We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blobout fishing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Reviewed 6 February 2012

2012 Waitiangi weekend was a "need to get away" time. But where to go to fish and blob out. Well Owen River Tavern and Motels was just the place. Kim Sui welcomed us and directed us to our motel. She was certainly very engaging via her emails. The king-sized bed dominated the room but it was a verycomfortable one. Perhaps the dominating feature of our motel was its cleanliness. Microwave, crockery and cutlery all there but the idea was to take prepared meals for heating or buy them from the bar or restraunt at the tavern.
Fishing? Well it was difficult to find a fish but there is something very therapeutic about being out in the fresh air and standing in a stream casting your line. This is sandfly territory folks so do remember the repellant. The bush and hills around you are just grand. Beautiful New Zealand at its best.
We decided to buy a meal and again Kim graciously welcomed us. We enjoyed an excellent Chinese meal, reasonably priced and delicious.
We felt initially that the price of the motel was a bit high, but hey market forces prevail and it certainly was in keeping with other accommodation places in the Owen River vacinity. In the end we felt we got value for money all round.
Would we go again? Yes but a lot earlier in the season as we might get to see a trout!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MykeeBudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2010

We stay a little week, arriving without booking for flyfishing.
good chineese an NZ meals.
kim and his wife are so friendly and alaways looking at your confort.
We have a very good memory at this place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

On a very tiring trip from Nelson stopped in at the Owen River Tavern and Motels to have a Christmasm meal with a friend. Host was fantastic, very friendly. Wide range of food on the menu at a reasonable price and recommend the Chinese. Fantastic. A+ to anyone wanting a traditional Chinese meal. Leeanne Sneddon from Cobden, Greymouth.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicky16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

This is a 'must stop' on your way from the West Coast to Nelson. Beautiful views of the Buller River and Mount Owen. The food is superb, with John Sui cooking the Chinese dishes and Kim Sui cooking the New Zealand fare. These two will make you very welcome and their motel units are very comfortable too

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pheffernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Catwallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarceE17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murchison hotels
1.3 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#4 of 5 in Murchison
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
61 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 5 in Murchison
54 reviews
1.1 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#5 of 6 in Murchison
59 reviews
12.2 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen River Tavern & Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen River Tavern & Motels

Address: Kawatir Murchison Highway | State highway 6, Murchison, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Price Range: £68 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Owen River Tavern & Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing