We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Before or After the Otago Rail Trail”
Review of Dunstan House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clyde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunstan House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clyde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Absolutely loved this very authentic historic hotel - if you've read the Illuminaries this will will take you straight into that era of the late 1800s. The room was extremely comfortable, the complimentary apperitif around the fire a nice touch and the breakfast spread was outstanding; and Judy the hostess very helpful. A wonderful place to start or finish the rail trail... or just visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BB5Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Maree and John were very friendly and helpful--we felt like family visiting. The ensuite rooms are spacious, beds comfortable, fresh flowers on the bedside table. At breakfast, tables had lit candles--charming--and the buffet was delicious. They are generally feeding people who are about to bike the Otago Central Rail Trail, and they send you out well fed!

Make sure you email Maree to book--they don't book straight from their website, but Maree will help you choose the best room. And in our case, as the hotel was not full, she gave us a choice once we arrived.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Wonderful and very helpful hosts with great Southern hospitality. We had a double room with ensuite upstairs and loved the history we could only touch on. Are planning how we can come back again just to taste your hospitality

Room Tip: Be aware of upstairs creaking floorboards if a night walker
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Tahnk you for your very warm welcome and an extremely pleasant and comfortable stay at Dunstan House. The breakfast and interesting talk about the history of Clyde and surrounds set us up well for our first day on the Trail.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Hospitality and historical experience wonderful. Hosts happy to accommodate your every need. Breakfast best continental we had on trip of 2x weeks. Small touches like fresh preserved fruit and jams, fresh croissants.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Dunston House in Clyde is like a trip to the past without any of the inconvenience or low tech of a Victorian B&B. The Dunston House is located in “downtown” Clyde which is a charming former Gold Rush town. Clyde can be the beginning or the end of the Otago Rail Trail ride, and in either case, the Dunston House should be part of your trip.

The owners Maree and John have considered every detail and anticipated what guests and particularly cyclists might need. The rooms are decorated in period detail. Ours included a fainting couch, two fireplaces (tiled and bricked, but beautifully highlighted in each room), a canopy bed with a crocheted coverlet, water, fine china tea/coffee cups, and fresh cut flowers.

There is coffee, tea and water available outside your room in the hallway area of the B&B. Maree kindly brought a large bottle of cold water when we arrived. There are wine glasses available if you decide to bring your own bottle of wine.

Unlike many other accommodations in New Zealand, we were supplied with soap, shampoo, and conditioner which were greatly appreciated, as we were traveling light. The shower was a claw foot tub with modern fixtures. Most showers in New Zealand do not have water saving devices and consequently have unrestricted pressure with lots of hot water. The Dunston House is no exception and you will be treated to a great shower.

The bed was very comfortable and we appreciated the lights on either side of the bed for reading. The room has terry cloth robes and the two chocolate caramels provided were a nice touch.

There is a peaceful sitting area in the back of the building and a place to hang your handwashed laundry after a day of riding the Rail Trail. The hollyhocks and roses are beautiful and it is clear that the owners take pride in the garden.

Breakfast in the morning is coffee (french press) or tea, cereal, toast, croissants, a selection of cold cuts and fruit. During breakfast, John, who is from the area, gave us a brief history of Clyde (formerly Dunston) and it was a fascinating tale of the gold rush and how parts of the town including the B&B were built.

Many of the little touches about the B&B are geared for cyclists but are nice for anyone staying in Clyde. The B&B is walking distance to the Four Square Grocery, and the former Post Office, now a restaurant/pub with an excellent dinner menu.

We highly recommend the Dunston House - it was one of the highlights of our trip to New Zealand. It is truly how a stay at a Victorian B&B should be.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicharone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We booked a night in this property at the start of the Otago Central Rail Trail based on the fact it is a beautiful heritage building that sounded wonderful. Photos of the building get plenty of exposure in tourism publicity for the Otago region.
We wanted to stay in a charming old building and were prepared to pay a premium for the experience. Dunstan House is not cheap but reasonable for a property as described on the website.
We booked an ensuite room and were looking forward to our stay.
The first indication that ourexperience might not be what we anticipated was at check-in. The hostess told us we were welcome to 'come over' and use the downstairs lounge in the house. Huh? I thought we were staying here. Wrong.
Our room was out the back past the garage. The room was one of two that appeared to be converted from an attached outbuilding. It adjoined the kitchen and was accessed via an overgrown garden area - the "private courtyard" referred to on the website. The "hill view" was best enjoyed from the bathroom window - a lack of privacy and somewhere to sit made trying to see the view from the room impractical.
The room itself was simply not good enough for the tariff charged. The furnishing was basic, the room was hot and stuffy with a pedestal fan the only cooling provided, it wasn't enough.
The TV was a tiny, old unit mounted high up near the ceiling in the corner. If you wanted to spend the evening at home watching the tele you would be severely disappointed.
The furnishing and decor were poor.
As for using the lounge in the main house well this is where our second major problem surfaced.
Paying a premium price for a sub-standard room was bad enough but it turned out that there was a group of 15 staying the same night. We were the only other booking.They took up all the main house and the other rooms out the back and had their social function that night in the lounge area - not much chance of us using the lounge that night. We would have been lucky to find a seat.
The next morning, as we were the only guests not in the group we were subjected to the group briefing on the day ahead while we ate our breakfast. The briefing came after we were asked to move tables, "that one is set up for only one person" said our host before directing us to a table that had me sitting in the open (draughty) doorway.
The breakfast, continental only, was fine but a charm offensive by the host during breakfast does not make up for serious shortcomings here.
Bottom line is we paid a premium price for a substandard room that was not in the heritage area of the hotel while feeling very much the odd ones out in an otherwise group booking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree D, Owner at Dunstan House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

We have noted points raised in your review however we wish to clarify the 'major' factor. You state your preference was to stay in a premier heritage room and you were prepared to pay for this. Had you booked directly with us or communicated this preference on arrival, we would have ensured your expectation was met as our premier Suite room was available. You chose to book through a local operator whom you clearly instructed to arrange "standard rooms" for your visit to Central Otago. The price for your Ensuited room was the same price as all the "Standard Share Bathroom" bedrooms in the heritage house. The room allocated to you was requested by the operator who also would have booked a premier room on your behalf if instructed.
February is peak season and suggest you visit in the shoulder months if you prefer to be on your own and to avoid groups of friends enjoying our communal areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clyde hotels
0.0 mi away
Olivers Central Otago
0.4 mi away
Hartley Homestead Boutique Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Workshops
The Workshops
#4 of 9 in Clyde
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antique Lodge Motel
Antique Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Clyde
73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Picnic Creek B&B
Picnic Creek B&B
#5 of 9 in Clyde
10 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clyde Motel
Clyde Motel
#9 of 9 in Clyde
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunstan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunstan House

Address: 29 Sunderland Street | Central Otago, Clyde 9330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Clyde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clyde
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing