We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place to stay”
Review of The Workshops

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clyde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Workshops
Ranked #4 of 9 Clyde B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here before heading off to do the rail trail. Lyne & Barry were lovely hosts, and let us leave our car for a few days. Being the low season we had the place to ourselves.
It's really quirky but welcoming and comfy.
We'd certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyNoosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay with these lovely people. The accomodation was unique with rustic ambience. It was very spacious and nice big bathrooms. Lovely fresh fruit for breaky. The hosts were welcoming and warm ... id recommend this to those visiting Clyde.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zanna43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at The Workshops for one night. The owner was great and very accommodating for us at short notice, we had called from the end of the drive to check if they had rooms available.
The rooms were clean and spacious and it was a real advantage to have the kitchen, lounge and outdoor area available so that we could relax with a glass of wine in the sun or curl up on the couch and read a book if we wanted.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntipodeanAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed at The Workshops at the beginning & end of the Otago Rail Trail. Our expectations were met & exceeded thanks to a warm welcome, family friendly & very clean facilities (I am one to notice!). We thought it was a really lovely place to stay & we loved the effort that has been put into the decor to give it an air of authenticity without being cliche - from the leftover metals from the old workshop to the matching cool mirrors, old accounts & old suitcases.

The B & B was also close to all necessities in Clyde & offered free parking while we did the trail (empty lot across from their property).

The family rooms are a little small, but the shared facilities from the large living space & kitchen to outside BBQ area were such that it didn't really matter.

Room Tip: If traveling as a couple you may want to request a room upstairs (the hosts would probably put you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Musketeers126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Only stayed for one night before embarking on the rail trail. The owners were very welcoming and friendly and their dogs also provided a great welcome.
Comfortable room and very clean. The personality of the place is not lost with the conversion from an auto shop.
Very close to the start of the trail, 4 square and the Post Office Restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MapleKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed here before starting the Otago Central Rail Trail. The place certainly has a lot of character, having been converted from some sort of truck workshop, with strange bits of metal here and there, but manages to be very comfortable anyway. Shared facilities, but we had the place to ourselves so didn't have to share with anyone else. We loved the bathroom layout, the bed was firm and comfortable, and the lounge had a warm fire. (Although it was March, warm and sunny during the day with temperatures in the mid to high 20s, the mornings were decidedly frosty). Location handy to the start of the Clyde-Alexandra riverside track (an attractive alternative to the rail trail) and just a few minutes walk to the centre of Clyde. The owners were friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsBlueDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This is uniquely different accomodation.The Workshops have been converted from a repair workshop into great accomodation. It is quirky and different from anything else we have stayed in during our travels. The rooms are spacious and although without on-suite the bathrooms are closeby and convenient. The lounge and kitchen areas are full of historical artifacts and local memorabilia, A continential breakfast is available (cost NZ$10). We found it more economical and convenient to walk to the local store and buy our own breakfast cereal, milk and juice.
We stayed for two nights and would certainly stay there again

Room Tip: Choose to stay there if you want accomodation with a difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BremenCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clyde hotels
0.2 mi away
Olivers Central Otago
0.8 mi away
Argyll on Clyde
Argyll on Clyde
#1 of 3 in Clyde
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antique Lodge Motel
Antique Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Clyde
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Clyde Motel
Clyde Motel
#9 of 9 in Clyde
8 reviews
0.5 mi away
Picnic Creek B&B
Picnic Creek B&B
#5 of 9 in Clyde
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Workshops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Workshops

Property: The Workshops
Address: 7E Blyth Street, Clyde 9330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Clyde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Clyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What was once the Vincent County Truck Workshops has been lovingly converted into character accommodation, right in the heart of Clyde’s historic precinct.With four individually styled rooms, two bathrooms, a fully equipped guest kitchen, lounge and games room. The Workshops offers an accommodation option with a difference.The layout provides guests with privacy, while the shared outdoor entertaining area is the perfect opportunity to meet with your hosts and hear a few local tales.The lounge area has a wood burning stove and all rooms are centrally heated, making it a warm and comfortable stay, no matter the season. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing