods, this was a very pleasent surpise.
Overall, the Hartley Homestead positively surprised us in every manner and we would not hesitate to recommend staying here to anyone. In fact, if you were not otherwise planning on staying in Clyde or were looking at a night or two out of Queenstown, stay at the Hartley Homestead, you wont regret it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of our bed and breakfast. Comfort with little extras that make your stay memorable is what we pride ourselves in and we love sharing the uniqueness of this quaint 1860's gold mining town that we have fallen in love with. We hope to see you again.
Kind regards Rex and Melanie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
87
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Wow!! I used to live in the area over 20 years ago and was employed in Queenstown as a trainee manager for a major Hotel chain. What I am saying is I know a bit about what I am talking
about. My new partner had never been down there and it would be fair to say that both of us were blown away by the beauty of the area, that includes Clyde itself. What a hidden gem!! Then
there's Hartley. I asked Mel to get some flowers and a nice bottle of wine (chuck a few rose petals around as you do) and it was sorted to...well perfection... Perfect! Perfect hosts, perfect, location, perfect...well everything, cant rave enough. Thank you Mel, Rex and of course Molly. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you Craig for such a lovely review. We always try to make our guest's stay memorable and are more than happy to arrange special touches prior to arrival. Hope to see you both again. Kind regards Melanie and Rex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Nice hosts with the right balance of being friendly but not 'in your face'. Great value for money with yummy breakfast, nice wine, lovely room. A beautiful home and lovely place to relax. Loved the spa!

Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you Kate for your lovely review. We look forward to having you stay again.
Kind regards Melanie and Rex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Mel, Rex (ably assisted by Mollie the Border Collie) were the consummate hosts - welcoming, personable, easy to relax and chat with, and both able and willing to suggest places and restaurants to explore while we stayed there. The special touches made all the difference - beautiful home-made breakfasts (including their own preserves and home-made bread) and the lovely touch of a bottle of their own pinot noir served with a platter of cheese, walnuts and chutney. Sitting under a glorious star-lit autumn sky while reclining in the outdoor hot tub was an additional bonus and, as art-lovers, the tour of the homestead's art collection - not to mention Mel's own wonderful work in her studio - was much appreciated. A place to recommend to friends and family - and one we most certainly plan to return to. Many, many thanks.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the en suited unit above the garage - and, for a romantic getaway, would certain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
It is always a treat for us when we know a stay is around a special occasion and we can spoil our guests a little! So, thank you for your review and I hope you enjoy your painting "On the way to Milford".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Melanie and Rex looked after us brilliantly after we had completed the Rail Trail from Middlemarch to Clyde. Beautiful house, great breakfast and even tried the wine they get produced themselves (a nice drop!) and a spa pool to relax in. Their dog (Mollie) is part of the experience - a real character (loves to chase shining lights). Rex dropped us up to Cromwell the next day to catch a bus to Queenstown - all part of the great service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencerjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Being here to see the Clyde Food and Wine Festival was an added bonus. You will have to come back and really explore around the hills bike trails and amazing goldmining history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Melanie, Rex & Mollie are very amiable, but discrete hosts. You'll get a warm welcome to their fascinating character home; you'll enjoy good food, a cozy guest lounge & a great sleep. Sure, the bathroom is a little detached from the bedroom, but subtle lighting guides the way at night.
Thanks guys for a great start to our weekend 'road trip.'

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MervNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you Merv and Marion for your lovely review. We hope that you enjoyed exploring the rest of our beautiful part of the country, especially in Autumn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

A wonderful house,congenial hosts & a great start to our adventure holiday. Food was superb.
15 OUT OF 10 !
The bedroom was so comfortable . Grounds were picturesque.
Conveniently located just off the centre of town above the river.
So peaceful & quiet.
Go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAYDENH172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We really enjoyed meeting you and hope the rail trail experience live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clyde hotels
0.4 mi away
Olivers Central Otago
0.3 mi away
Antique Lodge Motel
Antique Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Clyde
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Argyll on Clyde
Argyll on Clyde
#1 of 3 in Clyde
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clyde Motel
Clyde Motel
#9 of 9 in Clyde
8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Picnic Creek B&B
Picnic Creek B&B
#5 of 9 in Clyde
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 23 Pyke Street | Central Otago, Clyde 9330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Clyde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Clyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast is a grand 1900s mud brick homestead surrounded by almost an acre of lawns and mature gardens on the banks of the picturesque Clutha River. A few minutes stroll from restaurants, cafés and bars of the historic gold mining township of Clyde and within walking distance of the Otago Central Rail Trail, Hartley Homestead is the ideal base for spending time exploring all that Central Otago has on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing