We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Superb trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clutha River Cruises - One Day Cruise

Clutha River Cruises - One Day Cruise
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Clyde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Clutha River Cruises is the only licensed operator providing fully guided and catered tours on lakes Roxburgh & Dunstan in Central Otago, New Zealand. Our tours journey the isolated reaches of the stunning Clutha River and historic Roxburgh Gorge. Passengers can marvel at some of New Zealand's best examples of European and Chinese gold mining. View the mining sites of Doctors and Butchers Points and enjoy the spectacular schist scenery that only Central Otago has to offer.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

A brilliant afternoon out on the Clutha River with our skipper Lawrence. Lawrence's enthusiasm and knowledge of the area makes for both an entertaining and enjoyable afternoon out on the water. I would highly recommend anyone staying in the area to take the time to take the trip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MutmogMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Great trip and very informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is an excellent trip that I would recommend to all visitors ... Adults will find it gives a fascinating insight into gold mining in the late 1800s and kids will find it great fun.

The cruise takes a steady route down river with your guide pointing out how the miners lived and prospected for gold. The rock structures are fascinating and the scenery striking.

At the farthest point of the cruise, your guide will secure the boat and you can then explore more closely the remnants of the prospectors activity. There are some fascinating buildings that give a real insight into the hardship that they had to endure. Your guide also serves up some drinks and biscuits. (If you want to make best use of your time at the mine area, wear sturdy shoes.)

Overall the round trip took 2 - 2.5 hours but it flew by. When we did the trip, the river was very calm.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A great afternoon on the "Mighty Clutha River"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We thought the special of buy 3 get 4 was fantastic! My inlaws enjoyed it and they live in the region. Great fun historical commentary by our guide. We were the only ones on the boat today. It was good to have the canopy up on such a hot day. Enjoyed getting off and having the drinks/tea at Doctor's Point. Having the short walk around etc was great. Thought the geological information was most interesting as well in light of the Christchurch earthquakes. We had planned to do this on previous visits to Alexandra but had missed out for one reason or another. We all would recommend it to friends and family.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tevorolevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clutha River Day Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We actually hired an inflatable kayak from Steve, and kayaked to the Gold Mine. It was absolute bliss. Hardly any boats, no people around, (almost) no current on crystal clear "mirror" water. if we stopped kayaking, there was zero noise, and we had the whole serene setting to ourselves. Highly recommended trip. Then once we got to the gold mine, we met the rest of the tour who had caught a ride on the boat, had a tour of the gold mine (which was surprisingly interesting) and then caught a boat ride back to the start. Was the highlight of our trip.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fiona197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moranbah, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
“absolute must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

unique insight into early goldmining and great host

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clutha River Cruises - One Day Cruise also viewed

 
Clyde, Central Otago
 

Been to Clutha River Cruises - One Day Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing