We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is a small motel with only eight units. But the location is great. The food in the Tavern is probably one of the best in New Zealand. It is owned by a Hong Kong chinese man therefore it is fantastic food on the menu. The service by Renae behind the bar was very kind,prompt and enjoyable.The units are big enough even though a little bit used. I will be back at this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2013

My wife and I were looking for a place to stay on our way to the west coast. After looking through Trip Advisor we settled on The Owen River Tavern. If you’re looking for The Ritz this isn’t the place. If you’re looking for a clean comfortable place to stay this will fill the bill. The tavern itself is a great place to have a pint or two with the locals, whom all seem to stop for by for a drink on the way home. There is one thing here not to be missed, and that is the Chinese Food. We had a dinner that was equal to any Chinese Restaurants we’ve eaten at around the world. The Dim Sum and Beef with Oyster Sauce were fantastic. Good food, good beer and a comfortable bed. That covers all the bases as far as we were concerned.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billericabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I had read that there were powered sites for campervans behind the tavern and it was located conveniently for our travels. $20 was a great price, but in the end, not worth it. The sandflies were horrific. It's not enough to be covered in repellant, they still swarm around you and are a nuisance. We dared not to go out until after nightfall to shower because of them. And then the lights inside the toilet/shower facility didn't work (neither one) and even letting the water run for one full cycle, no hot water. The tavern quite a walk to bother to walk up to complain. Next time, we'll skip camping near Buller River. The only positive is that there was loads of space, a couple of acres worth, for two campervans.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank deSchenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I have a small bach near the tavern and go there for meals when not out catching monster trout or chasing pigs. Wonderful cozy atmosphere, great hosts, Tui on tap, and the best lamb chop dinner in NZ. I really shoudn't be writing this review because I don't want this place to be discovered by too many tourits.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HighPlainsNotU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

If you are travelling north from Christchurch to Nelson, stopping at The Tavern is a must, Apart from the excellent fly fishing locally, the Tavern is a haven for the weary traveller. Kim and John are great hosts and make you feel very welcome. The food is not to be missed either, a fantastic mix of Kiwi and Chineese cuisine. The friendly atmosphere will make you feel right at home and wonder why all travel inns cannot be like this?

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorcas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

2012 Waitiangi weekend was a "need to get away" time. But where to go to fish and blob out. Well Owen River Tavern and Motels was just the place. Kim Sui welcomed us and directed us to our motel. She was certainly very engaging via her emails. The king-sized bed dominated the room but it was a verycomfortable one. Perhaps the dominating feature of our motel was its cleanliness. Microwave, crockery and cutlery all there but the idea was to take prepared meals for heating or buy them from the bar or restraunt at the tavern.
Fishing? Well it was difficult to find a fish but there is something very therapeutic about being out in the fresh air and standing in a stream casting your line. This is sandfly territory folks so do remember the repellant. The bush and hills around you are just grand. Beautiful New Zealand at its best.
We decided to buy a meal and again Kim graciously welcomed us. We enjoyed an excellent Chinese meal, reasonably priced and delicious.
We felt initially that the price of the motel was a bit high, but hey market forces prevail and it certainly was in keeping with other accommodation places in the Owen River vacinity. In the end we felt we got value for money all round.
Would we go again? Yes but a lot earlier in the season as we might get to see a trout!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MykeeBudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

We stay a little week, arriving without booking for flyfishing.
good chineese an NZ meals.
kim and his wife are so friendly and alaways looking at your confort.
We have a very good memory at this place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murchison hotels
1.3 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
61 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 5 in Murchison
54 reviews
1.1 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#5 of 6 in Murchison
60 reviews
12.2 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen River Tavern & Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen River Tavern & Motels

Address: Kawatir Murchison Highway | State highway 6, Murchison, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Price Range: £68 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Owen River Tavern & Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing