We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil park setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tranquil park setting”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed in a self contained unit at a time when the park was not very busy. I liked the grounds and animals. The host is very friendly. The setting near Murchison, nestled between two National Parks is very scenic. I would like to stay again one day.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkTawaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thanks Mark for your lovely review. Make sure you come and stay again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    34
    19
    18
    19
See reviews for
50
58
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxenhope, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed one night and the rest of the next morning didn't want to leave. Lynn and Brent were so friendly my partner went riding (horse) with their daughter Adalaide and I spent the time looking at the animals and was introduced to Wally their baby wallaby. The place was clean and tidy. Don't understand why anyone could write a bad review they must have walked around with their eyes shut. Thanks for our experience hope to see you again soon Carolyn and Wayne

Room Tip: We stayed in a campervan but looked around the rooms all looked good but the larger rooms look very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thanks for the lovely review Carolyn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here for one night. It was the worst that we stayed in in nz. The cabin we stayed in was old. The inside doors wouldn't stay closed and the bathroom window was broken so bugs could get all through the house. The grounds and animals were nice but the playground looked unsafe.
Definitely not value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sasar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
On our recent Qualmark assessment, none of the above supposed 'problems' were found, so we are left wondering where in fact this guest stayed?
Happy to report we received a 4 star plus grading and Qualmark Enviro Silver Award once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My friends and I used the Kiwi Park as our base between fishing trips on the South Island. The facilities were well-maintained (tidy lawns and gardens, clean bathrooms, clean communal kitchen), and the surroundings are beautiful (big mountain looming above). Over the course of our time at Kiwi Park, we got to know the owners, the Winter family, pretty well and found them to be funny and helpful folks.

The other people staying at Kiwi Park were a mix of Kiwis on holiday, international fly fishermen, and road-bikers. We met some great people there, always felt that our things were safe, and were always able to relax while just hanging around.

It is an easy walk into town from Kiwi Park, but is nice and quiet at the park. The Winters have a great collection of animals (sheep, emus, deer, dogs, geese), and the kids we saw at Kiwi Park had a great time petting all the animals.

A++++

Room Tip: Though many people choose to set up tents or sleep in their caravans, Kiwi Park has some great motel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thanks so much James - come and see us again sometime :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

A family park should be adjusted to families and as such, I have expected for more. The playground facilites were poor, old, broken and unsafe. I had to ask my children not to play there.The movies CD hire was the most expensive I have ever encountered in NZ - $8 per night. In many places the CD's are borrowed for free. The room wasn't very clean. In general it felt like the owners are tired from running this place.
The animals feeding session was nice.
We slept in a specious suite family motel room which was comfortable but as mentioned, not so clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAYSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay, however some points you mention are totally unsubstantiated. On our recent Qualmark assessment we spent some time reviewing the playground and I mentioned your review. The assessor said there was nothing unsafe about our playground and it was perfectly functional and safe. Our DVD hire is $6 for one $10 for two, we don't hire CD's. Our rooms are always meticulously clean, and if you did have a problem, a mention at reception and clarification would've been the appropriate action at time of stay.
We own our business and have done for 5.5 years, we LOVE it, as most others do also!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalong, Thailand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Excellent facilities, lovely location, very friendly people. But do be aware that you WILL be awakened bright and early by the locally resident ducks...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 69ingBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thanks for the great review. Our Cayuga duck family do like to visit campervans but I've noticed if no food comes from the van they do move onto the next one in hopeful anticipation :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I had the pleasure of spending an extended amount of time at the Murchison Kiwi Park.
It is purely a family run business by some very friendly people. Lynn, who works the reception desk is always super pleasant to see. She is a great conversationalist and always full of life. Brent is the workingman of the place and is in charge of the constant maintenance process. He will even give you a demonstration of how to shear sheep for their wool. This is a New Zealand tradition that the kids will love and a learning experience for anyone with a curious mind. The bathrooms and kitchen facilities are always clean and with room for all. There is also a small but nice playground for the kids. I really have nothing bad to say about the Murchison Kiwi Park and I believe you all will feel the same after a stay there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Thanks for the great review! The space, peacefulness and access to the Animal Park are a real draw card of our business and we always love to hear (usually face to face) what a great stay people have and the number of repeat customers never ceases to amaze us.
Many thanks again and I'm sure we will see you again one day! Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murchison hotels
0.3 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#6 of 6 in Murchison
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
54 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park

Property: Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Address: 170 Fairfax Street, Murchison 7007, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing