We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Valley View”
Review of Korimako Lodge

Korimako Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Korimako Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Murchison B&B and Inns
Hamilton, NZ
1 review
“Magical Valley View”
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We had a great stay with Wendy and Steve Wood at Korimako Lodge. One of the highlights was a special dinner prepared by Wendy for our wedding anniversary. Dinner was served out on the upstairs deck with spectacular mountain views down into Murchison. I'd caught a trout that day and Steve had prepared it in the smoker - absolutely divine. What a top location!
Accommodation was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay. Recommend this place for a special experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyHamilton_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KorimakoLodge, Owner at Korimako Lodge, responded to this review, 31 December 2010
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and your days fishing. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Stunning location, beautiful and stylish accommodation and the most friendly and welcoming hosts. It lacks nothing.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_greaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We had an overnight stay here at this B&B. Steve and Wendy were very gracious hosts and did everything to make our stay as an enjoyable as possible. The views from the balcony of our beautifully appointed bedroom were truly breathtaking. And we did enjoy having our evening meal cooked by Wendy - that was a bonus! We thoroughly recommend this B&B to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexpyros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquartstein
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2010

During our second stay at Korimako Lodge we celebrated Hans' 60th birthday together with our nearest friends which we had invited to stay in the lodge, too.
Our hosts, Steve and Wendy, had organized a beautiful dinner party with outstanding wining and dining. We've fallen in love with this part of New Zealand because of its magnificent countryside, fishing-hunting and tramping possibilities and above all its people. That's why we built a house here in the Matakitaki Valley and keep coming back every year.
Hans and Ingrid Hundhammer – Germany

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matakitaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Two wonderful nights including New Year's Eve. Wendy and Steve were excellent and well-informed hosts, great meals made from homegrown and locally sourced produce accompanied by the best NZ wine we encountered on our trip. Walk to the river was enhanced by Oscar the black lab's company. The house is beautifully located with fabulous views. We chose to stop here because the Gorge offered rafting and it was a convenient stop on the way from the Glaciers to Blenheim. We found the area has much more to offer than revealed by the the usual international guide books - Buller Gorge -marvellous scenery and extensive range of water related activities and Murchision - a great place to have a snapshot of how a community developed through agriculture, the gold rush, earthquakes and much more. If only we had had time to stay for longer. Don't pass the area by.

  • Liked — the locaton
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireBluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murchison hotels
6.1 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
57 reviews
6.3 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
54 reviews
6.6 mi away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
89 reviews
6.2 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#6 of 6 in Murchison
56 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korimako Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korimako Lodge

Property: Korimako Lodge
Address: 933 Matakitaki Road | Box 152, Murchison 7007, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Murchison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish country lodge in a spectacular setting overlooking the Matakitaki River. All rooms are ensuite with private verandahs, dinner is included, all produce used is either grown in our garden or local. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing