We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Quiet and Relaxing, Nice Gardens, Great Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Clyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Very Quiet and Relaxing, Nice Gardens, Great Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Very nice place with historic touch, kept very clean and tidy, and very quiet which made for a great sleep at night in the large comfortable beds. The garden scenery was amazing, and the Homestead is in a great location where everything is in walking distance. The bathrooms were very clean, and very nice old styled lounge room with a library and comfortable furniture. Last but not least, the hosts Mel and Rex were very welcoming to us, they were very friendly and nice to chat with, and cooked a great breakfast with also a great range of cereals, fruits, and juices to get the day started the right way. Great accommodation and recommend to anyone wanting a quiet location in great surroundings with great hosts.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. If you Like us on Facebook you can follow us as we make over our gardens. Kind regards Melanie and Rex and, of course, Mollie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
87
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

A lovely place with friendly and helpful hosts and their dog. I stayed here for a friend's wedding in Clyde and some much needed R&R. Rex and Melanie gave me some tips about where to go exploring on foot and using their bike and were kind enough to drop me off at the wedding venue. A lovely breakfast, the comfiest bed and a lovely slipper bath made the weekend seem like I had been away for ages.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was no trouble dropping you off at Orchard Gardens for the wedding. I hope you got your purse back when you went to the BBQ, although being in Clyde there's no doubt that it was returned :) Kind regards Rex and Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had a very enjoyable and peaceful couple of days at Hartley Homestead. Rex, Melanie and son, Thomas, were very welcoming and relaxing people to be around, and we loved their dog, Mollie. Melanie is also a very good cook. A highlight was relaxing in the garden in the sunshine with a good book and a glass of wine. There's heaps to do locally too - we got to golf, bike the river trail and part of the Otago Rail Trail, walk riverside, dine at two of the many local restaurants and try out the new movie theatre. A great stay and we'd have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akiwi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for your review.We're glad you enjoyed your stay. I love seeing our guests wind down and relax in our gardens and on our bean bags with a book and glass of wine. And yes, Clyde is the place to stay to base oneself for all the things to do in Central. Kind regards Rex and Melanie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed at Hartley Homestead in The Retreat room at the beginning of the Otago Rail Trail. Gorgeous retreat, beautiful place to stayin Clyde. Melanie and Rex were very helpful and welcoming hosts. They prepared us with a lovely platter of cheeses and beautiful wine to enjoy in the gazebo in the gorgeous garden. Lovely breakfast with beautiful homemade museli and preserves. Would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for thanking the time to write a review. We appreciate the time taken by all our guests who write reviews, so thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

If you want a bit of luxury then this is the place. Situated in one of the nicest towns in Central, Clyde.

Hartley homestead was everything I imagined, arriving after a long drive and sitting on the deck just being able to  relax and read my book. Your hosts Rex and Melanie are friendly but unobtrusive and greet you with the offer of freshly brewed coffee.  Everything is well laid out and attention has been paid to every little detail from the robes for the spa to the slip ons for your feet tied together with red ribbon to the chocolates beside the bed. The bed is wonderfully comfortable and you can lie back at night and look through the skylight at the clear starry night.

 It is a short walk to the town centre and the Clyde dam beyond. Otherwise you can cross the river and walk or run down the river track towards Alexandra.

The next morning a delightful breakfast is ready when requested including, again freshly brewed coffee, muesli, fruit, and fresh bread and jam, all homemade, followed by a well presented and tasty egg dish

So if you want a little bit of luxury on your central holiday then treat yourself at Hartley Homestead

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you Dayle for your lovely review. It makes all the difference when guests notice the extra little details such as the the red ribbons on the slippers which match the red accents around the property and the chocolates next to the bed. It is always a pleasure knowing our guests feel they can relax, read a book and enjoy our gardens and not feel they have to be away from our home.
Kind regards Rex and Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We (my husband and I, along with our 8 month old baby) stayed in the retreat room. It was very private and we used the B&B's BBQ for our evening meal. Melanie, Rex and their boys were extremely friendly and helpful. Very gracious hosts, with a lovely home and a super comfortable bed! The grounds were beautiful, and Fletcher (our baby) loved wandering around in them and chasing Maggie the dog (who is extremely well behaved).

The breakfast the next morning was delicious and Melanie went above and beyond to provide food that also catered for my husband's nut and cheese allergies.

We would highly recommend Hartley Homestead.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We always encourage our guests to make use of our facilities such as the BBQ and get great satisfaction watching them sit beneath the shade cloth on the paved area enjoying their meal. We have created spaces through out the garden and love it when our guests enjoy the garden as well as our home. We hope to see you again - kind regards Rex and Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The room was not en-suite so they shouldn't say you have a private bathroom when in fact you have to walk through the dining room to get to it. Not nice when you need the loo in the middle of the night and you have to walk past their teenage kids watching tv or in the morning when you need to wash your face and brush your teeth and other guests are having breakfast in the dining area that you have to walk past. The price for the room was VERY high at $195 for a non-en-suite and small room. I would not go back! Although the bed was very soft I didn't sleep well because I didn't feel comfortable in the house. The breakfast was nice but there were not extras such as wine and nibbles as other guests mentioned and some of the pictures show.

Room Tip: If you book here make sure you get the self-contained unit as I presume you will have your own toile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbiglioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartleyhomestead, Owner at Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Firstly we're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. That said, the difference between an ensuite and a private bathroom is pretty clear and I don't think I need to explain it here. You had your own bathroom and toilet which you did not have to share. Believe us, we'd love to put ensuites on the rooms but with this property that would not be possible without destroying the historic character of the place. We always offer a glass of wine or beverage of some sort on arrival, unless guests arrive late and are going out for dinner straight away. Also, we do not have teenage children, nor have we had any stay, not sure what you're getting at there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clyde
15.2 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olivers Central Otago
0.3 mi away
Clyde Motel
Clyde Motel
#9 of 9 in Clyde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Argyll on Clyde
Argyll on Clyde
#1 of 3 in Clyde
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
20.5 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#2 of 45 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antique Lodge Motel
Antique Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Clyde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 23 Pyke Street | Central Otago, Clyde 9330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Clyde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Clyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast is a grand 1900s mud brick homestead surrounded by almost an acre of lawns and mature gardens on the banks of the picturesque Clutha River. A few minutes stroll from restaurants, cafés and bars of the historic gold mining township of Clyde and within walking distance of the Otago Central Rail Trail, Hartley Homestead is the ideal base for spending time exploring all that Central Otago has on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing